Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,446 个评分
415 条评论

课程概述

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

热门审阅

SS

Aug 11, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N

Sep 26, 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

筛选依据:

76 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 的 100 个评论(共 408 个)

创建者 Sonia F

Sep 01, 2017

I've learnt a lot on this course specifically about character. I'm enrolled for all of the courses, as they are complimentary and some of the suggestions and tricks really make the difference to how I look at writing now. Thanks to Amy Bloom and her guests!

创建者 Hui J H

May 23, 2019

Auditing this course was a great insight to many writers' own method and approach to the ideas of character, dialogue and voice! It was incredibly informative and I will be trying these suggestions out in my own writing exercises. Thank you team!

创建者 Holly M

May 30, 2018

The second assignment is a bit confusing, but check the forums and it's better described. I loved the other assignments. I wish there was a bit more "teaching" and less interviews with authors. I loved learning about dialogue and point of view.

创建者 Chloedale C C

Nov 20, 2016

I feel very inspired especially learning from the interviews. Even when I know I can't afford the course, just watching and listening to the videos is enough for me. The videos are educational, hinting famous stories that I would love to read.

创建者 Khushboo K

Aug 24, 2020

I loved how Amy Bloom has inserted images in between the videos explaining about the craft of character. I love the eloquent description with examples that made the course easy to understand and I felt confident while doing the assignments.

创建者 William I H

Sep 15, 2017

Loved the lectures and the assignments have improved my writing. It's a course, like the Plot course, that I can see myself retaking and it being just as useful. Would love to see a follow-on set of writing classes here too ;)

创建者 Odirachukwumma A U

Mar 29, 2016

This is my best course in this specialization. The assignments were challenging and fun, and it also made me realize that I'm more of a character person. I find it easier to create a character then to write about the setting.

创建者 Sarwaswa

Mar 22, 2018

It was overall a terrific course which really made me to think things especially Week 2 and Week 3.

Great peers .

I always felt they gave me legit review for my work.

I look forward to come across all of you in next segment.

创建者 Zakir H M

Aug 26, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Learning various techniques to come up with an effective character is really fascinating! I thank you very much for offering and conducting the course that is instructive in many a way.

创建者 Sean D

Jul 23, 2018

Great course, although some of the assignment briefs could be clearer. I would definitely advise using the forums to help get advice form members and mentors and also search for assignment examples. Tough but rewarding.

创建者 Tulia G

May 07, 2019

Excellent course for having the first insights about the different kind of narrator, learning about how to build background and subtext in order to show our characters trough details, actions, and locations. Thank you!

创建者 Vimala

Sep 05, 2016

Just finished watching all the videos and it is excellent!

To say, 'well done' to any bit of good work is to take hold of the powers which have made the effort and strengthen them beyond our knowledge. Phillips Brooks

创建者 Pradyumna K

Jul 27, 2020

I found the course very well structured. It was easy to understand and added so much to my understanding of characters and point of view. The assignments were a little tough but I think that is only a plus point!

创建者 Tabitha R B

Sep 23, 2019

Got a LOT out of this one. I've really started to have the proverbial rubber meet the road, I'm discovering my voice better as a writer. Thank you so much for all the information you provided in this course!

创建者 jayne

Oct 22, 2016

This course has been unbelievably useful. It has exceeded my hopes. It is well taught and the assignments have really challenged me. I have learnt just as much by reviewing the work of others. Thanks so much.

创建者 John D

Dec 02, 2016

Terrific class that does a great job of teaching how to write believable characters. I also learned a lot about how to incorporate your characters in your setting and how to write different points of view.

创建者 Krysten C

Dec 31, 2019

Really loved this course. The assignments were challenging in their own ways, bringing you out of your writing bubble and getting you to really think about your characters and how to bring them to life.

创建者 NANDITHA M 1

Sep 26, 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

创建者 Eneida A M

Nov 02, 2016

In this course I learned how to build characters traits and bring them to life. I also learned about POVs and the difference between them. I wrote, rewrote and did it! A special thanks to Amy B.

创建者 R.K. M

Jan 24, 2018

This course had great focus and helped highlight and give remedies for a number of areas where I need a great deal of improvement. Both the instruction and the peer review was very helpful.

创建者 natcha w

May 24, 2020

This course is recommended for everyone who wants to start writing story, fiction or novel. It gives you the opportunity to create characters and teaches you how to make them come to life.

创建者 Shreya J

Aug 28, 2020

It was a truly amazing course because explaining the intricate details of what makes a person, what makes a great character is no easy task but with the great tutor it was quite splendid.

创建者 Janet S

Jul 20, 2017

Excellent course. I didn't know what to expect when I started. I was very pleasantly surprised at both how challenging - and rewarding - I found it. Amy Bloom was brilliant. Thank you!

创建者 KUMAR V

Aug 12, 2020

An exceptional course with a great insight into the creation of characters in creative writing. Heartily thanks to Amy Bloom and the team for such thorough guidance through the course.

创建者 Anjum

May 21, 2017

The course is excellent and I want to learn more. I enjoyed the first assignment and was disappointed when I couldn't submit the first assignment because I hadn't purchased the course.