Chevron Left
返回到 Wonders of Ancient Egypt

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Wonders of Ancient Egypt 的评价和反馈

4.8
798 个评分
263 条评论

课程概述

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

热门审阅

VE
Jul 10, 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

MM
Sep 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the history of Ancient Egypt. I have viewed the treasures of Tutankhamun twice. This class gave me a more in depth view of the culture and the art of Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

筛选依据:

201 - Wonders of Ancient Egypt 的 225 个评论(共 261 个)

创建者 Инна В

Jan 21, 2018

Great cours

创建者 Leonardo M

Mar 24, 2021

Just great

创建者 Nikolaos K

Jan 14, 2018

Excellent!

创建者 Megan F

Jan 12, 2018

Wonderful!

创建者 Almir M M

Aug 23, 2021

very good

创建者 Bepari S T T

Apr 26, 2020

Excellent

创建者 Daniel P M

Aug 5, 2018

Excelent!

创建者 Patrik F

Apr 8, 2020

Amazing!

创建者 Alexis F

Apr 5, 2020

SO GOOD

创建者 Emil

Apr 27, 2018

D

o

n

e

i

t

!

创建者 Victoria S M

May 24, 2020

Great

创建者 Xavier M

Feb 24, 2019

TOP !

创建者 WenYu Z

Oct 23, 2018

真的很感谢

创建者 Домрачев Е В

Dec 22, 2017

meow

创建者 Claudette D

May 15, 2019

A

创建者 Paraskevi G

Nov 13, 2017

Extremely interesting follow-up to the previous course of Penn uni on Egypt! Although it does require knowledge of that course, it is not hard to follow even without it. Information is easily comprehensible and accessible. The lector is easy to comprehend, very knowledgeable and provides many examples but it is obvious that he reads his speech from a screen in front of him and that makes his lectures rather stiff and less enthusiastic. Also, I would prefer it if the hieroglyphs were explained phonologically as well for better accuracy but they are actually presented in a more accessible way for the general public and extra bibliography is provided for those interested in the topic.

创建者 Meguid E N

Apr 8, 2020

Excellent mini course.

I wish it was more comprehensive.

I didnt necessarily like the video clips style...; having 10 videos clips of apparently 7-10 minutes but in reality more like 3-5 minutes, if one excludes the credits and acknowlegments, is distrupting to learning. Three or 4 clips of 20 minutes each would have been more valuable.

The reading list is excellent and in particular the essays of the MMA.

The quiz is perfectly pitched.

Thank you very much for a useful learning experience.

I will try to enroll as a mentor!

创建者 Simone L

May 17, 2019

A worthwhile course that goes well as a sequel to Dr. Silverman's Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization. It's a little uneven in information density. And the problems with editing causing anomalous quiz questions are still there, though less than in the first course. Once again, there was insufficient proofreading of the transcript, but I always reformatted and corrected each transcript immediately after watching its corresponding video, so I used this as a technique to reinforce the information!

创建者 Nabeel M

Jun 10, 2021

fantastic course with great information - like the intro course it suffers from a few issues such as the subtitles are more harmful than helpful, mispelling and representing information that is not only wrong but sometimes the opposite of what it means... sometimes the delivery also is a little confusing... but overall I am thankful for this course and the wealth of information it gives us. thank you David

创建者 Michael A

Jun 22, 2020

Great material if you can hammer through it. The content is great; but be forewarned that the professor is very stilted in his speech pattern and this can be disconcerting. It helps to view the videos at 1.25 or 1.5 speed to accommodate for this. Otherwise, I really learned a lot. I MOST enjoyed the section on hieroglyphics and even tried to practice a few of them on paper. Have fun with this one!

创建者 Oliver G

Jun 24, 2020

A good course that looks at Ancient Egypt, like the other course that the Pen does on Ancient Egypt I think the videos could have been a little longer and more fleshed out in terms of content. Still it is another quick and easy course with some very interesting parts like the introduction into hieroglyphs and the look into the various burial methods of the Ancient Egyptians.

创建者 David D

Jul 27, 2021

T​he material is interesting but in some parts a little dry. Lovely pictures which illustrate the monlogue but sometimes they changed a little to fast to really appreciate. In fact a suggestion to improve the student interest is to focus the image less on the static lecturer and more on the wonderful material, or perhaps vary the lecturers as is often done.

创建者 Asante T

Aug 14, 2020

This is a really great course about one of the most interesting civilizations in human history. The topics covered are engaging and well-organized, and the attention to detail is admirable. I particularly enjoyed the opportunity to learn to write hieroglyphs, and unearth some ancient mysteries that tell a dramatic tale of ancient human life.

创建者 Kofi D

Oct 9, 2020

For all lovers of ancient Egypt, this course gives kind of an opening scene to culture, architecture, and other facets of the ancient kingdom. I look forward to continuing my pursuit of the subject and hopefully some day the online course will take on a virtual reality exposition into the museums and on site into the valley of the kings...

创建者 Tanya H

Mar 11, 2018

Very interesting course, but the flow of the lecture videos is seriously disrupted by the inclusion of the credits for the entire week's lecture videos, which sometimes takes up as much as half of the video time. This was fixed in the more recent course of this type, but the videos in this series could use a re-edit to match.