Chevron Left
返回到 Write Your First Novel

学生对 密歇根州立大学 提供的 Write Your First Novel 的评价和反馈

4.2
158 个评分
68 条评论

课程概述

WRITE YOUR FIRST NOVEL From Inc.com - The 30 Most Popular Online Courses of 2020 "Write Your First Novel" made the list at #15 https://lnkd.in/gZqscmn If you’ve ever had the dream, the desire or even just a vague notion that you would like to write a novel, this course is for you. Whether you are a full-time student, have a full-time job, a family to take care of or all of the above, you can do it. Really! And I will help you get there. In this Course, you will write your first novel. Many people say they have often thought about writing a novel and are planning to do it someday, but very few ever actually do. However, in this course, you will do it. You will learn how to form a basic idea, any idea, into a structure and discipline that will allow you to create, write and complete a fully-realized novel ready to submit for publication. If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work. Here is a link to a trailer for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/385761391/c5e7f873cf Learner review: "It was a great experience, I really enjoyed it." In Write Your First Novel, you’ll learn to break down your creative endeavor into components and you’ll discover a process that will allow you to do what few have done: produce and complete a full-length work of fiction in the form of a 50,000-word novel. Learner Review: "You teach storytelling like no other teacher. I cannot put in words how much I appreciate it. This daily writing, and the product that comes with it, have been a great mental support during the pandemic time. Art is a support for life, as Stephen King said, and thanks to you I experienced it first-hand during this time. I think I will keep writing 500 words per night for the rest of my life. I owe it to you. You taught me how to write a novel, and it works every time. Huge thanks, and wishing you all the best." I am a proponent of experiential learning (also known as active learning). My lectures are short and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a writer. I will guide you, I will show you how to get there, hopefully I will inspire you. You will learn through your own activity - which is writing! I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write! Learner review: "As a published author, I took this course to relearn the skills. I thoroughly enjoyed each and every lecture and quiz. This course was very, very helpful and the videos were very well executed. Cheers!" Writing fiction is a truly beautiful thing. Putting your own words on a page to tell a story which enters your readers minds and allows them to share the thoughts, emotions and lives of your characters is a very satisfying, rewarding experience. Learner review: "BEST TEACHER EVER! LOVE THE COURSE."...

热门审阅

PC
May 1, 2020

This course helped me as a writer because of the teacher. He was not a quick talker, but he was not a slow talker. He was very understanding. I really would love to get teached by him again.

LG
Jun 22, 2021

an excellent course for the fledgling writer. Broken down into manageable weekly targets and teaches that focus and organisation really help towards achieving that dream.

筛选依据:

51 - Write Your First Novel 的 69 个评论(共 69 个)

创建者 Abdulaziz S B

Feb 20, 2021

Very good course .

创建者 Estefani R

Apr 23, 2021

Excelent Course!

创建者 Carolyn p

Nov 27, 2020

i love books

创建者 Sricharan N

Aug 11, 2020

To The Point

创建者 D-06 K S J

May 27, 2021

6

创建者 Diane D

Oct 15, 2021

The course helped me complete the first draft of a fantasy novel. I was lucky enough to connect with a wonderful group of participants who were supportive and encouraging through the entire process. Some of us will remain connected as we go through the first round of editing.

I would love Coursera to fix a couple of glitches in the system. One is the formatting when uploading assignments. Understand that HTML can be glitchy, but it was really annoying in the beginning until I learned that uploading from Google Docs was better than uploading from Word. The second thing is being able to continue reviewing the same student submissions. By doing so, we can provide better comments when we can follow the same story. It's hard to critique someone's chapter randomly if we don't know what occurred in earlier chapters.

创建者 Susan H

Feb 3, 2021

The instruction was great; I gain some useful tools that I will be able to use in my writing in the future. However, what was frustrating for me was the fact that I could not receive one-on-one via chat, email or any other form when I felt only the instructor could provide the answer to my question. My other frustration stemmed from the peer reviews. In this class in particular, I was more comfortable in giving reviews to my fellow writers whose progress in their work I had been following since its inception. I was completely uncomfortable in critiquing my peers based on the chapter by chapter review process without knowledge of prior chapter work and was not appreciative of being review in that manner; something that may need consideration and perhaps revision,

创建者 Ene G

Oct 16, 2021

I like that this course gave you directions without hand-holding and definite directions. The instructor pretty much pointed you in the right direction with great tips and let you explore on your own, allowing you to develop your own style. He gave suggestions on where to take each chapter that were unexpected and challenging, but definitely improved your writing if you followed his direction. Also, having a cohort to exchange ideas and give feedback was most valuable. I'm really glad I took this course!

创建者 Lucya S

Jul 5, 2021

I loved the course. It helped me complete my first novel. Id give it 5 stars except that the software was a bit glitchy at times, making it hard to upload my chapters or doing odd things with the formatting.

创建者 Bianca S

Mar 7, 2021

This course has helped me complete my novel. I am very thankful to David Wheeler for guiding me through it and each and every person that has read and gave feed back. I hope you all are successful.

创建者 James F

Jun 29, 2021

Simple and easy to follow.

创建者 Cherise M

Nov 5, 2021

I'm in the 3rd week and for some odd reason I am unable to receive any feedback on my work. Though, I should review and give feedback on others which has me to think this isn't supportive. The other thing is you cannot reach anyone for help. You'r simply on your own and if I would've paid for a certificate. This would have been a very frustrating and unfair course.

I did submit a question in the forum and still no answer as if I'm invisible. This wasn't so for the first 2 weeks.

创建者 Joan l

Oct 12, 2021

I love the structure and the videos but cannot seem to get back to my submissions to edit them based on feedback. I also seem to have lost my logline even though it has been reviewed. Is there any way to scroll back to a summary of all the submissions we have made to keep track of what is needed. Also, I do not know how to join a writer's group so would like better direction in that regard.

创建者 17_Mohammad I

May 12, 2021

not bad

创建者 Juniper F

Mar 31, 2021

general premise is a good idea, but only having peer feedback gets really old. Conflicting opinions from people with no professional experience just becomes confusing after awhile. Who do you trust? I enjoyed the lectures though. But after about week 11 its obvious student participation is dwindling and no one wants to have to read 5 other books just to get through the course, so peer feedback becomes short and useless. I don't exactly feel like I've learned anything, but it has given me a nice structure to self regulate my writing schedule. Thats about it. Wish the professor was more involved, but I understand the course has thousands of people.

创建者 Suneel K G

May 12, 2021

very short video. For 26 weeks of work, all you get is only motivation, though its importance cannot be discounted.

创建者 Karny A

May 26, 2021

I'm not done.

创建者 DEEP K S

Jun 9, 2021

BALER COURSE