Chevron Left
返回到 统计基础

学生对 阿姆斯特丹大学 提供的 统计基础 的评价和反馈

4.6
4,137 个评分
1,028 条评论

课程概述

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

热门审阅

PG

Apr 20, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

AD

Jun 27, 2022

Instructors have provided concise explanations of the concepts. There are many examples considered that make statistics easier to understand! Also, the illustrations are fancy. I enjoyed every video!

筛选依据:

26 - 统计基础 的 50 个评论(共 1,017 个)

创建者 Keith C

Jul 5, 2018

I got to know about this course as it was a prerequisite for a MS in Business Analytics program I will be joining this Fall. I do have some background in this subject due to a previous masters degree, as well as work experience, but this course was an extremely helpful refresher of the basic concepts that one needs to know. What I liked most about this course was the crisp explanations provided in the instructional videos; without taking too much time in delivering the required message. I also liked the fact that the quizzes focused more on testing the understanding of the concept rather than expecting me to perform complicated multi-page calculations. Would recommend this as a very useful starting point for others like me. It would be helpful if some kind of a diagnostic exam was added at the start of the course so that students of different backgrounds could assess if they're ready for the course or not.

创建者 Sofia W S

Apr 12, 2020

Amazing course! I have learned more about statistics in this course than in my entire bachelor's and research practice. Some weeks (3,4 and 7) are a bit difficult and poorly explained: brace yourselves. Also, the R Labs are really helpful if your are interested in learning R programming as well. I've learned so much in this course (and in the other courses of this specialization) and this knowledge will be really useful when I start my research masters next fall.

If it's useful for someone: I completed this course in 3 weeks, because I'm in quarantine, so I'm not doing much work related tasks (covid-19 present here!)

创建者 Tripp W

Jun 16, 2020

The videos are phenomenal! Thanks for such a creative and thorough course.

My one recommendation for improvement - some of the formulas for different parameters were different between the course videos and the R environment in Datacamp. This led to some confusion.

创建者 Luis O C

May 12, 2019

It is a great course, I learned a lot but some recommendations.

The teachers should revisit some R classes, I found some typos and specially week 7 R Class, since most of the class are problems based on the videoclasses but more advanced, getting together topics already taught in a more difficult way, a class about all that is recommended, I understood almost nothing and it was more like guessing.

Some exams need extra explanation of the reasons why an answer is wrong or why the right answer is the correct one.

创建者 Susan M

Jun 23, 2016

Uses R with no explanation. Why does it use a challenging programming language that is not the point. The point is to learn statistics.

Use Statcrunch - so students can focus on statistics not programming

创建者 Ravi R

Mar 15, 2020

Definitely a solid introduction to statistics- I found that the course was broken down into nice, digestible chunks where every lecture consisted of explaining a single topic over 4-10 minutes that would be built on over the course of every module. The quality of the videos is good, and the lecturers do a good job of explaining the concepts in a clear and concise manner.

I invested easily twice (if not more) the stated weekly study time in order to internalize the concepts being presented in the course, and I would highly recommend others do the same if they want to get the most out of the course.

The only thing I missed were perhaps further practice exercises with solutions, beyond those covered in the lecture or practicals. That would be the only neutral point in an otherwise very good course!

创建者 Lola C

Apr 22, 2020

I really loved this course. I sat down for a week or so and dedicated myself to completing it, and I learnt a ridiculous amount from it. The videos are clear, and cover a wide range of areas within statistics. As long as you focus, and dedicate time to properly pay attention, write notes, give their examples a go before continuing the video, and to learn where you went wrong, you will find this course very useful! Though some videos seem like they could be more concise, their explanations and examples have allowed me to vividly picture the different concepts, and remember them! (ALSO) To be able to learn the basics of a programming language in such a short amount of time is great, and the labs really allow you to revise over the week's topics.

创建者 Eshaan G

Oct 24, 2021

This is by far the best course I have done on Coursera. The syllabus covered is very relevant and the tests and assignments are challenging and fun. I want to thank both professors and the supporting team for developing such a great course. Thank you!

创建者 Francisco M A C

Feb 20, 2019

This is an incredible curse. It has a lot of information, but they manage to deliver it in a dynamic, fun, and quite intuitive way, so it is really easy to develop an inner logic for all of the statistical concepts. Thank you very much.

创建者 Ivan I

May 2, 2022

The Content was really hard for a non English speaker. There were times where I couldn't clearly understand what was asked. Also the Datacamp Exarsises don't promp you when you need to stop before the next lesson.

