Chevron Left
返回到 运营管理概论

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 运营管理概论 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,588 个评分
331 个审阅

课程概述

Learn to analyze and improve business processes in services or in manufacturing by learning how to increase productivity and deliver higher quality standards. Key concepts include process analysis, bottlenecks, flows rates, and inventory levels, and more. After successfully completing this course, you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

热门审阅

AJ

Oct 28, 2018

This is an awesome comprehensive operations management course. Although, the course in an introductory course, it covers pretty much everything you need to know about operations management.

AP

May 12, 2019

the materials were very informative and the thing that helped me the most were the practice problems which if genuinely solved will give very deep understanding help get through the exams.

筛选依据:

1 - 运营管理概论 的 25 个评论(共 318 个)

创建者 Nicholas J C

Mar 13, 2019

I understand that if you're reading this, it's probably already too late, but if not, I'd strongly advise that you research better opportunities to learn this material.

First, the presentation is poor. This feels like it would be a state of the art course in 2007, but is very archaic now. The powerpoints are sloppy, there's no editorial oversight, the audio quality is very bad, and it is harder to focus than it needs to be. They need the instructor from the Corporate Finance course to come in here and teach this team how to make a powerpoint that's legible.

Second, which is a problem I've had with other Coursera Wharton products, is the disconnect between the lectures, the practice, and the assignments. Things are left out or left to your own intuition, and you're on your own. The discussion forums are a great idea, but are totally neutered by the Coursera Honor Code which forbids students from discussing the assignments in any real detail. The Mentors are largely useless due to this limitation. This course should take note from the Financial Accounting course, which was similar in difficulty but worked you through every step of every possible problem type, and met you with challenging but doable assignments.

Third, is basic quality control. There are typos, self-contradicting statements, etc., that have remained unfixed in this material over the course of years (lectures are six years old I've gleaned). I'm astounded that Wharton is willing to put its brand name on a packaged product of this quality. Ironically enough, you're often sitting through a lecture about process integrity and quality assurance-related topics.

In sum, my experience in this course was mainly fighting against the class itself, not the material. Trying to figure out what the question means, what it's asking, rather than doing the math or remembering whatever function or logical process. It's really disappointing to have spent all this time on this course and the Business Foundations certificate program, when the utility per hour is so very very low. A complete rework is in order, if for no other reason than to get the instructor a new mic and have some grad assistant put together a nice sharp powerpoint instead of forcing students to read chicken scratches (which don't remain on the slides, so you better take really fast notes!)

创建者 Sophia T

Nov 25, 2017

Out of all the business foundations courses, this was one of my favorites in terms of content and real-world application. I enjoyed learning about the main operations management concepts, but the tests and exams were extremely frustrating and difficult to pass. I spent an unimaginable time each week on HW and exams (way more than the estimated time) in order to pass. Not only were almost all questions open-ended, but problem questions came in sets, so if you got the first answer incorrect, you had a slim chance of passing on the first try. Additionally, since calculations involved a number of steps, it was painstaking to figure out where in the process you went wrong. Finally, some problem sets introduced new and different scenarios that were never discussed in the videos. Even after re-watching videos and reviewing practice problem multiple times, I could not understand how to adjust for the change. The only thing that helped was reading user questions on the discussion forum, which required a lot of time.

创建者 Quoc-Anh V

Jul 13, 2019

Hard but worth it.

创建者 Raúl A P

Jun 28, 2019

This course teach you the main keys to have a better control of your operations in a begginer level.

创建者 Ziyi W

Jun 18, 2019

The professor offers very interesting real-life examples and challenging questions. Great course!

创建者 Pranav T B

Jun 13, 2019

A course which gives you lots of insights into Operations Management. Special thanks to Prof. Christian Terwiesh for your excellent teachings and methodology.

创建者 Chen Z

Jun 09, 2019

Quite heavy in content packed in a 4 weeks course. Enjoyed solving the problems and learning how to improve operations effectiveness. The 7 sources of waste and 3 key problems in operations are very insightful operations knowledge that I would have had a hard time figuring out myself should I not have taken this course.

创建者 Shailendra S

May 30, 2019

I got to solve very Interesting real-life based scenarios/problems in this course, which requires logic and common sense. All the assignments are practical in some sense. Wonderful course and the instructor's module review video is very helpful.

