Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,609 个评分
465 条评论

课程概述

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

热门审阅

SS
Aug 10, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N
Sep 25, 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

筛选依据:

451 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 的 458 个评论(共 458 个)

创建者 Hayeon C

Aug 6, 2020

It was quite simple but the tips are quite general. It is good for beginners. However, it was a good excersize and was fun in a way.

创建者 Patrick L

May 2, 2016

I didn't think there were many solid pointers...and not much that was original coming from the instructor herself.

创建者 Elaina J

Feb 1, 2018

The lessons do not seem to match the assignments. The instructions for the assignments are confusing.

创建者 Madison T

Oct 5, 2016

Instructions were very unclear compared to the rest of the courses in the specialization.

创建者 Melania D

Jul 25, 2019

I find that most of the time I don't know what is expected of me in the assignments

创建者 Juliana C

Mar 18, 2021

The course is really nice, but there is a lot of reading other people's books out loud and conversations and not a lot of practical support. The most useful piece of advice I got was on Week 2 from one of the discussions boards, which was actually hard to find because the discussion board is flooded with people requesting their material be reviewed, which brings me to the next point - I don't this the random assignment algorithm used by Coursera is very efficient. Many times I had to wait for a while to get my assignments reviewed. Also, because this is peer graded, there are a lot of people who are not taking the course seriously enough and provide crappy feedback. For the price of $49 it should be a much better course.

创建者 Palash B

Aug 12, 2017

I never received reviews.