Chevron Left
返回到 Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python

学生对 路德维希马克西米利安慕尼黑大学 提供的 Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python 的评价和反馈

4.7
292 个评分
110 条评论

课程概述

Interested in learning how to solve partial differential equations with numerical methods and how to turn them into python codes? This course provides you with a basic introduction how to apply methods like the finite-difference method, the pseudospectral method, the linear and spectral element method to the 1D (or 2D) scalar wave equation. The mathematical derivation of the computational algorithm is accompanied by python codes embedded in Jupyter notebooks. In a unique setup you can see how the mathematical equations are transformed to a computer code and the results visualized. The emphasis is on illustrating the fundamental mathematical ingredients of the various numerical methods (e.g., Taylor series, Fourier series, differentiation, function interpolation, numerical integration) and how they compare. You will be provided with strategies how to ensure your solutions are correct, for example benchmarking with analytical solutions or convergence tests. The mathematical aspects are complemented by a basic introduction to wave physics, discretization, meshes, parallel programming, computing models. The course targets anyone who aims at developing or using numerical methods applied to partial differential equations and is seeking a practical introduction at a basic level. The methodologies discussed are widely used in natural sciences, engineering, as well as economics and other fields....

热门审阅

EL

Dec 20, 2021

Would have like more "empty" cells in notebooks for trying to establish loop one self and then having a "correct" output to aim for. Maybe followed by a solution cell with a correct implementation.

MF

Nov 26, 2019

A fascinating teaching technique, delivering quality content with a well-thought quizzes system! It' hard to find better courses in the domain of Finite Difference and Spectral Element methods

筛选依据:

76 - Computers, Waves, Simulations: A Practical Introduction to Numerical Methods using Python 的 100 个评论(共 109 个)

创建者 Fabian K

Jul 27, 2021

V​ery nice course with interactive questions in-between👍.

创建者 Omar B

Mar 15, 2020

I really loved the course. It is very didactic. Thank you!

创建者 Pongthep

Oct 21, 2019

The most intuitive materials in numerical method in waves.

创建者 Nithish V K

Aug 12, 2020

Amazing And Learned a lot from this course

创建者 Luis A D R

Jan 1, 2020

Great class, teach by a great professor.

创建者 Horst L

Jul 10, 2021

Great course and great presentation.

创建者 B.VEGESH

Jul 15, 2020

super I learnt a lot . good course

创建者 Melese T S

Jul 11, 2021

Very good presentation skill

创建者 Arijit S

Sep 18, 2019

very clear lectures...

创建者 Angela S

Jun 12, 2020

Excellent course!

创建者 Akash K

May 6, 2020

Excellent course

创建者 Camilo A M J

Jan 18, 2022

G​reat course

创建者 Richard A P R

Dec 19, 2019

Great Teacher

创建者 Souvik M

Mar 28, 2019

GREAT COURSE

创建者 ANKUR W

Apr 9, 2019

GOOD

创建者 Michail V

Feb 17, 2021

The video lectures are very well made and great effort is made to present concepts in an understandable way. The existence of the Jupyter notebooks greatly compliment the course's objectives. There is a lot of content and the author gives initiative to examine the given code with the follow along videos. The material is quite extensive and if someone wants to get into more details in certain parts they might be unsatisfied. However the course gives a good outlook of the methods contained.

创建者 Julieta D P F

Sep 5, 2021

I learnt a lot and really liked it, I only think that somehow they should grade the labs because you can pass the course without properly checking the labs and in finite elements the labs have some things that are just assume but not explained properly and there is a mistake in the simulation

创建者 Luca B

May 14, 2020

Overall, a nice overview of numerical methods to solving PDEs. Most positive aspects of the course: relatively concise, implementation-oriented. Most negative aspects of the course: examples all focused on wave equation + some concepts introduced too fast in the second half of the course.

创建者 Semeon A

May 27, 2020

The high quality course - videos with thoughtful presentation at the background and well explained Jupyter notebooks in Python. Topics beyond the course are mentioned in the last video in the best traditions of a good serial season. Waiting for the next season!

创建者 Robert H

Oct 27, 2019

Overall an excellent introduction. The Jupyter notebooks are a great format for these sorts of demonstrations. I do feel that the Finite/Spectral element segments would be more clear if they explained the mathematical derivations in more detail.

创建者 Mike C

Aug 19, 2019

It was a very interesting class on numerical methods. I think it can be improved if homework assignment were given to help reinforce the lectures. The material was taught in a logical order and I enjoyed the overview of each method.

创建者 Mohamed N

May 26, 2021

It's a nice course for someone who don't have a previous background about numerical methods, but there should be another course in which we tackle those concepts in more details because I felt that I lost in the mathematics.

创建者 Christian C

Oct 21, 2020

As someone who had prior but not so strong introduction to numerical methods, this course helped me bridge the gap between theory and implementation in code. Personally, I think the programming exercises are too few.

创建者 Kanishk B

Jul 5, 2020

I liked how the course was structured and well curated. However I feel it can be improved with more intuitive explanations of the numerous mathematical concepts introduced.

创建者 ABDUL A B T

Dec 2, 2021

Great experience. Really came to know about the theory of simulation techniques coupled with the introductory knowledge of python language.