Chevron Left
返回到 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

学生对 加州大学圣克鲁兹分校 提供的 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的评价和反馈

4.6
2,504 个评分
658 条评论

课程概述

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

热门审阅

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

Oct 17, 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

筛选依据:

51 - Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的 75 个评论(共 646 个)

创建者 Shubham A

Nov 11, 2017

I strongly recommend this course to those who are interested in learning theoretical concepts that build Machine Learning statistics especially Bayesian. The course content was well organized and the professor presented the concepts in a very engaging way. Relevant and appropriate examples and in-video quizzes were very helpful in understanding the theory.

创建者 Aditya M

Feb 03, 2020

A great course to learn not only Bayesian Statistics, but covers statistics in general to a great degree. The best part is the exercise, which are almost perfect to learn the course material. After doing tens of MOOCs everywhere, I find this course unique in terms of pushing students to apply the concepts. I loved this course and enjoyed learning with it.

创建者 Suleyman K

Feb 12, 2020

This is one of the best online courses I took. This is coming from an ex-Professor who taught 13 years. The material basic and is brief, but to the point and very well organized and presented. Having some background in statistics helps as some important details are skimped. In a such a short time, I learned well the concept of about Bayesian statistics.

创建者 Ron A

Apr 12, 2017

Excellent course. Professor Lee did a first-rate job of giving the intuition for Bayesian methods and building the foundations for further study of the topic. The course is short and to the point, but that is a feature and not a bug. It will prepare you to take further courses in Bayesian statistics or to study the topic on your own. Highly recommended.

创建者 Lynn

Jul 24, 2020

I really enjoyed this course!

Lectures were clear and given at a good pace. Thank you for the effort at putting in comments for all the questions on the quizzes. This really cemented my understanding and this has been the first time I have really gotten through Bayes theorem, which has been my downfall in previous statistics classes.

Good job Dr Lee!

创建者 Dennis L W

Sep 17, 2016

Out of 15 online courses I have taken over the last 3 years, this is the best. Professor Lee presents rather difficult material in a clear, detailed, style. The lesson quizzes are remarkably useful; it seems real care has been taken in aligning the questions with the key points in the lectures, and in furthering one's understanding of the same.

创建者 Mark S

Feb 08, 2017

I found this course to be really useful. It did progress through the math a bit quickly for my liking, but it was paced very appropriately and the discussion forums were helpful. Excellent examples are contained and I loved how both R and Excel modules were leveraged. Looking forward to seeing more Bayesian courses on Coursera in the future.

创建者 Haozhe ( X

Apr 25, 2020

Great course for intro to Bayesian. Before deciding to learn bayesian, I expect to choose a course which could explain concept in a simple way but, at the same time, having enough practice. This course matches my need. After taking this course, I would recommend it to anyone who want to learn some bayesian for further machine learning studies.

创建者 David D

Feb 27, 2019

Really loved this course. I am relatively new to Statistics but very familiar with the rest of the mathematical tools used in this class (Integration, sets, etc). After finishing the class, I was immediately able to apply Bayesian Inference to my job. Things were explained well, and made sense after re-watching once or twice. Excellent course!

创建者 Polano M

Mar 11, 2018

Great introduction to Bayesian Statistics.

Prof. Lee uses the right approach with a theoretical introduction that helps to graps the concepts with a right balance of math and intuition. This was my first exposure to the bayesian approach to statistics and after this course I want to learn more, both on the pratical and the theoretical side.

创建者 TERENCE Y

Sep 19, 2017

An excellent introduction to Bayesian Analysis with some practical examples and applications. The lessons serve as a solid foundation towards understanding the philosophical underpinnings of the Bayesian approach to decision analysis under uncertainty. Thanks to Prof Herbert Lee for making the easy to understand without sacrificing rigour.

