Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Style 的评价和反馈

4.7
1,047 个评分
304 条评论

课程概述

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

热门审阅

MS

Apr 18, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LJ

Dec 17, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

筛选依据:

226 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Style 的 250 个评论(共 298 个)

创建者 bishwaksen b

Feb 1, 2018

Very very helpful

创建者 Deleted A

Sep 3, 2016

Best course ever!

创建者 SAIBAL C

Jan 14, 2021

Great experience

创建者 Tim J

May 26, 2017

Excellent class!

创建者 Patricia R

May 16, 2017

I love it! great

创建者 Amy G K

Jan 29, 2017

Awesome class!!

创建者 Yunus Ç

Jul 17, 2020

Thanks for all

创建者 LE M D

Nov 19, 2020

Thank Teacher

创建者 FORERO P D A

Jul 20, 2020

Great tecaher

创建者 Judy W W J

Mar 26, 2019

Great course.

创建者 Hui J H

May 29, 2019

Thank you!

创建者 Max M

Aug 5, 2017

Thank you!

创建者 Daniel C

May 20, 2017

Great job!

创建者 Iris R

Jun 28, 2016

Thank you.

创建者 Priyam G

Jul 7, 2020

Thank you

创建者 Carreen P

Nov 23, 2017

Fabulous!

创建者 Martín G

May 1, 2022

Love it

创建者 Sana N

Oct 20, 2020

Amazing

创建者 Michael

Dec 21, 2016

amazing

创建者 Deleted A

Feb 20, 2022

love

创建者 LyNKHE150301

Apr 22, 2021

gud

创建者 Ada

Jan 21, 2018

I enjoyed Salavatore's lessons, video and reading materials. I have ended up following the thread started in the videos and researching more from those rather modest starting points .

The better a video lesson is the more I am left feeling it could have been even more, given a little more, a longer, less compacted teaching/learning curve.

Most importantly, direct input and/or contact with the professors would be beneficial, as ell as getting reviews and feedback from QUALIFIED STAFF.

This aspect of the course had not been made clear before signing up, I found out about it while doing the first of four courses, accepted it and carried on through all 4. Having anyone read our work is great and hard to come by, but having a professional, at least from time to time - now that is what learning is really about.

Way back when I was still a student in London I remember noticing the beginnings of this trend in the university I was at: "peer feedback" and "peer learning" became all the rage, the new buzz words. And yes they are very important elements of the learners experience, but they should complement, rather than substitute the process.

It is so very convenient to have learners teaching one another, both in an online as well as presential course, not the least because it decreases the time and money spent on a qualified teachers. The fact that this details is overlooked in the course description shows that it is a sensitive topic and that it might put a number of potential learners off.

The course has value and brings satisfaction as well as surprising (self) revelations. Therefore it can afford to be more transparent.

To cut this short, why not re-introduce the qualified staff and make this an even more valuable experience? Paying for a course should not leave learners feeling we are being saved on by an educational institution or that only paying a little more would afford us teacher feedback.

创建者 Maria J d C M

Jul 25, 2021

(+) Great course for the self-paced, self-managing student. The instructor is incredibly erudite and poetic, which made this module more challenging for me (beginner). I felt that this module requires a mastering of basic knowledge that I didn't have, as a beginner, and despite having gone through all the previous courses. Perhaps this is why it's the fourth course in the specialization (though one can take them in whichever order one likes) - the degree of difficulty of the subjject goes up as one moves on. The assignments were also the most challenging, but that, to me, made them more interesting; one needs to push oneself more, go back and review what was taught in the other courses in the specialization.

(-) The peer reviews remain the major minus of this and other creative writing MOOC courses. The tips on how to improve one's writing, provided by mentors, are excellent but rare, in my experience. The reviews by by beginners like myself - doing the best one can, offering constructive detail advice within our limited know-how and experience - are helpful but a small a minority. Many are too brief, or consisting of monosyllabic answers ("good", "great", "ok", etc.) I suppose it's part of the creative arts MOOC experience, all the people that with moderate to little interest in the subject that just want to fast forward their way to a relatively inexpensive certificate - no expense tuition and living costs, no stringent admission requirements - by a good university...

ALL IN ALL a good experience like the rest of the courses in the specialization. Recommend it to all ambitious beginner / beginner plus writers, with a word of caution about peer reviews - don't expect a fraction of a live class or work group.

Last but not least: THANK YOU to the teacher, course mentor M.L. Barnes, and the peer reviewers who took the time to write constructive critique!

创建者 Deleted A

Jan 15, 2017

I liked the course very much. For a foreign speaker, though, I found it particularly challenging. The nuances of words are particularly important when dealing with matters of style, and I struggled through the exercises, which I found a bit more "abstract" than those in preceding courses of this series. Maybe it was just self-consciousness... In any case, because I encountered this struggle, the course was helpful in making me think about how do I want to pursue my next steps in the process of creative writing -- should I continue in English, or should I try, instead, to do it in my native language? I am sure this is a question that many other students have asked themselves. I shouldn't conclude without saying that I do recommend the course, in any case.

创建者 Alice L

Feb 25, 2022

The video presentations are excellent. The interviews with the various authors who share their experience and who provided key advice to improve a narrative were invaluable. I found this course especially valuable for tools to help with revision. My only complaint is with the peer review process. With my last assignment for week four in spite of conducting eight reviews of my peers' work, I only received two reviews and one of those reviews did not provide any helpful comments. I also noticed that of the eight narratives that I reviewed, two appeared to be "fake". The submitters did not follow the guidlines for the assignment. Were they spammers or hackers?