Chevron Left
返回到 Wood Science: Beyond Building

学生对 西弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 Wood Science: Beyond Building 的评价和反馈

4.6
119 个评分
35 个审阅

课程概述

The central question of this course: “why study wood?” If “why study wood” is the question, one answer would be that it is the only raw material available to us that is truly renewable in human life span terms. Wood is as important to society today as it ever was, despite the development of many man-made substitute materials, changing resource availability, and the changing needs of society. Some items on the list of wood products stay the same (lumber, plywood and veneer for building construction, furniture, shipping pallets & crates and other containers & packaging materials, railroad ties, utility poles, chemical feed stocks, etc), but the list also keeps changing to meet new needs and challenges as the resource changes. In short, wood is a far more diverse, green, and renewable resource than you might have imagined. Join us to learn about the important role of wood in human history, civilization, and our future. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: - describe wood as a raw material and its critical importance to the world economy, and the lives of the people that make that economy work. - identify the projected trend for wood consumption to continue to grow in the coming years, despite the image of wood as a "low tech" material. - identify the ways in which wood's properties can lead to its efficient and sustainable use. -identify wood's positive role in boosting the world economy and ability to lead to unexpected vocations....

热门审阅

MM

Apr 24, 2018

Very imformative, very engaging, very inspiring!\n\nAn awesome course to be taken and the knowledge shared here is simply shocking and usefull.\n\nTHANK YOU.

KG

Jun 01, 2019

Very useful to understand about the American wood industry. Also helps know about some general information about wooden materials and wood itself.

筛选依据:

26 - Wood Science: Beyond Building 的 35 个评论(共 35 个)

创建者 Rodrigo M A

Jun 21, 2017

It is interesting, but I would like to go deeper into the wood industry, new products, new techniques of sylviculture.

创建者 Richard K

Nov 20, 2017

interesting material

创建者 tommaso b

Jul 03, 2017

In my opinion the course is very interesting. One reason is that it gives you insights into a topic which is not normally in the mainstream. Also it is strongly connected with social, economical and environmental themes. I would recommed the course to anybody interested in the world of wood production, use and the links to nowadays impacts on economics.

创建者 Toni K

Jul 21, 2017

Great advanced course in wood science! Fits best for the person with at least basic knowledge of timber and use of it. If you are a newbie with timber, no problem; you'll get the point and maybe some great ideas.

创建者 Purpure

Jul 23, 2017

Great content. I would like to suggest diving deeper into some of the North American silviculture practises and forestry operations as well as roundwood measurement and sawmill business. That could be a nice insight for the forest industry people here in Europe. Thank you for your work and I'm looking forward to the next "Wood Science & Forestry" course.

创建者 Joy S

Apr 03, 2017

As a woman, I learned a surprising amount of stuff I never knew before

创建者 Sebastián B

Feb 02, 2018

A very good introduction to several topics related to forestry, wood science and wood industry.

创建者 David G Q

Jun 21, 2017

A little short course, but usefull.

创建者 Freddy C

Mar 08, 2018

Too focused on American context. Wrong technical information here and there. Generally uninformative if already working in the industry, your probably know more than what this course has to offer.

创建者 Sergio R

May 15, 2019

I appreciate the effort but althoug some interesting topics are metnioned, I think that it only moves from random ideas insted of getting a bit deeper in the interesting points (whenever possible since it is a short course).

One important think that I must say is that I found it incredible that when talking about the solutions for solving the "problem" of running out of forests to cut (that is, more management, plantations, ...) i think you forgot the most important (applicable to any other resource): REDUCE CONSUMPTION.