Chevron Left
返回到 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

学生对 加州大学圣克鲁兹分校 提供的 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的评价和反馈

4.6
2,356 个评分
619 条评论

课程概述

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

热门审阅

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JH

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

筛选依据:

101 - Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的 125 个评论(共 607 个)

创建者 Howard H

Apr 10, 2018

A very solid introduction to Bayesian Statistics. Lectures were sufficiently detailed and of excellent quality, and the problem sets supported and reinforced the material very well. I look forward to taking part 2 of this sequence.

创建者 Sergio D H

Sep 21, 2017

Great introductory course on Bayesian data analysis. The course is self-contained and the videos make a great job explaining the concepts of each lesson. I truly appreciated the practical approach either with R or Excel.

创建者 Alejandro D O

Mar 03, 2020

Excellent course. Prof. Lee is a superb teacher. The balance between class, exercices and tests is well achieved. I would certainly recommend this course to anyone aiming for a first encounter with Bayesian statistics.

创建者 Sandro P

Nov 21, 2017

Very interesting course.

For me the most interesting and important themes are about priors:

1) conjugated priors

2) effective prior size

3) how to choose a prior

4) non-informative priors

5) improper priors

6) Jeffreys priors

创建者 joari c

Feb 10, 2017

Very instructive introduction to Bayes reasoning. By attending all videos and completing quizzes, you get a reasonable understanding of the concepts and reasoning. Thanks to prof Herbert Lee and all the supporting team

创建者 Shiyang Z

Jun 12, 2020

This course is well-designed. A great introduction to Bayesian Statistics. I love the quizzes and short questions in the videos which help to understand the class materials. And the blackboard also looks cool haha

创建者 KK

Dec 01, 2016

Although I only spent less than one week to finish the course, I think it is quite valuable if you are interested in statistical inference and want to learn more specific in Beyesian Statistics. High Recommended.

创建者 Fabian M

Feb 20, 2018

The course manages very well to balance out comprehensibility and content. Professor Herbert Lee has obviously prepared the material very thoroughly and imparts the content of the course in an enjoyable fashion.

创建者 WU T T

Jan 13, 2018

I think the number of quiz questions is appropriate. They helped me to have better understanding of the content of this course. Teacher's lectures are brief and clear. I will take the next part of this lesson.

创建者 Padmeswar D

Jul 09, 2020

I liked the course because it is meticulously designed to help build on concepts in Bayesian Statistical Analysis. The Quiz's really helped me grasp the concepts as they fully supplement the lecture classes.

创建者 Vimos T

Aug 25, 2016

This course makes a lot of details clear to me. Thanks professor for this great course.

I still have one question, is the professor writing on a transparent board in inverse pattern? The technique is amazing!

创建者 Tobias H

May 01, 2020

Very interesting, mathematically driven course that dives right into the mathematical concepts that are necessary to understand the concepts of Bayesian Statistics without going too deep into the calculus.

创建者 Paul J

Apr 06, 2020

A very challenging course, but very well thought out and designed. Note - the videos were very well done, but in some instances, I found using zstatistics on youtube.com to be a good supplemental source.

创建者 Naehyun P

Jan 15, 2020

Very helpful for understanding the basic concepts of not only Bayesian statistics but also the basic knowledge of statistics, which will be very helpful for understanding other subjects using statistics.

创建者 Medha A

May 06, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. Honest feedback would be that the course should have included a coding assignment with a particular template. But all apart, it was a great learning experience. Thanks!!

创建者 Fabian S

Feb 17, 2019

A great introduction to Bayesian Statistics. For some of the Quiz questions, it would have been helpful to get an error warning in case one might had accidentally used a comma instead of a dot notation.

创建者 Raja F Z

May 24, 2020

instructor style and way of delivering lectures is very interactive and made this course very easy to understand, wit even a little knowledge of probability. Tank you very much instructor and coursera.

创建者 annalise s

Mar 25, 2020

it is a wonderful course. In this course, I have learned some basic theories and concepts for bayesian statistics and also do some applications with R programming. Highly Recommended as a intro courses

创建者 Alex T

Feb 19, 2020

Excellent first course in Bayesian statistics - definitely not too basic, but just at the right level that you can understand everything in the course without having studied Bayesian statistics before.

创建者 Jorge V C

Jun 02, 2017

A very complete and easy to follow course. It's very helpful for everyone who needs to work with data and has to take decisions about that. It also has examples in R and Excel. I strongly recommend it.

创建者 Alexandre H d S

Jul 14, 2020

It's an amazing course, I strongly recommend. It was like a complementary course for the Data Analysis course of my university, giving a wide explanation over bayesian analysis. I'm glad to finish it.

创建者 John H

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

创建者 Jose P C

Nov 07, 2017

I've learned how to process data and analyze data from studies, that's a wonderful ability I think everybody should try to learn in order to not get manipulated by the media. Thanks for this course!

创建者 Yiwen

Jan 25, 2019

The course if very informative but some previous knowledge and understanding of basic statistics (e.g., distributions) is recommended to fully grasp the concepts delivered through the course.

创建者 Jonathan H

Oct 06, 2017

This course is well prepared.

The videos are of high quality and the lessons are easy to follow.

I enjoyed the Honors content as well, that gives an extra challenge to those who want it.

Thanks!