Chevron Left
返回到 Wood Science: Beyond Building

学生对 西弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 Wood Science: Beyond Building 的评价和反馈

4.7
339 个评分
103 条评论

课程概述

The central question of this course: “why study wood?” If “why study wood” is the question, one answer would be that it is the only raw material available to us that is truly renewable in human life span terms. Wood is as important to society today as it ever was, despite the development of many man-made substitute materials, changing resource availability, and the changing needs of society. Some items on the list of wood products stay the same (lumber, plywood and veneer for building construction, furniture, shipping pallets & crates and other containers & packaging materials, railroad ties, utility poles, chemical feed stocks, etc), but the list also keeps changing to meet new needs and challenges as the resource changes. In short, wood is a far more diverse, green, and renewable resource than you might have imagined. Join us to learn about the important role of wood in human history, civilization, and our future. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: - describe wood as a raw material and its critical importance to the world economy, and the lives of the people that make that economy work. - identify the projected trend for wood consumption to continue to grow in the coming years, despite the image of wood as a "low tech" material. - identify the ways in which wood's properties can lead to its efficient and sustainable use. -identify wood's positive role in boosting the world economy and ability to lead to unexpected vocations....

热门审阅

DB

Jun 05, 2020

I am glad that I took this informative course. This course is useful to each and every people irrespective of their academic background and interests. It is good course regarding wood and its uses.

CZ

Feb 12, 2020

As a Civil Engineering student, this course has been very helpful for me. I do recommend to have this course in order to get the basic concept of wood science and its use as a building material.

筛选依据:

76 - Wood Science: Beyond Building 的 100 个评论(共 104 个)

创建者 karthik k m

Apr 26, 2020

Good

创建者 valmiki G k

Apr 24, 2020

Osm

创建者 Daniel M

Aug 08, 2020

As a Civil Engineering student this course gave me a lot of information about wood both as a resource and as a building material, even though a lot of it was common knowledge. Even for me as someone who isn't a native english speaker everything was easy to understand. Unfortunately some of the links were dead or lead to empty pages. There were times where the audio was very hard to understand but with the included script it wasn't hard to figure out what they were talking about.

All in all a very informative course for everyone who wants to learn a little bit about wood as a building material. Just don't expect it to make you a timber engineer

创建者 Purpure

Jul 23, 2017

Great content. I would like to suggest diving deeper into some of the North American silviculture practises and forestry operations as well as roundwood measurement and sawmill business. That could be a nice insight for the forest industry people here in Europe. Thank you for your work and I'm looking forward to the next "Wood Science & Forestry" course.

创建者 tommaso b

Jul 03, 2017

In my opinion the course is very interesting. One reason is that it gives you insights into a topic which is not normally in the mainstream. Also it is strongly connected with social, economical and environmental themes. I would recommed the course to anybody interested in the world of wood production, use and the links to nowadays impacts on economics.

创建者 Toni K

Jul 21, 2017

Great advanced course in wood science! Fits best for the person with at least basic knowledge of timber and use of it. If you are a newbie with timber, no problem; you'll get the point and maybe some great ideas.

创建者 Sagiraju L p

Jul 26, 2020

The course was really informative to me. As a civil engineering student I could know the importance of the most important building material I. E wood and it's types and uses and it's climatic conditions etc.

创建者 Helen

Feb 03, 2020

I like course very much. Nice to see and hear proffesionals. I want more information about Forest/Wood plantation managment in the future. A big intrigue was put in the course. Recomended.

创建者 Andrew H

Feb 15, 2018

Several of the links were dead, but other than that, great information in a very easy to follow manner. I especially enjoyed the questions during the video. Those helped tremendously.

创建者 Dana C

Jan 26, 2018

Very informative. Production value lower than what I've previously seen in other courses but it seems to work for this course, and give it an underlying charm.

创建者 Christina M

May 28, 2020

A lot of excellent information. I especially enjoyed the guitar makers videos and the experiment with veneer and water.

创建者 Pranil b N

May 23, 2020

I gotta chance to get info about wood and it's various uses in different fields as well as knowledge of wood materials.

创建者 Rodrigo M A

Jun 21, 2017

It is interesting, but I would like to go deeper into the wood industry, new products, new techniques of sylviculture.

创建者 Sebastián B

Feb 02, 2018

A very good introduction to several topics related to forestry, wood science and wood industry.

创建者 Maria H J B

Jun 15, 2020

such interesting details about so many different aspects of wood. I like to continue!

创建者 MAHITHA P

Jun 15, 2020

This is a very interesting and useful course... Thankyou for teaching with patience

创建者 Joy S

Apr 03, 2017

As a woman, I learned a surprising amount of stuff I never knew before

创建者 YASHVIITHA Y

Jun 15, 2020

This is a short course but very helpfull

创建者 Chiemelie N

Jul 14, 2020

Interesting and helpful course

创建者 Mahesh k A M

May 23, 2020

Good course and good material

创建者 Richard K

Nov 20, 2017

interesting material

创建者 saadia s

Jul 18, 2020

Nice

创建者 Pravallika G

Jul 18, 2020

Goof

创建者 Arnab N U

May 23, 2020

It was fairly good. But, the course needs to be more improved and more enjoyable one. Since I was interested about the course topic, it seems a pretty one good course for me.

创建者 Parikshit P

Apr 27, 2020

Sir Lawrence's voice was too low sometimes and too loud when he starts a sentence. otherwise, this course is full of knowledge.