Chevron Left
返回到 Writing and Editing: Revising

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 Writing and Editing: Revising 的评价和反馈

4.8
250 个评分
60 条评论

课程概述

This fourth and final course in the “Good with Words: Writing and Editing” series will help you master perhaps the most important step in the writing process: revising. You’ll learn about the difference between editing and proofreading. You’ll practice “un-numbing the numbers” so that data and statistics you use are clear and compelling. And you’ll be introduced to a framework for giving and receiving feedback that helpfully systematizes what should be cut and what should be kept from each draft. As with the other three courses in this series, you will also get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include: (1) the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2) two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; and (3) a monthly “Good Sentences” email....

热门审阅

DT

Jan 20, 2022

Well done. Now that I have completed all 4 courses, I am as excited to use some of these concepts as I was to learn them. Professor Barry is awesome in his approach.

KZ

Jul 9, 2020

A wonderful course. It has opened my eyes to the power of editing and has given me the tools to maximize the impacts of my revisions of the final writing product.

筛选依据:

51 - Writing and Editing: Revising 的 61 个评论(共 61 个)

创建者 Zlatica S H

May 20, 2021

Very good and well organized course. It appears to focus mostly on law, but it's still a valuable editing course.

One thing that needs fixing (or explaining in case I missed something) is to distinguish between paying and non-paying participants. I keep getting marked as "overdue" even thought I completed all the requirements by the due date. I think it is because I was not able to submit quizzes for grading since I was a non-paying student. It is still unfair to give me an "overdue" mark.

I come back a month later and find message that I did not complete assignments in time. Not true, as explained above. I'd like the course managers to mark this course "completed" because I completed everything by the original due date. Except quizzes that were locked to me.

创建者 Santosh S

Oct 6, 2020

I enjoyed this course Prof. Patrick Barry of Michigan University. The course is about writing, and I learned so much about reading also. Professor covered so many good books on writing, non-fiction, fiction, authors and their stories, that my reading wish-list is expanded to multiple times. If you love writing, this is the course that you should take. And you will love it! And bonus, you will have completely different eye and perspective about writing.

创建者 kevin d

Oct 31, 2021

Great series of courses overall. Unfortunately I do not have a lot or writing requirements right now so I would like to have had more assignments that were graded. Overall I like the regular sequence of each class as it will result in greater overall retention. Thank you for a high quality learning experience. Let me know if you plan to do anything new.

创建者 Sonia S K

Jul 30, 2020

This was a good course on revising a write-up. The specialization of 4 courses was good and taught me some new ways of writing and revising texts. Prof. Barry is a good instructor. I loved the "punctuation and professionalism" segments and the quizzes. The classroom clips were also really good.

创建者 Khayati S

Sep 26, 2021

Step by step you can understand how to come up with developing your writing skills. It gives you an elaborate guide of developing a piece writing it and editing it. Finally reading it out load in order to make sense.

创建者 Lona I

Jan 29, 2022

Excellent course. It allowed me the flexibility to work at my pace.

创建者 Mandar J

Jun 22, 2021

Very nicely designed course.

创建者 José A F C

Jul 23, 2021

Very good!!

创建者 Sanjay N A

Apr 30, 2021

Good

创建者 Kelly R

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent for book recommendations, little grammar and style teaching.

创建者 Elvira R

Dec 28, 2020

I think it was nice, but it is little information for s course