Chevron Left
返回到 The Unix Workbench

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 The Unix Workbench 的评价和反馈

4.8
827 个评分
250 条评论

课程概述

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

热门审阅

RW

Apr 30, 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

筛选依据:

1 - The Unix Workbench 的 25 个评论(共 247 个)

创建者 Peter B

Nov 25, 2018

Lazy, Sloppy, Unfocused

Lets see

-Video content is minimal. This is not really a video course. I've never experienced this on Coursera before, the 4 videos that do exist aren't useful in any way.

-The is some introductory, and unnecessary, introduction to both cloud computing and ssh / scp commands. I'm not really sure why it's there, when all of the assignments focus on both git and bash. So anything you did learn in these sections (likely nothing) isn't reinforced. It should be bonus material.

-Many things about bash are truly unusual compared to other programming languages like python/r/php/etc. When these differences crop up (such as how bash handles (), {}, [], [[ ]], spaces, AND, ||, functional returns, etc) are still somewhat confusing to me after completing the entire course. So maybe I'm a dummy, but I'm guessing MOST people completing this course will only be slightly better off doing bash programming vs. doing nothing at all.

-Quizzes were often trivially easy. What will a bash command output? Well, I guess you're not *supposed* to just run the command in bash to see the output...

I could go on, but honestly, this is a terrible course. I actually need to use bash at work, having a certificate is nice I guess, but my time may have been better served with trial and error on my actual projects.

创建者 Daniel H

Feb 04, 2019

Generally mediocre introduction to a few bits and pieces of unix. Useful, but has some misconceptions (e.g., what a regular expression is) and will teach you some unsafe habits (e.g., using $* instead of $@ to expand to the positional parameters starting from 1). It would be nice if there was some discussion about what shell scripts were actually used for out in the world. The cloud computing section seems tacked on and wholly unhelpful. Don't make your students give their credit card numbers to some external business unless you're going to do something of at least some lasting value. Even then, you probably should find another way to do this. Set something up on a coursera or JHU server if all you're going to do is literally have them copy and paste (and not learn) 6 lines of code.

创建者 Kenyon S

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

创建者 SUN L

Sep 11, 2017

It is suitable for Unix/Linux beginners who are new to shell. It introduces popular code sharing and merging tool GitHub, which most programmers would find very useful in software development.

创建者 C S

Jul 08, 2018

Great course if you're getting used to Linux, working in the shell and automating the little things. This course comes with a convenient E-book which I've used to refer back to a few times.

创建者 joaodavidcoelholuis

Feb 01, 2019

This course is well structured, useful in learning experience, work enverionment experience, and personally who ever start this course are going to really enjoy script programming.

创建者 Paolo V

Nov 15, 2017

First of all, I should say that I was already quite familiar with the topics taught in this course, but I decided to take it anyways, because I believe in periodical review of my knowledge. I have found the style of the lessons to be very intriguing, easy to follow (but may be different if you are new to the topics) and very on point, with a ton of different, super-important technologies that we are expected to know and manage on a daily basis - and by “we” I mean almost anyone involved in the computational sciences ! This course is a nice recap of a lot of fundamental tools to keep at hand on your “Unix Workbench” ! Thank you, instructors, staff, forum members and peers ! P.S. Sometimes I have found the estimated times a bit misleading: too much for lessons, too little for exercises, but this may completely be a personal thing.

创建者 Michael C

Feb 18, 2020

This was an excellent course that challenged me, and helped me to both refresh and advance my programming skills. The Johns Hopkins University has really advanced some of their online courses by designing them to integrate all of the skills learned in each week. At the end of this course, you actually need to bring together the skills learned throughout each and every section. The end project gets the learner to start thinking about how to use each module, and bring them together to accomplish new challenges, thus bridging the gap between theory and application. It allows allows enough room for learners to be creative and experiment with different ways of achieving the same goal - A big thanks to those who created and facilitate the course :)

创建者 Peter K

Apr 04, 2020

It was a pleasure for me to participate on that valuable course. I would like to highlight the modular, clear explanaitions - which were very usefull whenever was in doubt or clarification was needed; the step-by-step approach and the well designed exercises/practises - which all supported the peviously explained subjects. It was really good to give the freedom to accomplish the goals in no strict schedule - so please keep that flexibility inthe future as well.

I would like to thank you the constructive and helpfull feedbacks for the teachers, which always inspired to re-think or improve my understanding/knowledge.

创建者 Eleftheria T

Feb 25, 2018

I think this course was really helpful to a beginner like me! It teaches you the basics to get you started with Unix and GitHub and does not take up much of your time every week. However, the deadlines keep you in line with studying and putting some effort! So I think it's perfect for someone who does not have much time and wants a little guidance on their first steps! And a small tip: I took this course Jan-2018 on Windows 10. The Ubuntu Windows app did not work well for me. Setting up a Virtual box Ubuntu was much better!!!

