Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的评价和反馈

4.7
4,257 个评分
1,435 条评论

课程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

热门审阅

SD

Jul 13, 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

BM

Nov 4, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

筛选依据:

1101 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 1125 个评论(共 1,432 个)

创建者 ENIOLA S

Jan 27, 2022

Great

创建者 Kaneria j R b

May 17, 2020

janvi

创建者 mohamed m

May 12, 2020

goood

创建者 Ryheb Y

Apr 12, 2018

Great

创建者 Kieuanh d

May 22, 2021

good

创建者 trangdthsa140215

Apr 5, 2021

good

创建者 wisdom f

Oct 10, 2020

Good

创建者 Favour O

Oct 10, 2020

Nice

创建者 Aniketh D

Jun 18, 2020

nice

创建者 Nay W L

May 8, 2020

nice

创建者 sameer k

Oct 5, 2018

bj

创建者 Renz M

Jun 26, 2021

创建者 LanNTHSS150024

Jun 5, 2021

创建者 Javairia N

Sep 13, 2020

.

创建者 Henry W

Aug 23, 2017

T

创建者 Anais S D P

Sep 20, 2021

Me gustó el curso. Si te lo tomas en serio puede ser muy enriquecedor y gratificante. Uno de sus puntos más fuertes, me temo que, también, es aquel en que más flaquea. El poder tener una retroalimentación por parte de los pares del curso es muy enriquecedor, tanto para la persona que la recibe como para la persona que la hace. A mí, personalmente, me motivó mucho saber que había gente leyendo mis cuentos, que tenían opiniones sobre mis personajes y que podían reportarme si habían disfrutado o no la lectura. En consecuencia, fui mejorando la calidad de mis escritos en cada entrega, ya no solo preocupándome de que tuvieran la estructura básica, que el curso pedía como requisito, sino también en hacer algo que lograra suscitar alguna emoción en mis lectores.

El punto débil de esta dinámica es que algunas de las opiniones recibidas son realmente mediocres. Incluso en mi última tarea, que para mí fue la más importante, recibí retroalimentación de una persona que simplemente colocó "Yes" en todas las casillas. Para las personas que tienen la mala suerte de recibir estos comentarios, significa una experiencia muy frustrante después de haberle dedicado tiempo y empeño a su trabajo. No sé si la solución a este problema tendría que ver con fiscalizar las retroalimentaciones o alguna implementación de otro orden, pero, hasta que se solucione, es sin duda el aspecto más decepcionante del curso.

Aún así rescato la oportunidad que entrega Wesleyan University con este curso. La información es entregada de manera muy clara y precisa, y, en general, es un gusto para cualquier escritor encontrar un espacio de tan fácil acceso para seguir aprendiendo sobre este bello arte.

创建者 Swagata M

Jun 14, 2021

T​he course content is excellent, so is the instructor. As a beginner, I learnt too many things from this course about the craft of creative writing. From the ideas of plot, character and storylines, it successfully explains to its learners the proper ways to create a scene, constructing reliable characters and finally developing the story by concocting successive scenes. The assignments are so intelligently crafted that they help the learner accomplish all the goals promised by the course.

The only reason I am giving it 4 stars is the quite unsatisfactory experience of having my assignments reviewed by peers. After working hard on an assignment, it feels quite unfair when a peer gives a point with one-word answers or often without stating any review/feedback/comments explaining how my writing was. The system of peer-reviewed assignments itself needs to be reviewed by Coursera authorities. The best option would be the instructors themselves giving reviews. An alternative could be Coursera appointing a separate panel/group of reviewers able and accomplished in the field. Without honest and effective reviews, learning always remains incomplete.

Otherwise, the course gives excellent motivation and training in the craft of creating writing.

创建者 Wanda J

Jun 23, 2017

I enjoyed this course very much. The professor's lectures were easily understood and followed, and the guest speakers made each module much more clear. My only problems with the course were actually not with the course itself, but rather with the way the course is presented. Some things have been changed since the last time I took a Coursera course, namely the discussion forums, and personally I don't like the change. (Maintaining the same discussion forum, rather than having a new one for each successive group of learners. ) Learners are already being presented with a lot of information which, in some cases, can be difficult to grasp, and now they are also being asked to search through the forums to find someone they can ask for help, who may or may not still be around. Between that and trying to figure out where/who to ask for reviews so that you can get a grade for your work, it's a bit frustrating, All in all though, it's a good course.

