Chevron Left
返回到 Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

学生对 东京大学 提供的 Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan 的评价和反馈

4.8
366 个评分
108 条评论

课程概述

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

热门审阅

SC

Sep 06, 2019

It has expanded my views not only on Japan Visual and Literary Culture but also has open for me a new way of looking at portraits in different cultures and times. Thank you so much

VC

Jan 10, 2018

Very knowledgeable lecturer with a gentle humble voice. Much was learned about literary portraits from 18th/19th centuries to literary photographs in the early 20th century.

筛选依据:

101 - Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan 的 108 个评论(共 108 个)

创建者 Kellan M

Mar 31, 2020

Very interesting subject for those interested in art of the world.

创建者 Yanisa L

May 07, 2020

This course is very useful for the one who interested in Japan's arts history and want to decipher the arts. I don't have basic information about this period of Japan, so it's very helpful. But I don't think it useful in my life. I just feel like the professor has something in his mind and not tell us and sometimes he can't explain all the things he want to explain into words. And I think he focus only on how men see women, and I think that's unfair, I also want to know how women see men, too. But I understand that maybe in that period, women is just men's.

创建者 ZHOU G

May 06, 2019

Thank you Professor Robert. I enjoyed this course a lot. I came with the expectation of learning more about japanese culture, history and art. This expected is partly met. Yet, I feel like this course is too short and lack of depth. In addition, perhaps it can stress and introduce more about how those pieces of paintings and poems had impacted the contemporary society of Japan so as to contextualize and signify those arts. Anyway, thanks for the course.

创建者 Tong J

Jul 15, 2019

Great subject and helped solving the modern Japanese esthetic puzzles. But I think Robert Campbell is not well-prepared in this course as a narrator. If could just use half of the "emm" in the lecture, the videos will sorter for sure, but still watching him talking about something he loves is extremely fascinating.

创建者 Caroline H

Jan 24, 2018

It was a surprise to see a course on this topic. At first I found the central premise fascinating, but would have preferred more conciseness in the lectures and a wider variety of assessment tasks. For instance, why not have students analyse some images themselves?

创建者 Justin H

Dec 23, 2019

There was some interesting information here, but I can not imagine any situation where a certificate of completion for this course would be useful. About half of the images could have been interchanged with any number of random photos from the period.

创建者 Katrina L

Oct 15, 2017

The material is interesting, but only a relatively small number of works are considered, and the professor repeats himself and uses filler words a lot that are distracting and slow things down.

创建者 Caelyn M

Apr 16, 2018

Very interesting material; but the course was too short. I wish it could have provided more background material and explored more examples.