Chevron Left
返回到 US Social Services Compared

学生对 哥伦比亚大学 提供的 US Social Services Compared 的评价和反馈

4.7
106 个评分
31 条评论

课程概述

In all nations, social policy is a very large public investment. Course 1 will explore the size, structure, and outcomes of U.S. social policy and compare this policy to those of similar developed countries. The course will also probe the values this policy represents and the values debate regarding about how big our welfare state should be— in other words, how much of our education, housing, health, income support, and social services the government should supply and how much individuals should supply for themselves. This course addresses issues of power, oppression, and white supremacy. The course is part of a sequence in social policy that has an HONORS TRACK. This track will prepare the learner for masters-level work in policy, which involves reading the literature, writing concise summaries and probing critiques. Over the sequence the learner will develop a policy analysis that will create a foundation for professional policy analyst assignments....

热门审阅

IL
May 9, 2021

I learned a lot and very much enjoyed learning about the social policy. Thank you professor Robertson and all the speakers for their lessons taught throughout the course!

TA
Sep 26, 2019

"US Social Services Compared" - I am hoping this course will help me out with a clear concept of US Social Services Compared. Thanks COURSERA for the such online access.

筛选依据:

1 - US Social Services Compared 的 25 个评论(共 32 个)

创建者 Sarah G

Apr 11, 2020

The content is overall useful and is a good introduction to understanding the US welfare state. However, some of the quiz questions are unclear and occasionally do not reflect the content discussed in the course. Discussions are not very critical, I would have liked to have a greater centering of marginalised communities. The honours option seems a little excessively time-consuming.

创建者 Sean L

Jan 21, 2019

The quality of the content is good for an introductory course. The high amount of typos in the slides is distracting when you're trying to take notes.

创建者 Joy S

Jan 17, 2019

good info, instructor really quiet. had to use earphones

创建者 Evaluation R

Dec 11, 2019

Dr. Robertson developed a great course. I was a little put off by Garfinkel. A few slides need to be edited a little bit because the errors are distracting and may be confusing for ELL e.g. venerable instead of vulnerable ... I learned quite a lot even though I have over a decade of experience working in Health & Human Services. THANK YOU!!!

创建者 Leah B

Mar 22, 2019

very interesting and useful for my wider studies supporting my application to universities

创建者 Hector O

Jun 6, 2020

Excellent Course! Better than the one I took on-campus for my MSW at another institution.

创建者 Maite S P

Jul 22, 2020

The course was very informative, it definitely broaden my knowledge of Social Services in the US and other Countries. I would recommend my co-workers to take this course.

创建者 Caroline R

Nov 8, 2020

This course presented a good overview of the basics of the U.S. welfare state, but in many cases, arguments were not presented in a way for students to critically engage with the coursework. I wish that there was greater opportunity for critical engagement, because I found some of the beliefs presented to be biased yet present

创建者 Mohammad O A

Mar 28, 2021

This was a great course, content wise. The quizzes are very simple and do not require much critical thinking. The Honors Assignments, however, are rigorous and require in depth reading, preparation and writing.

There was a bit of delay in getting reviews for my assignments for this course. However, I was able to work things out with Coursera Help Desk and also Professor was kind enough to reply to my email. It worked out in the end and I got my Honors credit on the certificate!!

Content wise: the quality of the readings was top-notch, drawing from book chapters to journal papers to think tank reviews. I am so glad I took this course!

创建者 Leslie W

Jul 20, 2020

This course taught me so much about the United States social welfare state and how it compares to other Welfare States. I was excited to review each new course as I learned a wealth of information that will assist me in my upcoming policy classes at Columbia this fall. A truly valuable source of information that was delivered in a highly comprehensible fashion. Thank you for creating this course!

创建者 Quanchai K

Apr 22, 2021

It is an excellent course that helps me better understand general social welfare in the United States, which is very unique compared to that in other Western countries. The instructor can very well explain and discuss complex issues that allows me as a non-American citizen to follow the contents easily. Thank you very much for offering the wonderful course.

创建者 Ila L

May 10, 2021

I learned a lot and very much enjoyed learning about the social policy. Thank you professor Robertson and all the speakers for their lessons taught throughout the course!

创建者 Tofail A

Sep 27, 2019

"US Social Services Compared" - I am hoping this course will help me out with a clear concept of US Social Services Compared. Thanks COURSERA for the such online access.

创建者 Eyasu M

Aug 9, 2021

I​ am a Human service profesioanl and student . This course has taught so many important insights that I can apply to my job now and the future. Very good course!

创建者 Diana M

Jun 22, 2020

Excellent information and well presented. Love the honors section that provides an opportunity for further learning and feedback from peers.

创建者 Mushtaq M G

Oct 26, 2020

It is very true encouraging step to enhance educational skills and knowledge by doing this course.

创建者 Syam S A

Jan 9, 2020

Very informative. I am very new to Social Policy, so the grounding was very useful.

创建者 Denise B

Feb 12, 2021

Excellent content. Valuables knowledge about US social policy and welfare system.

创建者 Ruben C

Jun 29, 2019

Exceptional topics and Positive take-aways for our nations Welfare State

创建者 Paulo

Jun 15, 2019

Excellent course about the US welfare state in comparison with others.

创建者 K L

Dec 12, 2020

I have a greater understanding of the State Welfare system.

创建者 Diane H

Dec 12, 2019

Challenging class but also very informative!

创建者 Loubna C

Nov 11, 2021

very nice introduction to welfare state

创建者 Robert B S M

Jan 6, 2020

Good course... thanks.

创建者 Michael L B J

Aug 17, 2020

Un excelente curso.