Chevron Left
返回到 Writing Stories About Ourselves

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Writing Stories About Ourselves 的评价和反馈

3.9
9 个评分
7 个审阅

课程概述

In this course, creative nonfiction writers will explore traditional storytelling methods, especially those which overlap between fiction and memoir. By looking at examples from a wide range of genres, including film, song, painting—even the theme music for Jaws!—we’ll practice exercising the creative muscle that sees ourselves as characters and the experiences we’ve had as tales. We’ll focus on critical elements, like how to begin a story, what makes for worthy content, the essential use of detail, the strengths and limits of dialogue, the power of the white space. The ultimate goal is for us to become aware of an “audience” when we write, so that the documentation of our lives will begin to resemble a “performance” crafted onto paper rather than a private entry in a journal....

热门审阅

RL

Jan 22, 2019

This class series was clearly presented and I learned a great deal that I will take with me and continue to used to improve my writing.

MW

Feb 19, 2019

Said is an incredible teacher. He speaks with such insight and passion. Inspiring.

筛选依据:

1 - Writing Stories About Ourselves 的 8 个评论(共 8 个)

创建者 Racquel P

Jan 15, 2019

While I enjoyed the instructor, lessons and exercises of this course, I was very disappointed in how it was conducted. There was little to no interaction on the forums during the class, so pertinent questions went unanswered and there were many instances where I was simply left to assume or guess in order to continue with the course. The help center was only so helpful, no fault I suppose of their own, but instead how Coursera is set up. Certain vital links were missing, links that were necessary to lessons and assignments but the most frustrating aspect of the experience was that each assignment rested heavily on peer evaluation amongst the class-- and not only did I receive little to no feedback from fellow students, but I was unable to meet the requirement of completing three peer evaluations for each assignment because there were not enough submissions. This is either because there were not enough students enrolled in the course, or because those enrolled did not submit or there was something blocking the communication between us. Whatever the reason why the issue occurred, it did have a large impact on the enjoyment of the class and what I took away from it. I would like to continue with Coursera and am reaching out to you with the hopes that something can be done to remedy this unfortunate and, I'm hoping, rare instance of the Coursera experience. Thanks so much for any consideration, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Racquel Postiglione

创建者 Kat

Dec 10, 2018

Interesting way to look at memoire writing and I enjoyed the interviews. But there was something that I was missing. Can't quite put my finger on it. Maybe the psychological angle.

创建者 SUJIT M

Jun 18, 2019

It is a good course. I learnt many simple yet valuable lessons on writing.

创建者 Mark G W

Feb 19, 2019

Said is an incredible teacher. He speaks with such insight and passion. Inspiring.

创建者 Janet W

Jan 29, 2019

I really enjoy taking the course that Coursera offers. This is the second creative writing course that I have taken with them. The instructors are great. I'm sure to walk away with valuable tools that I can use in the future.

创建者 Regina O L

Jan 22, 2019

This class series was clearly presented and I learned a great deal that I will take with me and continue to used to improve my writing.

创建者 Joan P

Dec 24, 2018

Instructor was great! His approach, based on his background in acting, was very helpful. The way he used examples from students and other writers was really useful in making his points. My mind usually wanders during online courses, but didn't here.

创建者 Peter F

Dec 16, 2018

Personable lecturer making informative points.