Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Korean Politics

学生对 延世大学 提供的 Understanding Korean Politics 的评价和反馈

4.8
76 个评分
24 个审阅

课程概述

This course will select six most outstanding issues in contemporary Korean politics and will engage in an in-depth, interactive inquiry of those issue. They include Korean politics in history, institutional setting of Korean politics, and dynamics of political culture in Korea, profiles of political leadership, myth and reality of the developmental state and the Korean economic miracle, and debates on Korean unification. The course will expose students to contending theories and empirical reality at first hand. After completing this course, learners will be able to 1. Grasp the most salient and timely aspects of Korean politics.. 2. Place South Korean politics in comparative perspectives. 3. Digest a delicate mix of theory and practice regarding Korean politics. 4. Come up with new interpretations of political development in South Korea. 5. Most importantly renew their genuine interests in Korea and Korean politics....

热门审阅

EW

Nov 14, 2017

I loved it, the transcript could use a little correction on some words.\n\nTHe9nstructor;what a honor to have him!

MP

Nov 27, 2016

An excellent course for anyone who wants a good overview of the Republic of Korea and it's political history.

筛选依据:

1 - Understanding Korean Politics 的 23 个评论(共 23 个)

创建者 Tsagolova M O

Apr 01, 2019

This course was really useful for me. But I would suggest to post reading materials as direct links to the files, since mentioned readings are often costly or they are not in the open access regime.

创建者 Vanessa R G

Oct 08, 2018

Excellent course! I probably learned must of the things I needed to know about Korean politics, causes, consequences, future scenarios, etc.

创建者 Kevin H

Nov 09, 2018

An

创建者 Nicholas A S

Jul 04, 2018

Very informative course. I liked the professor.

创建者 Jennie S

May 23, 2017

Excellent learning experience. Comprehensive coverage of topics from past until present, objective and double-sided insights, very easy to follow chronologically and entertaining at the same time with Prof. Moon's casual English. The course is content heavy but does not bore. Only downside is that the weekly quiz cannot be taken unless we upgrade to receiving a certificate!

创建者 Tamala K P

May 25, 2017

A very insightful and unbiased course, opening up a new understanding of today's Korea. The explanations of contemporary's Korea's politics in relation to history are profound and easy to follow.

What I also like, is that you're given the opportunity to write a short comment on a selected topic concerning the respective week's syllabus. Together with the tests, which are, unfortunately, not available for grading unless you upgrade your course, they allow you to consolidate your newly attained knowledge.

创建者 Matthew P

Nov 27, 2016

An excellent course for anyone who wants a good overview of the Republic of Korea and it's political history.

创建者 장정원

Aug 16, 2017

v

创建者 Renyan S

Jun 18, 2017

The professor has explained the politics in Korea in a historic context. There are some thoeries implanted in the course, but the prof always illustrates them with concrete examples. The course is not biased, considering the perspectives of the conservative and the progressive. What I love the most is the case study after the introduction of professional terms and theories. It leads to a better and deep understanding of Korean politics. I enjoy the course pretty much. What I would expect is that the prof would give an extra part about the impeachment and its impact on the Korean politics and also the impact of Chaebol on Korean politics. Although I sign up for the certificate, I still believe opening the graded quiz to those who are paying makes the course more accessible.

创建者 Andaleeb A

Aug 26, 2017

Great course covering the evolution of Korean politics from post-Korean war to modern day.

创建者 Benjamin C V C

Nov 27, 2016

Great all-round with both factual and theory basis. Plenty of recommended literature and complementary sources. I really recommend this course for those that wish a deeper understanding of the Republican history of South Korea.

创建者 Romina C

Apr 18, 2017

Great course!!!

I learned a lot

创建者 Eduard P W

Nov 14, 2017

I loved it, the transcript could use a little correction on some words.

THe9nstructor;what a honor to have him!

创建者 김도혜

Jun 23, 2019

굉장히 좋은 시간이었습니다.

한국 정치에 대해 문 교수님 같은 저명한 학자분의 강의를 들을 기회를 얻게 되어 영광입니다.

创建者 Simon F

Aug 12, 2018

Teaching materials are well organized, and Professor is excellent. Yet, postings in the discussion forums are seldom responded to by teaching staff or mentor. There are errors in the subtitles, in particular the Simplified Chinese subtitle which would very likely mislead learners that have to rely on it to get through the course.

创建者 Jonathan H

Mar 13, 2017

Generally fascinating, but with some issues with transcription of lectures and clarity of questions.

创建者 Alexandre B

Nov 29, 2017

Greatcourse!

创建者 Shunyang G

Oct 20, 2017

I really appreciate that I had a chance to take this class and to be taught by a famous South Korean professor, Chung-in Moon. Although Coursera did not provide much course related to international relation and politics, it`s still a honor to join this wonderful class. However, there are some place that Coursera and professor Moon Chung-in can do better.

Firstly, I want more course about "principles" such as introduction of international relation and principle of macroeconomic, which can help students like me to develop a more constantly knowledge.

Secondly, course interaction is so rare that I did not see any of it. The forum of class did not be fully use by our students and it seems like everyone is not interested in communicating with each other which really bother me.

Finally, I know professor Moon Chung-in is really busy since he is a well-known scholar in this field. But I still wonder if there is a chance that students may communicate with professor and exchange ideas about the course and other stuff.

Thank you!

创建者 M C

Feb 07, 2017

It's a very good beginners class. The lectures are quite thorough and well-suited to those who are auditing the class.

创建者 Jinyong L

Mar 08, 2018

In some points, I do not agree with the professor but this course is good to learn Korean modern history thoroughly.

创建者 Daniel L

Nov 18, 2016

I think it is best for the lecturer to speak Korean and have subtitles.

创建者 Vicky

Nov 20, 2017

A very interesting course on Korean Politics. Well organized with many videos and nice presentation. The most important points of the professor are written on the background, so note taking and visual absorption are made easier. I would recommend that course! The only difficulty was to always understand the professor. That though has to do with his little accent and I assure you you get used to it fast. The subtitles help but they are not 100% correct.

创建者 Joy S

Dec 23, 2017

good comprehensive review of the subject. Instructor slightly hard to understand