创建者 Amy W

May 27, 2019

Incredible introduction to Operations and integral concepts for business functions outside of Operations. Having absolutely no prior statistics or probability theory education/knowledge, this course established said concepts through direct and easily understood practice problems and examples. Professor Terwiesch presents coursework clearly, providing visual working examples as he goes through the problems. I must say that professor Terwiesch is the only instructor yet whose humorous commentary contributed tremendously to the course content.

For me, there is nothing more exciting than productivity and efficiency. This course taught introductory methods for quantifying efficiency, establishing opinions and observations, and using said observations to further make efficient the process. A genuinely exhilarating insight into business processes.

创建者 Aishwarya P

May 12, 2019

the materials were very informative and the thing that helped me the most were the practice problems which if genuinely solved will give very deep understanding help get through the exams.

创建者 Su Z C

May 11, 2019

It's a very useful course, professor is pretty clear about explaining theory and showing how to do some calculation, it would be wonderful if the sound record system get improved, sometimes the voice from video is not clear enough.

创建者 Ehsan A A

May 03, 2019

I liked how the Professor explained different terms of Operations and Quality. This course will help me apply this knowledge of looking inside an operation and finding out the bottlenecks.

创建者 Lisa M M

May 02, 2019

Fantastic introduction giving actionable insights to operations analysis and performance!

创建者 Tanzid A M

Apr 19, 2019

It is a very excellent course for every student.

创建者 Premchander S

Apr 08, 2019

GOOD EXPERIENCE

创建者 Francesca M

Mar 31, 2019

The layout of the course is too cumbersome. There's too many videos, practice videos, practice problems, homework quizzes, and then final quizzes. The courses should all be structured the same, have the videos for each week and then a quiz at the end. Since the course is supposedly designed for beginners , the material needs to reflect that. This course seems like it would be better suited toward someone who already has some knowledge in the field of operations management. The best designed courses in this series has been Intro to Marketing and Managing Social and Human Capital.

创建者 Ngawang P

Mar 27, 2019

nice

创建者 Ivan S

Mar 25, 2019

I am very content with this course. It was to the oint and easy to follow.

创建者 PETER G

Mar 12, 2019

I was not impressed with course up to about week three. Then the light went on and I understood the layout of the curriculum Good course with a lot of intense calculation required.

创建者 Yogendra C

Mar 06, 2019

Good for those who are looking from quantitative prospective.

创建者 Paola F R B

Feb 25, 2019

Me gustaron mucho los temas, me gusto la explicacion, pero a la hora de hacer los examenes, sufrí mucho, eran mucho mas complicados que los problemas expuestos en clase. Favor de empatar lo visto en clase con lo preguntado en examenes.

创建者 Emilio B G

Feb 17, 2019

A lot of problem solving and the homework per week which is important to process and consolidate all this information, makes the course very practical. It could be more organized when showing the excel files and solving problems in Excel. Visually could be also improved (charts and slides).

创建者 Akmal A K

Feb 16, 2019

This is a very intensive real practise orientated course. Completing it is rather challenging but my first feeling after having just done it - it has been the most intensive and useful course I have taken on Coursera (Now I am a step away from completing my third Specialization on Coursera). Many thanks to Professor Terwiesch Highly recommend this course.

创建者 Alex K

Feb 09, 2019

some of the language used in the quizzes and practice questions for the various modules is very unclear and does not interpret accurately. the course is stale at this point: there is no longer active discussion in the forums and no way to check for answers to exam questions that never ended up being clear (such as due to language interpretation issues). the explanations from the mentors are not very good from what I've read, since they are most concerned about giving away answers even to practice problems.

创建者 Kenneth C

Feb 07, 2019

i know the content is not only useful and directly applicable, but the gap between the texts and homework vs the lecture videos is too far removed. its clear from the number of example case studies provided that the explanations in the lectures are insufficient in giving the depth and detail needed to fully understand the principles, consequently it makes the homework and tests far too complex. I found it further more, extremely frustrating that there was no further resources other than the videos provided and the associated example homeworks from which to get further information to better my understanding and therefore actually pass the tests and homeworks. the discussion forums were not helpful in furthering my understanding of where i was going wrong an why, and simply added to the frustration. i feel like this course would have been useful as a supplement to an in-person course, but without deeper explanation and some FEEDBACK on where and how i was going wrong, its frustrating. very disappointed.