Chevron Left
返回到 Wonders of Ancient Egypt

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Wonders of Ancient Egypt 的评价和反馈

4.8
851 个评分
279 条评论

课程概述

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

热门审阅

VE

Jul 10, 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

RO

Feb 1, 2022

Absolutely great course, by an expert in his field, dr. David Silverman.\n\nOnly minor downside of this great course was the fact, that the credits at the end of each clip was taking very long.

筛选依据:

101 - Wonders of Ancient Egypt 的 125 个评论(共 280 个)

创建者 Khamil K

Apr 27, 2021

Many thanks to Prof. David Silverman for providing this course and wonderful coursera for aiding my courses!

创建者 Raven C

Sep 28, 2020

I love the course I I learned a lot more than I thought it was lot of things I knew and some I did not know.

创建者 Luís M G d S A

Jun 15, 2020

A very useful course. Deepen knowledge of Ancient Egypt.

N.B.: I also like to see a course on Ancient Nubia,

创建者 Paolo A

May 18, 2020

A fascinating insight into Egyptian life, magic, art, and writings. Delivered in a clear and concise manner.

创建者 Katie H

Jan 3, 2020

I learned a lot in this course. Egypt has lots of interesting things to study. Highly recommend this course.

创建者 Estela U G

Dec 26, 2020

Muy entretenido y un gran introductorio a la cultura del Antiguo Egipto hasta tiempos de Horemheb. Gracias!

创建者 Joyce G A

Jul 15, 2020

excellent course, its my first time learning online and I learned a lot. Ancient Egypt is truly amazing!

创建者 Vojtěch K

Jun 12, 2019

Very good course about Ancient Egypt and a nice follow-up on the Introduction course with Mr. Silverman!

创建者 Atoosa

Dec 18, 2019

Great course.

Did not disappoint!

Loved the numerous museum pictures with detailed explanation.

Thank you

创建者 ROSAMARIA J C

Mar 14, 2021

I have learned a lot of details a I did not know about Tut and Carter. I loved it. thanks a lot.

创建者 Andrea M

Oct 11, 2020

Eu achei o curso muito interessante e superou minhas expectativas, muito obrigado pela oportunidade.

创建者 Ellie

Nov 11, 2019

It was a fun course to experience and it showed me a different view on the ancient egyptian culture

创建者 elodie r

Oct 14, 2020

So interesting I loved it, I did the course in 2 days. I love Egypt culture and I learnt so much

创建者 Manal K

Jan 1, 2020

Clear , concise and loaded with information yet not dull at all.

Thank you , enjoyed every minute.

创建者 Sven S

Dec 29, 2017

This is really a great course. Very interesting topics and beautiful materials. I learned a lot.

创建者 Dararat K

Dec 3, 2017

Thank you so much for this wonderful course. I'm looking forward to next chapter of Egyptology.

创建者 Carrie M

Jan 28, 2018

Great course! So informative and I love the presentation of the material. Thank you so much!!!

创建者 Aaman L

Nov 2, 2018

A masterful exposition of art, culture, writing, magic and the complexity of the 18th dynasty

创建者 Daisy N

May 18, 2020

A really interesting course, well presented and informative. I recommend taking this course.

创建者 Kiara M M R

Jan 19, 2019

Me encanta. Estoy aprendiendo mucho sobre la escritura en el Antiguo Egipto. Lo recomiendo.

创建者 PhantomDuck1980

Nov 7, 2017

An exellent learnig experiece. I definately recomment it to everyone who adores Egyptology!

创建者 Nelly M C C

Mar 18, 2018

A fascinating course. It was a fine sequel to the previous course. I highly recommend it.

创建者 STELLA M F B

Nov 3, 2018

es un curso exelente pues a pesar de ser en ingles me fue facil comprender y aprender