Chevron Left
返回到 战争的悖论

学生对 普林斯顿大学 提供的 战争的悖论 的评价和反馈

4.6
610 个评分
134 条评论

课程概述

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

热门审阅

JP

Jun 02, 2016

One of the best academic experiences I had.\n\nAs a soldier I would recomend it to my fellow soldiers and to my civillian friends so they could understand a little better the paradoxes of war.

DW

Mar 15, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

筛选依据:

26 - 战争的悖论 的 50 个评论(共 134 个)

创建者 Angela J

Oct 31, 2016

Fantastic course on war by a professor who is passionate, articulate, and very focused in his effort to provide primer material on such a wide and complex topic. Thanks very much for creating this course! I've learnt a ton.

创建者 JOHN Q

Jan 25, 2016

As a 24 yr military officer from a service academy I would like to complement the instructor......He is doing a great job, especially given no military service and direct experience in battle. I complement him.

创建者 Jack K R

Jan 18, 2016

Well worth your time in hearing first hand from combat veterans. " War What is it Good For?" an excellent book that is thought provoking, it covers a lot of the material that is discussed throughout the course.

创建者 Patrick P

Jul 03, 2017

One of the best introductory courses. For a thoroughly understanding of the subject matter, you do need to read the additional texts (I would even recommend not only the given chapters, but the whole books).

创建者 Sanna H Y

May 21, 2020

Absolutely great course, I highly recommend it to everyone! It will definitely deepen your knowledge. The professor's knowledge on the topic is profound and his way of teaching is very clear. Thank you!

创建者 Oleg V K

May 12, 2016

It very interesting MOOC and quite unique of it's kind. It's good MOOC for everyone who want to get deep vision of history, it highlight and studies wars in a unique and very interesting way.

创建者 Daithi M W

Mar 15, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

创建者 Joan M V P

Jun 02, 2016

One of the best academic experiences I had.

As a soldier I would recomend it to my fellow soldiers and to my civillian friends so they could understand a little better the paradoxes of war.

创建者 Joseph P W

Jan 12, 2020

Great course! This course has provided some great information and proposed some important philosophical questions. I wish there were exams and a certificate to go along with it too.

创建者 Atta R

Jan 28, 2019

Lovely course. Wonderful understanding of the Professor about War and its related implications. Thank you Professor. For the first time I fully understood the horror of holocaust.

创建者 Catherine H

Mar 12, 2019

This is a really interesting and unique class! The professor is extremely knowledgeable about his field, and does an amazing job at explaining the sociology behind war.

创建者 Roei

Aug 20, 2015

Fantastic course on a global subject which lay in the core of the human experience. A must have course for any history lovers and geopolitical enthusiatists.

创建者 Thomasybruce

Aug 14, 2015

Highly informtative, relevant and has been useful in cross study with other modern state of war studies, such as Terrorism and Counter Terrorism studies.

创建者 gigi n

Dec 07, 2019

Well done and well organized. Instructor is an excellent teacher--it feels like you are watching an episode of National Geographic on sociology of war!!

创建者 Arkadeep M

Dec 13, 2015

This course has been an eye opening one, clearly giving poignant insights into the life of a soldier, the nature of war and the role of societies in it!

创建者 Víctor F

Nov 27, 2017

Great lectures and great reading recommendations, i have ordered a couple of books from the bibliography and was not dissappointed.

创建者 Iskra K

Aug 30, 2015

The course was so helpful. I had the opportunity to develop myself in interesting for me area. Definitely recommend the training.

创建者 Ricardo R I

Nov 12, 2016

It's a extended introductory course. Very useful to first understanding about war, history and sociologycal issues related.

创建者 Francesc B G

Aug 26, 2015

Incedible structure and professor, an absolute must for everyone to understand war as an expression of humman being

创建者 James O

Jun 17, 2020

Enjoyed this very much from start to finish and would highly recommend it from any young military officer.

创建者 Kateryna K

Feb 06, 2018

great course! the only thing I could advice to change is to make the course a bit shorter, a more compact

创建者 Savannah D

Jan 03, 2017

This is one of my favorite courses I've taken. Its very interesting and I really enjoy the lectures.

创建者 Johanna Y

Dec 05, 2016

Just brilliant. After this course you'll get a comprehensive idea of war, and of the society itself.

创建者 刘又一

Feb 23, 2016

Bring you into a world of art of war with much better interpretation than Sun Tzu and Machiavelli.

创建者 Gilberto O S

Oct 13, 2015

Very interesting topics about war and human history are analyzed in this course. Very recommended.