Chevron Left
返回到 Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling 的评价和反馈

4.6
8,053 个评分

课程概述

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

热门审阅

AP

Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 30, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

筛选依据:

1501 - Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling 的 1525 个评论(共 1,538 个)

创建者 weihaochai

Jul 28, 2018

too simple

创建者 Ng C

Dec 16, 2017

very basic

创建者 Sahainaj B

Oct 7, 2020

Good.

创建者 Carlos R

Jul 2, 2021

okay

创建者 Marta

Mar 19, 2017

The student needed to have a good foundation of statistics and high levels of math to be able to follow the class. I have not taken statistics or trigonometry in many years so I struggled. I would have benefited greatly if there were more examples of how to calculate the models, including the calculations part of it. The professor did not do that and that got me wondering (not knowing) how to calculate the formulas. I think if I had seen a few examples, it would have been enough to understand and keep up.

So, more step-by-step instructions on the mechanics of formulas, would be my biggest recommendation.

But the professor did a superb job explaining the concepts, and showcasing some industry applications of the models.

Thank you for asking.

创建者 Rubén M F

Feb 27, 2016

Great explanations provided by Prof. Waterman, however for the price of this course (in my view quite expensive) the materials available are quite poor (e.g. the formulas shown in the pdf slides are a mess, not a mathematical summary, etc), and the level of the quizzes is very basic. I would have expected much more from a course coming from Whaton.

创建者 Saman K

Mar 3, 2016

I liked the course because of its format and material. Basically it was comprehensive.

I did not like the presentation and lack of practical examples. I had to force myself to concentrate at times and search other sources for more detailed insight.

创建者 Nikhil C

Mar 11, 2017

Its good for the starters but touches very few and very basic concepts. No offense, but the professor could have made it much more interaction by making the better slights he would just read values without even using markers

创建者 Nadine F

May 2, 2020

I love this subject, but the way it was taught here was extremely boring and hard to follow/focus. I took it this class at NYU for grad school (higher level), so I was just looking to refresh and almost died.

创建者 Michael S

Mar 24, 2016

Really superficial overview, I suppose it's good for just familiarizing oneself with assigning the appropriate model, but to shallow for any real carry over to the real world.

创建者 Davide B

May 10, 2016

It is very easy and somehow less impacting on real business problem. I hope this Microdegree will get into some kind of complexity otherwise will remain high school level.

创建者 Savannah B

Jul 1, 2018

If you have taken a statistics course in the past, this course is not super useful besides understanding which models are used for specific business problems.

创建者 Leah M

Mar 31, 2018

Explanations not clear. Difficult to follow equations in slides (variables and equations are not repeated from slide to slide).

创建者 Abhishek G

Jan 30, 2017

Personally, did not like the pace of the course. The course can be a bit more interesting with real-life case studies.

创建者 Abhishek G

May 6, 2022

The course was overall okay but it was boring at the same time, seems like instructor was reading slides only.

创建者 Vaishnav G

Jul 28, 2022

I found the course to be very elementary and very introductory, although well structured and well taught

创建者 Andrey V

Dec 31, 2016

Just the basics. No concrete explanations of models. You have to study them on your own.

创建者 Deleted A

Apr 27, 2016

Very basic and the lectures are short in duration. Not what I expected from this course.

创建者 Mohammed A O

Jan 27, 2020

Too difficult for a beginner, lecture fails to reach to the main point directly

创建者 Tasneem N E

Nov 2, 2020

Professor didn't communicate the material in a way that was easy to understand

创建者 Kia A

Jun 29, 2022

Too theoretical, without much opportunity to practice and test knowledge

创建者 Onanong C

Apr 22, 2021

Bad quality of voice. On point is very loud and one point is too quiet

创建者 Alia s

Apr 27, 2020

at some point it was a little bit complicated for me

创建者 Panagiotis

Oct 25, 2016

A first year undergraduate student can pass this

创建者 Andrea

Jun 28, 2020

Really theoretical and not detailed