创建者 Brandon H

Mar 07, 2018

This is a great course! Much better (and cheaper) than the course I took in grad school. Full of practical knowledge, and isn't too overwhelming on the mathematics/statistical theory. It's just right. Good for anyone interested in Bayesian statistics, though some background with probability distributions may help climb the learning curve.

创建者 Natasha

Dec 27, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. The lectures were short and clearly explained, and particularly highlighted why Bayesian statistics is different and what is useful about it. I would have like a bit more walk-through on some of the derivations in weeks 3 and 4. More R exercises and further resource recommendations would have been useful.

创建者 Galley D

Sep 11, 2017

Outstanding course to understand Bayesian statistics. Teacher is very pedagogical and the course delivery with equations written on the transparent board make everything easy to follow.

As an area for development, I would have like more information on Bayesian linear regression in week 4, through background lecture or dedicated video.

创建者 Ayobami A

Jul 19, 2020

This was a great course! I had NO background in Bayesian statistics other than knowing the Baye's theorem but was able to get through and pass all the quizzes. You need to have some knowledge of probability theory though.mWatching and listening keenly to the videos, and going through the supplemental materials was extremely helpful.

创建者 Fedor T

Jan 21, 2017

Very clear lectures masterfully delivered by prof. Lee. The quizzes are good, if somewhat on the easy side. Don't be discouraged by the choice of R as the tool for assignments. R is flawed as a programming language, but you won't need to do any programming, only one-liners to evaluate various statistical functions and plot results.

创建者 Nathaniel R

Nov 21, 2016

This is the first online course I have ever taken so I don't have anything to compare it to, but this course was excellent! The lectures and materials were very clear and I will be adopting some of Prof. Lee's approach into my own teaching practice. The bar has been set very high for any future online courses that I will take!

创建者 Musa J

Aug 11, 2017

Herbert Lee's Tests are fun (Best!) to learn during the test! Lectures are succinct; Format of writing on the glass towards you and then flipped was right & original. Went on to try Kaggle problems independently. For usable feedback need tiny bit more on Poisson, Gamma, non conjugate intuitively & darker shirts as background.

创建者 Labmem

Sep 11, 2016

Good course. This course is quite challenging for people who don't major in math or physics. However, it isn't so difficult to understand as the post half of this course has a lot in common. In my experience, understanding the concept of priors and posterior estimation is the core of this course. Have fun learning this course.

创建者 Victor A

Mar 01, 2017

It's a great course, there is a lot of information and it might seem at times overwhelming, but it's organized nicely and prof. Lee has a very comfortable time explaining all the concepts. A few more examples would have made this course easier, but that does not mean it would have been better. It's as good as it gets

创建者 Theofilus H P

Aug 23, 2020

This course offers great explanations about Bayesian statistics. Although the course is a bit hard, by understanding each example provided in each lecture, I was able to grasp the basic concepts and ideas about Bayesian statistics. Also, I am now able to use R for Bayesian statistics thanks to this course.

创建者 Kevin L

May 25, 2020

This is a great course for anyone with no prior knowledge of Bayesian statistics. The instructor did a great job explaining the concepts and provided good examples. I also liked the quizzes and activities in R/Excel. I learned a lot from this course! I plan to take a few more courses in Bayesian stats.

创建者 John G

Oct 30, 2017

Prof Lee derived the formulas in an upbeat way, which helped me learn. I'd suggest putting the actual lectures into pdf for later reference, like is done for supplementary material. Homework assignments were challenging and educational. You might suggest a review of prob distributions as pre-requisite.

创建者 William P

Aug 03, 2018

Fantastic first course. The only concern I have is with the software choices. I have neither R nor Excel, but was able to easily use google Sheets. It might be worth mentioning to students that this is an option. There is even a stats package that claims parity with one of the listed packages for excel.

创建者 José R

Aug 23, 2020

The quizzes in the course are very well elaborated and designed to help you learn points and details not explicitly stated in the lectures. The contents and pacing are just about right for me. Perhaps the section on normal inference would need more elaborated as this part was the most difficult for me.