Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
4,992 个评分
1,022 条评论

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK

Aug 01, 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

筛选依据:

76 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 100 个评论(共 1,002 个)

创建者 Tom M

Oct 22, 2016

Thanks so much! Professor Kenneth Pienta and your team, you are so well prepared and the presentation is empowering. One is able to follow the step by step flow of information and tips. I enjoyed this course. As a health educator/promoter, it helps me act as a good source of information. Thank you once again.

创建者 José C C R

Jan 03, 2020

A great course with very interesting subjects related to origin of metastasis and how it currently affects comprehension of cancer and its spreading through human body. At the same time, teachers are capable of teaching these topics with relatively easiness, so that one can learn even without noticing it.

创建者 Luis A R R

Jul 18, 2020

Muchas felicitaciones al equipo que estuvo detras de este gran curso, aprendi mucho sobre la biologia del cancer y su tratamiento, espero se encuentren nuevas formas de poder erradicar canceres metastasicos que trae consigo muchas muertes y poder alargar el tiempo de vida de las personas. Felicidades !!

创建者 Anna R

Mar 11, 2018

A great course, very basic though. I haven't purchased a certificate as i only wanted to get familiar with the topic. Biology of cancer is very interesting to me but absolutely useless in my job)

So this course is absolutely designed for me - there is all important information given in a very simple way.

创建者 Fernanda D d S

Dec 22, 2019

Pensei em começar testando esse curso já que admiro muito a Johns Hopkins University e também por ter interesse em seguir me aprofundando no estudo do câncer e genética. Com toda certeza o conhecimento adquirido com as aulas será útil para meus próximos anos tanto na faculdade quanto depois dela.

创建者 Zhuneng Z

Nov 30, 2016

The course has a high quality. The teaching method is clear and easy to understand. Instructors also provide a lot of graphs which are helpful. Though the course is easier than I expected, I still think it's a good course for students who want to know fundamental knowledge about cancer biology.

创建者 Andy E L O

Dec 09, 2019

Excelente curso, muy didáctico, ayuda bastante a complementar ciertas bases de conocimiento sobre la oncología.

Los expositores de los vídeos realizan ejemplos sobre temáticas de cáncer de forma que uno pueda entender mejor.

Agradecido y con expectativas de realizar mas cursos por Coursera.

创建者 Rachel R R

Apr 17, 2017

Informative, organized, and targeted for learning. Dr. Pienta and the other Hopkins professionals involved in putting this course together did an excellent job and were engaging throughout. I hope more material like this from Johns Hopkins becomes available in the not-so-distant future.

创建者 �Sadman S R

Jul 09, 2020

A very useful course for learning about cancer, metastasis, cancer imaging, cancer prevention, cancer screening, cancer staging, and treatment. I found the name of factors and medicines a bit difficult because I was not familiar with them beforehand but those are not this course's fault.

创建者 PRIYANKA M R

Jul 16, 2020

It is an amazing course to understand the biology of cancer and get to know the present imaging techniques and treatment methods.The course has definitely inspired me to do more research in this field and contribute something to the society. Thank you coursera for such an opportunity!!

创建者 Rachel L M

Aug 08, 2017

Really sparked my interest into a field I thought as a kid I would never enjoy. (Mother was a nurse who ended up dying from cancer) I am starting the transition actually going back to school to study biology and genetics farther now. Thank you! Clear, quick and very informative course!

创建者 Luis G M d S

Jul 21, 2020

Amei o curso do começo ao fim, ministrado por profissionais de altíssima qualidade, curso de fácil entendimento mesmo para quem não domina totalmente o inglês, sem sombra de dúvidas contribuiu muito para o meu entendimento sobre o assunto e me ajudou a me aprofundar, muito obrigado.

创建者 Darwin D Z C

Jun 08, 2020

It's a really good option for someone who wants to learn the biology and treatments of many cancers around the world, all the lectures and information that I get is so important and is so specific, so I just want to say thank you for this really instructive and professional course.

创建者 Akinyi O

May 14, 2020

I wish there was a way to complete the course for those of us who didn't do this for a certificate. Now my course page will always show one incomplete course, even though I did all the classes, but couldn't submit the quizes and coursework because I couldn't pay for a certificate.

创建者 Gurjot k

Jul 03, 2020

I am thankful to the entire team for providing such detailed basics in cancer biology, which cleared all my doubts. Each and every week's lectures was well organized, planned and cogent. Thanks again for all the efforts. Looking forward to learn more in this field. Many thanks.

创建者 Mariana S D

May 10, 2020

Very nice introductory course! the lectures are easy to follow and the diagrams used are very helpful. Overall, I would really recommend this course to anyone who is thinking of going into cancer research or even Medicine students like me who wanted to know more about the subject

创建者 Elisa C M

Jul 26, 2020

Extremamente didático, sendo um curso ótimo para ter uma visão geral sobre o câncer. Muito bem planejado e contempla questões importantíssimas. Estou muito satisfeita, agradecida e com a certeza de que esse curso fará total diferença na minha graduação na faculdade de medicina.

创建者 Rohit P

Jun 08, 2020

Very well compiled information for anyone who is willing to invest a little energy into understanding cancer and it's dynamics. Might get a little complex for people with a non-medicine background in the last week but learn to ignore what you don't require and you'll be great!

创建者 Miss N A

Jun 10, 2020

This course really ensures me to get to the univerity in this related field which I do aim to be a doctor of medicine.In terms of knowledge, I believe the content is quite suitable for those who are beginners, like me, and the arrangement of these lessons appears appropriate.

创建者 Polina A

Apr 14, 2020

Amazing course. I enjoyed every bit of it! Although it is said to be for beginners, I loved that the course included more in depth information for those who are interested (for example, names of specific proteins, tumour suppressor factors, oncogenes, mutation, ligands etc).

创建者 Jessica A J

May 15, 2020

New NP, hoping to branch in the world of surgical oncology. I have a critical care background and took this course as both a refresher for some concepts and an introduction to oncology. It was very helpful and informative, I glad I did this as a type of independent study.

创建者 Andres C R

Aug 29, 2020

Im a biotechnology student who is looking forward to working towards finding a cure to genetic diseases such as cancer, and this course sets a really good base in cancer principles. I would reccomend 100% if you are interested in medicine, genetics or biology in general.

创建者 Mariia K

Jun 06, 2019

Sehr interessanter Kurs, alle Grundlagen der Biologie der Tumoren sind sehr ausführlich erklärt. Die Statistik bezieht sich auf die Vereinigten Staaten und ist ein bisschen veraltet, veranschaulicht trotzdem die Aktualität des Themas sehr gut. Ich fand es faszinierend :)

创建者 Víctor H

Oct 01, 2020

es un curso muy genial y interativo, abarca cosas puntuales y necesario que cualquier persona sea o no del campo de medicina pueda comprender y obtener conocimientos. he aprendido a reconocer a describir ciertos puntos básicos del tema llamado cáncer, se los recomiendo

创建者 Michael S M M

Aug 26, 2020

Excellent review about this disease, Thanks to all professors. I really appreciated each lesson even these contribute to my career where I'm constantly with patients, I consider a great tool to offer confidence about this disease is the knowledge you have about it.