Chevron Left
返回到 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

学生对 加州大学圣克鲁兹分校 提供的 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,734 个评分
451 个审阅

课程概述

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

热门审阅

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JH

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

筛选依据:

151 - Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的 175 个评论(共 440 个)

创建者 Jayant G

Jan 11, 2018

I had a great experience. It was lot more in-depth than I originally anticipated. In the tech world, Machine Learning is a buzz word and Bayesian based algorithms / models are the key and this introduces one to the fundamentals of Bayesian statistics. I was totally hooked on to this and the quizzes with real world examples really helped understand and apply the concepts. This course definitely requires maths background to be able to complete. Course provides lot of helpful materials and a pace that can be adopted based on your time and ability. Really looking forward for another deep dive in the near future.

创建者 Chiayu L

Dec 23, 2016

very great lecture

创建者 Naveen M N S

Sep 21, 2017

Very good course for fundamentals of Bayesian statistics. Made me understand Monte Hall problem, conditional probability, etc. in a totally different way.

创建者 Ignacio

Mar 13, 2018

Very useful course to get an understanding of the ideas behind Bayesian statistics and Bayesian inference. Not your course if you are looking for applied Bayesian inference.

创建者 Andrei B

Aug 28, 2016

Great course ! Simple and clear !

创建者 Matteo V

Jun 26, 2017

Great course that introduces the fundamentals of Bayesian Statistics. Useful for becoming familiar enough with the ideas to use in basic analysis provided you have some experience with frequentist statistical methods. For my studies, this course allowed me access to the Bayesian statistical material that is often encountered in phylogenetic analysis in bioinformatics.

创建者 Melvyn B

Jun 02, 2017

Professor Herbert Lee is world-class. The masterful and thoroughly outstanding presentation, organization and content of this activity are among the best of the best in any subject at any institution, whether on campus or otherwise -- more remarkably so for any senior undergraduate to graduate level mathematics activity, and most especially so in the broad field of Bayesian analysis. In summary: Extremely well-done and hats off to Professor Lee. I am thoroughly impressed.

创建者 Albert A M H S

Jun 29, 2017

Followed the course in order to fill a gap I had in statistics knowledge, as I'm very interested in machine learning - deep learning, and always came upon things as MLE without really knowing well what they were talking all about. Really a very good course to get an understanding! Well explained, though maybe you'll need to brush up your Algebra and Calculus a bit to be able to follow...

创建者 Edit T

Feb 12, 2017

A well-designed course with sufficient support materials and useful practice exercises.

创建者 Joseph G

Dec 18, 2016

I enjoyed the lecturer, the material is relevant, and the tests are well tailored to ensure you are absorbing the correct information.

创建者 Álvaro Q

Mar 28, 2018

It's a good introductory course to Bayesian statistics, a second part with Gibbs Sampling, Markov and MCMC would be nice.

创建者 Naseera M

Feb 12, 2017

Very good course. Prof. Lee explains each concept well. Bayesian Stats makes more sense to me now than before!!

Thanks so much Prof. Lee

创建者 思莹 王

May 08, 2017

It's very amazing!

创建者 Tú A N

Mar 20, 2018

Good start for getting familiar with Bayesian Statistics . I learned a lot .

创建者 Patricia B

Aug 01, 2017

Necessary concepts are reviewed to the necessary depth. This is a rigorous yet light material that presents statistics on university intermediate/advanced level.

创建者 Christoph J

Jul 28, 2017

Really enjoyed it. Right level of difficulty and very well explained

创建者 Davide V

Jan 21, 2017

Short but sweet. This course is a good introduction to the subject. I particularly liked the instructor and the design of the tests, which are really complementary to the learning material and are really helpful to put in practice the somewhat abstract theory. The supplementary material is also well done. It would be nice to have a course book to follow though as referring to videos is not always easy.

创建者 Harold X

Sep 22, 2016

The course content is concise and straightforward. For novices it is very helpful

创建者 Quanying L

Jun 29, 2018

The course is informative and clear. Thanks.

创建者 Ali B

Nov 26, 2017

The course is useful, especially for beginners in stat area.

创建者 Хожиматова К

Nov 27, 2016

Everything was perfect beginning from explonations and ending with materials

创建者 Pawel B

Apr 03, 2018

Interesting course providing you with a well-paced start into Bayesian Statistics.

创建者 Fabian S

Jan 18, 2018

A great introduction to Bayesian Statistics for everyone who has some basic knowledge of calculus and is familiar with the fundamentals of probability theory.

创建者 Gu F

Feb 16, 2017

amazing quizes, and you don't have pay to take them.

创建者 Laure N

Mar 06, 2018

Thank you very much for sharing your knowledge with the public. Now I am no more afraid to face the book 'Bayesian Data Analysis' by A. Gelman et al.