Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
5,042 个评分
1,029 条评论

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK

Aug 01, 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

筛选依据:

176 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 200 个评论(共 1,012 个)

创建者 Pierre G

Mar 21, 2020

It is very useful , simple , and I am looking forward to take more courses , and I think it gives a proper introduction for whoever wants to start learning about cancer .

创建者 James M

Feb 22, 2017

Wonderful course. Very informative and exceptionally well designed. I have learnt so much that will help me with my work in Integrative oncology and botanical medicine.

创建者 Ramana M S

Jan 25, 2020

Course was grea!!!. Crisp, well framed, well presented covering every basic aspect to understand the cancer biology. I would recommend this to my friends and colleagues

创建者 Sarah Y

Oct 04, 2018

it's really an amazing course .the lecturers hit the points directly.

I just wish the next time you could provide a course that explain the molecular biology of cancer.

创建者 Shafi A T

Aug 29, 2019

It is a very informative and fundamental course for beginners aspire for cancer biology.Instructors are pretty good and explain the topic very well.Highly recommended

创建者 Anjana v

Apr 01, 2020

it was really a helpful class for me as a biotech student and i would like to have more classes in other areas.it help me to learn much more deep into cancer biology

创建者 Jamyang P

Aug 19, 2019

The entire lecture and construct of the syllabus was very simple and informative. I recommend others to kindly look up to this course and have a informative session.

创建者 Erin S

Jun 07, 2020

Absolutely worth it - boosts my CV yet fulfils my desire to know more about this topic! It helped me with learning content for my next year's modules in university!

创建者 Percy C M A

Aug 14, 2020

I really enjoyed with this course. It was a tremendous knowledge I´ve learned. Thank you for their times. It was very helpfull to me to understand what is cancer.

创建者 Ruchi G

May 22, 2020

I have learned many things on the topic of cancer and I think this course gave me more knowledge about cancer and it's risk factor and prevention and treatment...

创建者 NAVYA B S 4

Jul 14, 2020

Really loved the entire course. It makes even a person who doesn't have any knowledge about the subject understand the concepts very well. Excellent explanation.

创建者 Bharti D

Jun 26, 2020

Very interesting course! Lecturers explained all the course materials very well and made it very engaging through examples and illustrations. Highly recommended!

创建者 Bishnu B

May 06, 2020

It's great detail of knowing even for out of profession person. Learnt much about cancer, how it thrives and risk it tenders.

I am grateful for this opportunity.

创建者 sachin m

Jun 30, 2017

Very Impressed by the course content and the way the course was handled by the course instructors. Would like to take courses offered by Johns Hopkins in future.

创建者 Omar S

Dec 30, 2016

This course is absolutely ecstatic because the professor is nice and he always comes up with the smartest and most complex information a topic during the lesson!

创建者 AMANI A A

Oct 28, 2020

Thank you very much for the important and useful information. And please send me the scientific content, book or pdf, so that I can not refer to it at any time

创建者 Mahmoud E

Apr 20, 2020

This course took me from zero knowledge about cancer to a broad understanding of this disease, its causes, treatment, and screening methods. Highly recommended!

创建者 Monica M

May 19, 2017

Well put together! Great variety in experts leading the course. Amount and level of information shared was just right. I think everyone should take this course!

创建者 Shruti S

Feb 11, 2017

Thank you so much for providing such a interesting course, especially thanks for financial support, I will be always there for courser, cant forget the great he

创建者 CICERO S L F

Aug 05, 2020

Uma ótima oportunida com professores renomados e que sabem ministrar o conteúdo em conjunto com as aulas... Uma nova forma de d se aprender, excelente escolha!

创建者 Lillian L

Dec 04, 2017

Very good course. Although I didn't purchase the certificate, I still learned a lot. I would recommend it to anyone interested in cancer and how it is treated.

创建者 SWAROOP G M

Aug 19, 2020

The course was very informative and best for those who want to know the basic understanding of cancer, its classification, imaging types and treatment types.

创建者 Amara T

Jul 30, 2020

this course taught me alot of interesting stuff and I do recommend it for anyone who wants to get a better understanding of cancer, and what it is all about.

创建者 Ayesha A

Apr 21, 2020

I found this course very helpful and informative. Any student from life science background can easily understand this course. I highly recommend this course.

创建者 Stephen o o

Jun 11, 2020

The course instructors were very awesome I understood them perfectly this made me to really want to know more cancer as a biochemist in research field.