Chevron Left
返回到 了解恐怖主义和恐怖威胁

学生对 马里兰大学帕克分校 提供的 了解恐怖主义和恐怖威胁 的评价和反馈

4.7
194 个评分
58 个审阅

课程概述

The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence housed at the University of Maryland, offers a course looking at the who, what and how of Terrorism Studies, by introducing students to cutting-edge research from the social and behavioral sciences and the experts investigating these topics. The course will begin with a unit looking at widely held myths about terrorism and utilizing empirical data to discuss the realities of broad trends and patterns in terrorist attacks over time. The course will then review the psychological factors at play in individual radicalization and recruitment into terrorism, followed by an analysis of terrorist group dynamics. The course will next look at terrorist group operations, including their attacks and some of the supporting behaviors that allow them to carry out attacks, including use of media, financing, recruitment, and training. The course will conclude by looking at the factors that drive terrorist group persistence or endurance versus terrorist group desistance, and will bring the varied course concepts together through a detailed look at the case of Al-Qa’ida. Throughout the course, students will have the opportunity to study and work with the University of Maryland’s Global Terrorism Database (GTD), the largest database of terrorist incidents in the world, learning its capabilities and developing basic skills in searching and displaying terrorism data....

热门审阅

JC

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

DB

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

筛选依据:

1 - 了解恐怖主义和恐怖威胁 的 25 个评论(共 56 个)

创建者 Rain

Jul 19, 2019

Until they fix their glitch with my last exam, they're getting a bad rating. I've been waiting more than two weeks for them to fix it. I flagged the quiz itself, as well as creating a thread on the discussion boards. (Which I hate by the way...why are discussion boards necessary when none of the professors are around?) They made a survey mandatory for the quiz, but the survey didn't work despite me trying every single link they gave. The survey was supposed to give me a code word for the quiz, but it obviously could not do so, and so I got the answer wrong by having to leave it blank. I am NOT impressed. This also happened at the beginning of the course, but they removed the bad survey and the questions from the first quiz that were affected by it. So I invested time and effort into a course I actually paid for a certificate for, and I still only have 98.6% despite getting everything right, because my last quiz gave me a wrong answer. I want this fixed. If the University of Maryland is unwilling to monitor their courses, at least Coursera should be dealing with it, and yet flagging did nothing!

创建者 Halwest A S

May 15, 2019

AMAZING

创建者 Neisha

Apr 13, 2019

I enjoyed the content and it's presentation. I feel like I gained a comprehensive understanding from this course.

创建者 Ivan M

Mar 08, 2019

Great course to build upon existing knowledge of terrorism, media and the impact of terrorism internationally. Highly recommend.

创建者 Shawn J K

Feb 20, 2019

Pretty good course! Some of the content is outdated but I am still likely to recommend it to others.

创建者 Donovan M

Feb 05, 2019

Excellent and a wealth of information. It would have been 5 stars if the content was current to at least 2017/18.

创建者 Eduardo F

Dec 21, 2018

Great Course.

Well presented

创建者 Ivan A B C

Dec 03, 2018

excelente me entrego las herramientas necesarias para poder iniciar mi trabajo en el campo designado.

创建者 Tan J F

Nov 18, 2018

Great Course!

创建者 Dominic B

Nov 15, 2018

Really enjoyed the course, signed up thinking I would learn much because I had studied terrorism before. I was wrong, they had some great analysis using the database the school founded.

创建者 sion p

Oct 19, 2018

Great course, really enjoyed it.

创建者 James C

Oct 09, 2018

very dynamic, focused on factual accuracy versus popularized propaganda. the psychological models and structural organization are applicable and invaluable in many areas. well worth the time.

创建者 Carlos A

Aug 16, 2018

Excellent Course!

创建者 Md J

Jun 22, 2018

this is a great plot to learn...

创建者 Kofi B

Jun 21, 2018

This course is amazing and very insigntfull

创建者 Brunaud

Jun 15, 2018

Very useful and interesting cours .

创建者 Udo H

May 04, 2018

Definitely raises the understanding of Terrorism and the Terrorist Threat and puts a lot of bias and preconditions into the "right light". Worth attending!

创建者 José W B d S M

Apr 24, 2018

Very interesting content presented by very good professors .

创建者 Sam B

Apr 16, 2018

Outstanding material and great use of the GTD

创建者 abdirizak m h

Apr 06, 2018

helpfull

创建者 Katarina M

Jan 15, 2018

Very good course, I got a lot out of it. Recommended for its clarity, organisation, scope of issues that it covers and the way they are presented.

创建者 Kevin T

Jan 15, 2018

This is an excellent primer for someone looking to pursue more knowledge on the subject of terrorism. Although slightly dated and needs to be updated with all the changes that have transpired in past 5 years in the world of terrorist activities it is a well organized class that was educational and rewarding.

创建者 Ahmad T B M S

Jan 01, 2018

A good and comprehensive introduction course on understanding terrorism.

创建者 KATSIVARDEAS V

Dec 05, 2017

Excellent work!!!!!!

创建者 Alejandro A B

Nov 28, 2017

Es un curso que abre la mente a quienes nos interesa el tema, y particularmente a los que vivimos en paises que no controlan ni tienen en cuenta estos tópicos.