创建者 Dimitra A

Jan 29, 2021

great course with good videos and examples. Very good course for learning the basic statistics. Unfortunately the week 3 is the most misunderstanding module, nevertheless very good and understanding

创建者 Pranay G

Apr 21, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.

Please allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

创建者 Pratiti S

Aug 27, 2020

Brilliant material and the professors are amazing! I thoroughly enjoyed the course and would rate it 100% easy to understand , difficult concepts explained clearly, lots of exercises

创建者 Mohammed R A

Mar 3, 2019

Excellent for understanding the basic concepts and designed for those who have no clue what R is..

创建者 pau v

Aug 6, 2018

This is great! Every single concept is explained in avery easy and intuitive way! I loved it!

创建者 Gustavo R

Sep 20, 2021

Excelente curso. Muito didático e divertido.

创建者 Bill G

Mar 1, 2019

Thanks for a great course. I really learned a lot. I came away with what I wanted: a basic grasp of key concepts in statistics that previously I had merely a superficial understanding of -- standard deviation, confidence interval, Pearson's r, etc. The video lectures were fantastic: clear, engaging, fun. I liked that I could pause them when I was confused on a point. A couple of criticisms, though. First, I found the r program frustrating at times. Sometimes it was used in a way that helped me to better understand the course's key ideas. But too often it was an exercise in guessing the obscure programing code to use. Since I'm unlikely to ever use the program again (and I suspect this is true of most students), overall I found the r programming of limited value. The other drawback of the course -- not your fault! -- was the same problem with all on-line courses. At times, I just wanted to ask a question or get a clarification on a point, but that just wan't an option. Finally, I think it would have been helpful had you provided an in-depth explanation of how to arrive at the correct answer for each question on the quizzes. For the quizzes, I was usually able to figure out the right answer (eventually), but not so for the final, which didn't provide any explanation as to why I got certain questions wrong. But, as I said, overall this was very good course. I got my money's worth.

创建者 Stefano C

Jun 15, 2019

This course was great to get an introduction of basic statistics and inferential statistics. The R exercises are great to test what you learned with practical exercises (in a real-life scenario where you have access to a tool like R). I cannot give 5 stars, because the chapters on probability are confusing and poorly explained: probabilities are one of the most difficult parts of statistics, so they require more pedagogy (with clear formulas to calculate conditional probabilities and step by step explanations)

创建者 Edward C

Dec 18, 2016

Overall, very good course. I thought the weakest sections were the ones taught by Prof. Emiel van Loon (the dark-haired one). I found him much less clear and engaging than Prof. Matthijs Roduijn (the blonde one). The R labs were fine for me because I have a background in programming, but people without that may need a lot of time to do them.

创建者 Rhiannon D

Nov 12, 2019

The probability section was super hard and not terribly well explained. I had to get help from my statistician friends in order to pass the probability density quiz and it was remarkably frustrating. Everything else was really good though. I like using R too, it's quite intuitive :)

创建者 Jonason G

May 14, 2016

Lovely accent, great lecture for the younger teacher. The older teacher really confuses me sometimes cos the language he used was very academic and hard to understand, besides he has a tendency to read other than lecture

创建者 Pietro F

Apr 6, 2021

Very good video material and exercises.

A little bit too much R lab exercise, in my opinion.

Some minor typing errors.

Thank you for all your work, I learnt a lot!

创建者 Genesis N M d F

Apr 25, 2022

I recommend this course for people like me, who has learned some statistitcs but find them kind of difficult to understand. Matthijs Rooduijn explained his classes pretty clear and I understood a lot more thanks to him. Emiel van Loon tried to explained the two modules of probabilities, and in my opinion it´s really hard to follow his explanations, you need a lot of patience for his two weeks.

In general, the course is pretty nice. I like the R lab exercises in DataCamp and you can check your mistakes on all quices and try them once again, what allows you to learn well.

I give 3 stars because, besides all the good stuff, the course has some mistakes on different exercises (in both quices and R labs). And the course doesn´t have mentors right now, or anyone to whom you can scream if you don´t undestand something. My personal recommendation is to do this course with someone else if you aren´t autodidactic, and have a lot of patience when a exercise is marked as wrong.

创建者 Mridul B

Jul 20, 2018

Some statistical things require explanation which was missing.

创建者 Daniel S

Sep 30, 2016

The lecturer does not clearly explain the topics very well especially on the topics in Probability and Distribution. His presentation in English is honestly quite hard to understand.