Chevron Left
返回到 Vector Calculus for Engineers

学生对 香港科技大学 提供的 Vector Calculus for Engineers 的评价和反馈

4.7
50 个评分
16 条评论

课程概述

We cover both basic theory and applications. In the first week we learn about scalar and vector fields, in the second week about differentiating fields, in the third week about integrating fields. The fourth week covers the fundamental theorems of vector calculus, including the gradient theorem, the divergence theorem and Stokes’ theorem. These theorems are needed in core engineering subjects such as Electromagnetism and Fluid Mechanics. Instead of Vector Calculus, some universities might call this course Multivariable or Multivariate Calculus or Calculus 3. Two semesters of single variable calculus (differentiation and integration) are a prerequisite. The course is organized into 42 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve following each video. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of four weeks to the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Lecture notes can be downloaded from http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/vector-calculus-for-engineers.pdf...

热门审阅

UT

Feb 16, 2020

Excellent Instructor. He well explained all the concepts. The problems related to stokes theorem, divergence theorem, Maxwell's Equations were challenging.

RK

Mar 03, 2020

Another good course from prof. Chasnov. Good choice if you want to refresh your knowledge of Vector Calculus.

筛选依据:

1 - Vector Calculus for Engineers 的 15 个评论(共 15 个)

创建者 Stephan L

Feb 17, 2020

Well designed and implemented. Lecturer presents the material well and the notes are a model of what MOOC course notes should be like. Lot's of practice problems with sample solutions to work on which for a technical course like this is the only way you'll learn the material. My thanks to Professor Chasnov for putting in the work to create this.

创建者 Ian B

Jan 24, 2020

Jeffrey Chasnov has a good command of the subject and is a good communicator. The course is well laid out and his PDF textbook is a great resource for the course and will be useful to the student for future work in mathematics and the sciences.

创建者 subhasree b

Jan 30, 2020

teaching is very extraordinary. I wish to have some more assignments, but it is quite well.

创建者 Arthur Z

Feb 26, 2020

Very high-quality instruction and documentation from a very talented instructor.

创建者 TJ L

Mar 09, 2020

Awesome course! I could have used more detail in the solutions given for some of the derivations at the end. This might just be because I haven't taken any physics yet. This course was a huge help in getting a handle on the divergence theorem, Green's theorem and Stokes' theorem!

创建者 UMAR T

Feb 16, 2020

Excellent Instructor. He well explained all the concepts. The problems related to stokes theorem, divergence theorem, Maxwell's Equations were challenging.

创建者 Ruslan K

Mar 03, 2020

Another good course from prof. Chasnov. Good choice if you want to refresh your knowledge of Vector Calculus.

创建者 Scott G C

Mar 18, 2020

I learned a basic beginning of vector or multivariable calculus in this course and I am thankful.

创建者 Weiqi L

Jan 18, 2020

The content is not too difficult and very useful for self-learning.

创建者 ka

Feb 16, 2020

Excellent course on the subject.

创建者 Harry A H

Mar 29, 2020

Simply an excellent course.

创建者 Vedanth R

Apr 05, 2020

Wonderful

创建者 程铁杰

Mar 16, 2020

cool

创建者 Peter B

Mar 09, 2020

A well thought out and organized course. A great tool to refresh or learn vector calculus and more importantly it's uses in engineering fields.

创建者 Steve C

Feb 20, 2020

Good videos and derivations. Way too much material for a 4 week course. This should be a one or

two semester course at least.