Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的评价和反馈

4.7
4,290 个评分
1,448 条评论

课程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

热门审阅

SD

Jul 13, 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

BM

Nov 4, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

筛选依据:

1426 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 1446 个评论(共 1,446 个)

创建者 David K

Aug 12, 2021

I didn't get any feedback

创建者 Juliana C

Feb 17, 2021

The course is interesting, but the videos are not enough. The instructor is charismatic and friendly. I received very poor feedback from peers ('yes/no/good' answers without any useful information). I did get some useful feedback. And on the last assignment, the program algorithm doesn't match a reviewer which could force you to pay another month, just to get the last review and the certificate. The course is worth the $50, but the review/feedback system is terrible. I will not proceed with the remaining 4 courses (which would mean spending an additional $200). This is very sad, as I was excited about taking writing classes online. Maybe they can limit the number of participants and add a few TAs/mentors to give more valuable feedback.

创建者 Joe F

Jan 27, 2022

While the content of the course itself is potentially helpful, I found the feedback from peers abysmal. I invested in thoughtfully reviewing the work of others and got back blather as feedback; nothing actionable. And peer feedback is the main reason I would pay for a subscription! I could get comparable or better content from a book, blog, or free online videos.

After viewing comments on the "Community," where concerns go unanswered by Coursera staff, I realized poor feedback is something of a norm now. It's too bad. This platform had potential.

I'm going to cancel before the 7-day trial ends. Simply not worth my time or money.

创建者 Nikole H

Jun 3, 2022

I felt like the instructional videos offered a pretty general introduction to the concepts, and didn't feel sufficiently prepared to complete the different assignments. The "What's Up, Doc?" assignment felt like it was the one with the clearest instructions and structure, so expectations were clear. For the others, it was very challenging to understand what we were supposed to write. I think it would be helpful to provide more examples (like in the "What's Up, Doc?" assignment) to provide clearer instructions for students.

创建者 Neha J

Jul 28, 2021

I​t was a well paced course. Though for people who are reviewing the stories, i find that i wasnt very helpful when it come to evaluating the story and i felt those who rated my stories were not very critcal. they probably didnt know how to be. I feel for a course like this there should be an instructor evaluating the assignments. otherwise this course isnt very useful!

创建者 Veronica K

Jul 19, 2021

The videos are useful, but the peer-graded system of assignments is not. I don't think that the feedback from people with the same (or worse) writing skills is in any way helpful. I've had to review very poorly written pieces, and I don't think that being reviewed by their authors in return can enhance my writing skills.

创建者 Sofía G M

Aug 6, 2020

I feel like, even though it is a course about PLOT, they should give you suggestions and advice when it comes to developing other parts of your story (characters, for example). Also, I think there should be multiple SHORTER activities for us to practice more instead of just one HUGE assignment at the end of each lesson

创建者 Jennifer G

Aug 16, 2020

The pre-recorded lessons were good, but the assignments were unhelpful, as the peer critique process is highly flawed. Students need opportunities for professional critiques and face-to-face encounters with a cohort or associate professor...someone with some credentials or skin in the game.

创建者 Paulo S

Mar 29, 2016

I hope the instructions were cleary and not too vague that it was open to many interpretation. An example would have helped and the rubrics/criteria for grading should have been shown beforehand so students would be guided what points they would consider when making their piece.

创建者 Akshat J

Jul 1, 2020

Not all assignments were related to what was covered in the lectures, they were actually quite random. I enjoyed the course but I think I would have learned much more had this not just been about the very basics and discussing film plots! We already know that

创建者 Rachel C

Apr 17, 2021

Did not find this course engaging, definitely struggled to finish

创建者 Nathan A L

Jun 6, 2022

There is absolutely not logic to Coursera's websites. There are no instructions for how to access other student's assignments to review them. There are no instructions explaining why some students are able to link their assignment elsewhere for "anonymous" review. For a business that also has courses on simplying apps and websites, Coursera is a joke. Also, many of the transcriptions are so poor, they defy basic grammar and spelling rules that even a seven-year-old would catch. Either make proceeding through your courses simple and logical or continue to lose students like me who don't have an MIT computer science degree. Shame on Coursera!

创建者 Kathleen B

Jun 27, 2019

I completed my four assignments...I reviewed the work of others. Every time I log in I get a message that tells me I can finish in another two hours.... Finish what? I think I am finished, and can't find what more is required. I contacted Coursera. I chatted...the lady told me I was finished and that I would get a grade. I haven't gotten a grade.

So I'm out of here. I loved the coursework. It was excellent. I absolutely hate the website. Udemy works!

创建者 Derek S

May 6, 2022

I thought that by paying for this course, there would have been at least some sort of tutor feedback, however minimal. But there is none whatsoever, only fellow students review your assignments. These people, with all due respect, are not professional writers/professors and therefore their opinions do not really carry any weight. Total rip-off.

创建者 Song L

Oct 27, 2020

I only wanted to try the course but was charged $49 and non refundable! as soon as I heard the instructor started to talk about Harry Potter I was not interested and wanted to quit. Why was I charged $49 and cannot unenroll, and found nowhere to contact Coursera for refund?! This is cheating.

创建者 Helen C

May 11, 2022

P​lagiarism abounds! After giving much thought (and a good rating) to the first piece I peer reviewed, imagine my disappointment when the second piece was nearly identical to the first. And I've already submitted my own original work into this system, likely only to be copied by others.

创建者 Hamidah B

Feb 16, 2022

This is not something I am looking for. I want to learn how to write non fiction not a novel

创建者 Kirollos s

Jun 8, 2021

It unfortunately didn't help me as it didn't show any kind of helpful methodology to follow.

创建者 Natalia M O

Apr 13, 2021

Me quiero dar de baja y no encuentro cómo hacerlo. Me pueden ayudar por favor.

创建者 Prasad S J

May 11, 2021

please unrolling this courese

创建者 Diana Y

Jan 27, 2022

not what i was looking for