Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,639 个评分
474 条评论

课程概述

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

热门审阅

SS
Aug 10, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N
Sep 25, 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

筛选依据:

426 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 的 450 个评论(共 467 个)

创建者 gabisamuel@ymail.com

Jan 12, 2017

I found the assignment instructions to be quite confusing. Some of the questions asked for the peer-to-peer reviews were very unclear. I didn't feel the course, overall, offered the same level of content and knowledge that the Craft of Plot offered.

创建者 Jeanette D

Feb 11, 2017

I think Judy Bloom is a brilliant writer. She is also an engaging instructor but I found it difficult at time to discern what the salient points or "take-aways" were from the lectures. I also found the assignment to be less than clear.

创建者 Gabriel T

Apr 6, 2016

I've got the chance to practice writing and I've learned some interesting insights, but I think the instructor didn't put too much effort into this course. All there is to it are 'shop talks' and too little structure.

创建者 Crystal M

Mar 19, 2017

I felt like the teaching was fairly abstract, and I had a difficult time figuring out how I was supposed to apply certain lessons. Overall, I did pick up several helpful hints, so the course was worth it.

创建者 Nathan B

May 15, 2018

I found most of the assignments very confusing and difficult to complete. It is a real challenge and forces you to really think, think hard and hope for the best. If you take the course, good luck.

创建者 Mahaba S A S

Jun 13, 2017

The course was very interesting and shed light on the specifics on character development. However, the questions in most peer-graded assignments were some times not suitable for the assignment.

创建者 Yash K

Feb 21, 2021

The course material is great, but the grading usually doesn't result in me getting good feedback. Most students just write "good" without expanding on how I can improve.

创建者 Dominique S

May 14, 2019

The information provided is great, but there's so many "shop talks" aka interviews with other Coursera instructors that it misses out on so many possible true lessons.

创建者 Lu O

Sep 4, 2020

Achei as atividades um pouco cansativas, e pouco intuitivas. Os vídeos mais longos e com momentos mais entediantes em relação ao primeiro modulo.

创建者 Emilio M L

Dec 2, 2020

I honestly didn't learn a lot more than in the first course of the specialization. Some of the assignments were a little off-putting to me.

创建者 Martha M

Mar 1, 2021

Most of the assignments had nothing to do with the lectures. The assignments instructions weren't clear sometimes and very confusing.

创建者 Sara A

Mar 18, 2018

The assignments are hard to understand and not well explained. They are also completely irrelevant to the lessons of the week.

创建者 Davide P

Sep 26, 2019

Has been a great course but I would have loved more readings and a little bit more formal rules to sketch our own characters.

创建者 Laura B

Dec 8, 2018

Good information in the videos. The assignments were difficult and didn't seem related to the material from the lectures.

创建者 stanislava o

Sep 23, 2018

I liked a lot of what was said. I wish I had some more concrete advice for building character - if such a thing exists.

创建者 Deleted A

Nov 16, 2017

Great material but students grading other student's work becomes a problem if they can prohibit another from passing.

创建者 Valarie K

May 12, 2016

Good course, but assignment instructions were difficult to understand at times and no examples were given.

创建者 Sanelisiwe E M

Nov 1, 2016

This course is beneficial to all those who struggle with character plot. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

创建者 Stephanie E

May 18, 2017

In the second course, the talks were not as useful for the assignments, particularly in week 2.

创建者 Hector M C L

Mar 6, 2018

It is good but I think the lectures are a little disjointed from each other and the exercises.

创建者 Digby D

Dec 3, 2017

Adequate intro course. Could gather roughly the same info with a bit of browsing the internet.

创建者 Paulene A

May 29, 2017

This course could use some work, but nevertheless I learned a bit more than I already knew.

创建者 ABHIRAJ S D

Jul 21, 2018

the assignments were poorly worded which is the opposite of the purpose of assignment

创建者 Jorge T

Aug 8, 2016

The excercises on the course are great, but the videos can be a little vague.

创建者 Jill B

Sep 9, 2016

Excellent lectures. Assignments were a little too "exercisey" for me.