创建者 Yuko M

Sep 21, 2017

Great course with clear instructions mostly by watching a video (with text). I truly enjoyed this course and how thorough it was. I especially like the structure of the video--introduction, example, and interview with a novelist. Contrary to the course description, it's not meant for non-fiction writers. It's meant exclusively for aspiring novelists. I would recommend this course if you are a beginner. Intermediate or advanced students would find this too basic. It's beneficial mostly if you want to earn a certificate and mention it on your resume. If you're looking for a comprehensive course, I would look elsewhere because the course only touches the surface. Workshopping lacked constructive input from peers so if you're looking for peers to review your work, don't count on it. Teachers don't critique your work either. But, overall, course is well made, clear and a great boost for aspiring writers (beginner stage, though).

创建者 Julio B

Oct 13, 2020

Among the best online introductory plot courses you're like to find. Brando Skyhorse is an outstanding teacher and writer. And the guest lecturers were outstanding as well.

As a teacher myself, I thought some of the assignments needed some tweaking, but, overall, they were solid exercises. And the students seem lovely.

Suggestions:

1) Make it a LIVE WORKSHOP style class. It would make for a lot of fun. Of course, you'd need the teacher present and interacting with the students, and that might prove problematic and impractical.

2) Make a certain level of English language proficiency a prerequisite for enrolling in the course. This is probably impractical as well given the open access nature of the course, but it would make understanding the stories less challenging. Still, I love the open access aspect of this offering, because I love interacting with students from around the world, both as a student and lecturer.

创建者 Jay K S

Jan 24, 2022

I really enjoyed this course. I feel that I learned some valuable lessons. Top takeaways for me are:

1) include an action in the first paragraph

2) ABDCE

3) 21 point editing checklist

The one improvement I would suggest is including the rubric with the assignment. A couple times during the course I was not clear on what the assignment was, and I left out simple things. For instance, on the last assignment, I did not include two questions for my reviewers. This is because I misinterpreted the assignment. I thought I was supposed to get one or two "trusted reader" to help me with the editing process and give them the two questions rather than include the questions in the assignment submission. I did not learn I was wrong until I read the rubric to review other people's assignments. By then it was too late for me ta add the questions to my assignment.

创建者 Elizabeth P

Aug 8, 2020

I learned a lot about the basics of creative writing through this course. If you're thinking of writing, but you're not sure where to start, or if you have been writing a while but need more direction, this is a great course to take. The instructor, Brandon, explains the concepts in a way that's easy to understand and uses examples from common literary works. My only problem with the course is the peer review system. It's a great opportunity to reflect on your own writing while reviewing others' work, however I feel that not many people took advantage of this opportunity. I've had some good feedback, some not so helpful, and some people who just put a single letter "z" in the feedback answer boxes just to get through the peer review section. Maybe implementing a minimum word count for the peer review would help.

创建者 Ryan K

Sep 16, 2020

Brando's guidance through the course was insightful and easy to digest, and the module assignments were enjoyable. Some of the 'Shop Talk' videos felt a little unstructured and it wasn't always evident just what they added to the learning experience -- other than reinforcing the topics described in the direct teaching segments.

The primary challenge with this course is the feedback system. Even though the approach to feedback is detailed in a standalone video, the substance of each review varies from one-word answers that offer zero tangible feedback, to detailed responses with a clear understanding of the course material. This is ultimately a critique of the Coursera platform, however as peer feedback is a vital part of this course, more emphasis could be made on the value of offering a substantive review.

创建者 Peter P

Sep 25, 2016

This "Craft of Plot" class--taught by Mr. Skyhorse--covers the ABDCE method, the 21 point checklist, etc. Stories written in this class must have dialogue, at least ten points of rising action, and must begin with an action sequence. No, this is not an "organic" story writing method. This class teaches students how to use formulaic writing to artificially engineer stories efficiently and effectively. I was very disappointed with this class. I enjoy reading literary fiction, especially stories in The New Yorker. So it is no surprise that I was appalled by Mr. Skyhorse's strong focus on, and praise of, the Harry Potter book series. If you plan on writing formulaic genre fiction, then perhaps this class is for you. Even though I disliked the class, I must admit it was well taught, hence the 4/5 star review.

创建者 Yogesh N

Mar 10, 2016

The video lectures are very nicely done. They outline the basics of how a story line (Plot!) should be, how the characters should be developed and how scenes should be depicted.

The tips given are practical and clearly defined - even for noobs

The course motivated me to write, to refine my thoughts while writing and since there was always pressure of peers reviewing my work - I always revised what I wrote. I discovered that revision helps immensely, and I found I could express the same things in better ways and using lesser words

Some students did have difficulties in understanding assignments - something that can get better with time. Also, I felt some learners received the brunt of bad grading since the grading guidelines weren't clear. Shaving off 1 star due to that