Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
6,382 个评分
1,247 条评论

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH

Mar 17, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AS

Oct 15, 2021

A didática do curso é excelente, os docentes conseguem, em poucos minutos, explicar diversos assuntos de forma simples. Além disso, o conteúdo é super completo e corresponde a todas as expectativas.

筛选依据:

301 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 325 个评论(共 1,235 个)

创建者 Komala R

Sep 11, 2020

i am thankful to coursera for providing me the financial aid . this course has helped me to gain more knowledge about cancer

创建者 Hugo P V

Jul 8, 2020

Perfect! I just loved this course! Brief, clear and didactic classes, with enough important content on the biology of cancer

创建者 BT19EEE078 O N

Sep 26, 2020

Extremely interesting and informative course that is great for an introduction to this subject and igniting your interest .

创建者 Kaunda W

Feb 16, 2020

Terrific overview! Great for individuals who are interested in the science of cancer, it’s biology and possible treatments.

创建者 Feather I

Oct 1, 2016

Great information. Excellent course that has left me wanting to know more and be a part of expanding treatments. Thank you!

创建者 Shah A R

Jul 8, 2020

This course is presented in a very satisfying way.I have learned so many new things that will help me in my future career.

创建者 nkosingiphile t

Jul 25, 2019

Good course indeed. I enjoyed the learning. I have learned so much in the course. Thanks a lot Coursera and Prof Pienta.

创建者 Akemi H S M

Aug 29, 2018

Muy bueno para adquirir un panorama general. Y tiene puntos que despiertan el interés para investigar de forma individual.

创建者 aamnadilshad

Aug 15, 2020

it was an amazing learning experience. i enjoyed my journey and videos were very informative and help me in my research.

创建者 Meghna P

Jul 25, 2020

This course not only was easy to learn and understand, but the faculty also helped in making leaning an enjoyable process

创建者 Paula F R S

May 21, 2020

Wonderful course, I was able to learn a lot about the biology of cancer. I have a broad and wonderful view of the course.

创建者 Udita G

Aug 2, 2021

Very informative and subjective course. I recommend it to all biology students for basic introduction to cancer biology.

创建者 Nicolas O

Aug 8, 2020

Best course I ever took on cancer. Thanks to all the doctors for all the knowledge they have passed on to us. Thank you!

创建者 Ishita H

Jul 28, 2020

This was such a fun and informative course. I'm really satisfied with the course material and guidance by the lecturers.

创建者 SARIDEVI S

May 19, 2020

The lectures and the quiz after every lecture are very helpful to attend the quiz. I really enjoyed learning this course

创建者 Irene K L .

May 2, 2020

Very interesting and made me learn more. Dr. Ken Pienta was really an inspiration to me. Thanks for issuing this course.

创建者 ksr K

Jun 22, 2020

Excellent course for learners who are really interested in Cancer studies and also the instructors were really awesome.

创建者 Ashlin M

Jun 17, 2020

well explained and excellent course.

I recommend others to take a look at this course to understand the basics of cancer

创建者 ANJANA J

Jun 7, 2020

It was an amazing experience.The short and precise details significantly enriched my basic knowledge of cancer biology.

创建者 Caline A d B

Apr 21, 2020

simples e efetivo em informações, dando uma base para avançar nos estudos e desenvolver conhecimento mais aprofundados!

创建者 Halima A M S A

Apr 20, 2020

A very well prepared course material. It cover the key knowledge about cancer. I enjoyed it and I learned a lot. Thanks

创建者 Jia B

Oct 15, 2019

This course gave me a whole understanding of cancer and I can’t wait to explore more specific fields related to cancer!

创建者 RASHMI S

Jan 2, 2021

It was an awesome course. I understood basic cancer biology in less than 6 hrs. It's highly productive and recomended.

创建者 Estefanía A G O L

Dec 26, 2020

Un curso muy útil para entender mejor el cáncer y aprender aún más sobre esta enfermedad que es muy común en el mundo.

创建者 Fahimehsadat S

Jul 23, 2017

I just want to say thanks a million, the course has been well designed and taught. all modules are really informative.