创建者 Steve

Nov 13, 2019

This course was a great intro to bash programming. It started in a very accessible manner, clearly describing the technology in small easily digestible steps. It progresses at a good pace covering the significant paradigms (e.g. functions, loops, arrays) in a staged and clearly defined way. I liked the way it gave a realistic and rounded view of working on unix by covering tools such as make and git that are maybe not directly bash programming language, as such, but essential to become productive with the new bash skills!

创建者 Ravi K M

Jun 08, 2018

This course serves as a perfect introduction to understand the capabilities of command line. If you are interested in Data Science or UNIX in general its a must take course. You can follow it up with challenges on Hacker Rank to improve your coding skills. The forums are the best part of the course, lively discussions and the mentors are also really helpful. I learnt a lot and the file exercise was so much fun. Would definitely recommend 10/10.

创建者 Shreyas M

Apr 24, 2020

This course is very well structured , all the intermediate contents of UNIX are easily covered in this course.

I would recommend you to have a basic overview of UNIX first and then apply for this course.

The faculties and the contents are really upto the mark. I would suggest every UNIX lover to apply for this course . But most of the content is read material , if more video lectures are added , then this course will be most favourable.

创建者 Tushar S M

Apr 27, 2020

This course is great.

There is always phenomenal support from the mentors and they guide and encourage you to look out for new challenges. Your doubts are always clarified and they even provide links if we want to study more advance stuff.

All being said, if you are new to the programming world, then you'll struggle. It is ideal to join this course if you know the fundamentals of programming already and want to study about unix

创建者 NAGARAJ G S

Mar 11, 2019

This is my first course taken on Coursera. This platform is absolutely tremendous in it's way. Had a great experience and want to continue my learning here.

' The Unix Workbench ' , simply an excellent course! Bash programming, Git and Github sections are really useful. Learnt many new unix concepts and got to know about Cloud computing basics.

Happy and satisfied by taking this course. Very Thanks to the Instructors.

创建者 Adam E

Mar 31, 2019

I've been searching for good introductory courses into Unix for over a year now - and finally, I found something with the right amount of challenge and pace that could be achieved within a month's time. Thank you to Sean Kross and the team that developed this course! I'll be paying attention to this space and I now feel I have a better foundational understanding of the ethos behind Unix workflows...

创建者 Jeff J

Apr 24, 2020

Nice course on Unix and unstanding the bash shell. This course has an approachable structure, but also provides enough challenge to spur the learning process. The sections on GitHub are quite useful, while everything is cleverly tied together on the final project. A good refresher for people with some programming or a nice intro if just getting started. Everyone should take this course.

创建者 Kamil S

Feb 21, 2020

Really good course. For me it bridges the "old" tech of Unix, and really turns it into a workbench.. Something to be used creatively and with support of modern tools git/GitHub etc. Nephology is a great take on Cloud computing, and although not very much in depth, if anything it allows for a lot of exploration to be done at your own pace! Thank you to the creators of this course!

创建者 Ajay S

Jan 28, 2019

Really a Great course for learning unix . Learn a lot in the unix enviroment . Thanks Johns Hopkins University for this course , student like me who can not afford and pay for education in the top reputed university . Thanks coursera for providing such a platform for the needy students. thanks for the financial aid for the course.

THANKS AJAY

创建者 Harsh V T

May 24, 2020

This course is a perfect way to start learning unix from scratch,

its consist of majorly reading part which I really prefer over video lectures as you get to use your own thinking and visualization in order to learn things. Also the exercises given in every week is challenging, helping us to push ourselves in order to do self learning.

创建者 Mitchell E

Jan 24, 2019

The course literature was fairly easy to understand and was structured in a logical way to build up skills. The videos introducing the lecture were a little bit off-putting, I think Sean should try to read from the side of the camera less as otherwise you can't concentrate on what he is saying. The exercises were challenging.

创建者 陳俊廷

Mar 21, 2020

It is a really useful course that you can understand and use unix.

Actually, you can pass git to fork or write you unique code to share with other people.

I think if you want to understand unix or you want to have the skill on it, you never ignore this course.

Thanks very much for teacher and lots of classmates in the class!

创建者 Lilia H

Apr 09, 2020

The course is very good for starters that have no previous knowledge about unix. I liked it very much, the individual chapters are short enough to keep you motivated and if you are willing and take your time you really learn a lot here. Of course you should nevertheless keep in mind that google is your best friend.

创建者 Christina C

Oct 29, 2019

Excellent course! I am a molecular geneticist and as a beginner in this field, I found this course to be very helpful in establishing a good foundation in bash scripting. This is definitely a starting point for me to pursue my dream to become a bioinformatician. Looking forward to learn more from coursera.

创建者 Bruno C

Sep 03, 2018

It was a great introductory course, which has helped me in my current work environment. That being said i felt that the last part regarding cloud computing was a bit rushed (from learning to sue a API to suddenly being asked to create a bot)

Overall i recommend the course to any colleague