Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,664 个评分
481 条评论

课程概述

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

热门审阅

SS
Aug 10, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N
Sep 25, 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

筛选依据:

376 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 的 400 个评论(共 478 个)

创建者 Kimberly F

Aug 22, 2019

I liked this class, but would have gotten more out of it had there been less conversation videos. I like some direct lecture to cement new knowledge.

创建者 Kaitlyn B

Aug 8, 2019

This was a good course that helped me broaden my POV writing style, though the assignments were difficult to do, and one was difficult to understand.

创建者 Keith G

Oct 3, 2019

I found the content useful but was irritated by how parochial the references to other writers were. There is a big wide world outside of the USA!

创建者 Avalon B

Jul 26, 2021

Good, challenging exercises. Would have liked more structure in the lectures and more specific tips that could be related to the assignments.

创建者 Geoff N

Feb 27, 2017

A well thought out course that was very illuminating. Not sure about the complexity of week 2's assignment, but overall good value.

创建者 Catalina v W

Oct 17, 2019

I found this course less informative than the Craft of Plot. A lot of the assignments seemed to have little to do with the videos.

创建者 Andrea G

Mar 23, 2016

I liked it overall, though there were some glitches and I was hoping that there'd be at least some feedback from course organizer.

创建者 Fernanda B

Oct 25, 2017

I loved this course, but sometimes the assignments weren't quite clear. Apart from that, the teacher is genius and it's great.

创建者 Iryna A

Aug 9, 2017

Even though I enjoyed the course, I found the description of the assignments sometimes very confusing and lacking in details.

创建者 J-Man

Oct 24, 2019

A helpful overall look at character but not particularly deep, still useful even for a refresher when writing something new

创建者 Chew W Y

Jun 21, 2016

The material is interesting and relevant. I found the assignments challenging and the review questions slightly lengthy.

创建者 BAVISETTY V P

May 8, 2020

Very good course..i loved the way the instructor handed this course.Especially,i felt the tips she had given were Gold.

创建者 Fernanda d C S

Jun 15, 2020

I would like to have notes from the teachers as well (not just from the students).Some further ideas or highlights.

创建者 ALESS D

Jan 25, 2021

good exercises, opend to questions and organized but with a lack of diversity in the ways they explain concepts

创建者 Max H

Jun 29, 2017

the assignment descriptions are very confusing so I'd recommend looking into the forums for help. decent videos

创建者 Ali N

Sep 19, 2018

Enjoyed the lectures, but the assignments were poorly explained and definitely could have been better.

创建者 Tanya D

Aug 22, 2020

This course is very informative, however, I do wish that quizzes were a part of these courses.

创建者 Sandra D

Jan 28, 2019

The course could have been delivered better, but I enjoyed the challenging assignments.

创建者 Bhakti S M

Jun 6, 2021

I learned a lot. It was an interesting course and gave a glimpse into whole new world.

创建者 Esther Z

Jul 30, 2019

A little boring at times but lots of valuable information on how to build a character.

创建者 Brooke B

Jun 17, 2020

Great course, but I do wish the actual instructors gave their feedback on your work.

创建者 Erick A

Oct 24, 2020

Muy buen curso, te da todas las herramientas básicas para crear tu personaje

创建者 Robert M H

May 4, 2018

n

e

x

c

e

l

l

e

n

t

w

o

r

k

s

h

o

p

t

h

a

t

m

a

d

e

m

e

t

h

i

n

k

m

u

c

h

m

o

r

e

a

b

o

u

t

m

y

c

h

a

r

a

c

t

e

r

s

a

s

c

o

m

p

l

e

t

e

beings

创建者 Margot R M

Jun 8, 2016

Liked this course. It helps to make sure character is central to the plot