Chevron Left
返回到 Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest, Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
811 个评分
322 个审阅

课程信息

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

热门审阅

创建者 DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

创建者 FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

筛选依据:

314 个审阅

创建者 Robert Garlington

Dec 11, 2018

I would recommend this course to anyone who is serious about being a writer regardless of where you are in your learning. This course is informative and encouraging and will provide you with methods that other authors have used to become and remain successful doing something that we all love to do....Write!!!

创建者 Shereena Witts-Williams

Dec 06, 2018

An absolutely fantastic course! Good for beginners, but also good for those with experience as well. The instructors are great and all the guest speakers are delightful and interesting.

创建者 Chigozie Nelson

Nov 05, 2018

A very informative and practical course.

创建者 Dina Husseini

Nov 02, 2018

Amazing and very informative :)

创建者 Gitanjali Venkatraman

Oct 12, 2018

Really appreciate the interviews with so many authors. Very inspiring and thanks for the trouble! Also that last assignment of writing to a publisher makes it all so (scary) real - and - so - possible....

创建者 Heissell Ramirez

Oct 08, 2018

I enjoyed the guess interviews. A few times I looked them up on google to see what other books they had written. It was nice to see real life ex

创建者 Ellina N

Sep 09, 2018

I enjoyed this course and learned a thing or two about writing, editing and publishing.

创建者 Fernanda Garduño

Jun 29, 2018

Me encantó el curso. Las tareas son muy simples y realmente aprendes mucho. Te dejan con muchas ideas y aunque somos bastantes los que tenemos el sueño de ser escritores, nos deja con muchas esperanzas y motivaciones para el futuro. Me encantó que tuvieran la parte con los escritores invitados porque eso nos daba mucho más material.

创建者 Ariana Lipkind

Jun 29, 2018

I very much enjoyed this course! Lots of opportunites to write and learn about every area of writing and publishing. I wish there was more information on publishers/magazines. Most of the publishers that were listed do not accept unsolicited applications. Also, having more magazines listed would help people trying to publish shorter pieces than novels. It would have also been wonderful if we could have had at least one of our pieces reviewed by a professor. In general, I found peer reviews not very helpful. But overall, very satisfied with this course!

创建者 Naima Minhas

Jun 28, 2018

Takes you step by step to a realm otherwise considered difficult.