Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Style 的评价和反馈

4.7
1,047 个评分
304 条评论

课程概述

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

热门审阅

MS

Apr 18, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LJ

Dec 17, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

筛选依据:

51 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Style 的 75 个评论(共 298 个)

创建者 Shalini . S

Nov 14, 2018

This was a particularly difficult course among the others. Expectations were higher, assignments were tougher, but it helped me immensely in writing better. Polishing my writing and editing. My writing has become crisp, and specific. I am more confident as a writer now.

创建者 Joe M

Mar 14, 2019

Course 4 of 5 for me in this specialization.

All of these have been fantastic and this one was another example of how great and informative these courses are. Once again I was made to think very critically of my own writing and start thinking about how I want to write.

创建者 Ole D J

Mar 19, 2018

Awesome course.

Can feel the missing pieces slowly fall together in my writing for every assignment.

So happy this and other related courses were made available on Coursera.

Will mention the author as well as this course in my first book if I manage to get it published.

创建者 Tania M

Nov 13, 2020

Este curso me sirvió para mejorar significativamente mis técnicas de planificación y escritura de novelas de ficción. Enfocado el fortalecimiento del estilo propio del escritor, el tema es tratado de una forma precisa pero pertinente con el tema. Lo recomiendo.

创建者 John T

Jun 3, 2021

A​s with the entire Creative Writing certification, great course. Amazingly well thought and put together, in my opinion. I actually feel like I know how to write fiction now, which I wasn't convinced I could do before taking the course. I feel very fortunate

创建者 Aditya R

Jul 20, 2020

A very brilliant and thorough course. Salvatore introduces us to various aspects of Style and how to use language effectively, moving away the focus from only rich vocabulary. I highly recommend this course who is searching for that X-factor in their writing.

创建者 Orjuwan M A J A

May 29, 2020

I just want to thank professor Salvatore Sccibona for such a wonderful course , he has a great technique in teaching , I am so happy that I have joined his class , thank you all for such a wonderful experience

God bless you and be safe

best regards from Iraq

创建者 Egill P

Dec 27, 2019

I find all the writing courses in this specialization to be very rewarding, especially for people who want to further themselves on any level of writing. Be it a better email, essay or short-story the teachers here a really great a big thumbs up to them.

创建者 Jennifer L C

Jul 4, 2017

The Craft of Style and the course on plot are the two strongest offerings in this specialization. I really enjoyed the exercises, and I stretched my creative muscles, all with assignments that were clear and well explained. This is an excellent course.

创建者 Liliane M

Mar 9, 2018

I cannot the learning of this specialisation enough. So far it has been an amazing journey, which I could never had taken on my own. It has opened my eyes to an entire new universe. I have had my convictions turned upside down. Thank you all.

创建者 Emily F

Jun 21, 2016

This was a great class. I really learned a lot ... this is the type of class that will change someone as a writer. The quotes, the diagrams, the instruction, the assignments, the book recommendations ... everything was great. Thank you!! =)

创建者 Yasmine A M

Feb 15, 2018

A great course, I learned a lot about style and how to keep the balance between showing and telling. I learned the power of the words, and I am trying to work on enhancing my verbal expressions to choose the right word for the right spot.

创建者 Muthukumaran C

Jul 31, 2020

The course was very helpful in bringing out the creative writing ability within me. The language skills were also fine tuned through the course which would benefit in my future prospects. Thank you for designing this amazing course.

创建者 Carol S

Jan 7, 2019

This course demonstrated more clearly than I had ever seen before the difference between "show" and "tell" when evoking a character's thoughts and feelings. It was highly valuable for me both as a writer and a professional editor.

创建者 Warren P

Sep 28, 2017

I think Salvatore did a great job of showing us how to think about style, both our own and that of other great writers. It was an enjoyable process for me and I am grateful for the opportunity to learn these new skills.

创建者 Angela K S

Mar 8, 2016

Salvatore is outstanding! I would happily pay for more courses like this. Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us! It's been a fantastic experience and I can't wait to put what I've learned to use. Thank you again!

创建者 Sourodeep C

Aug 3, 2020

Wonderful course connecting the concepts of writing, the way prof. Scibona covers the fundamentals of meaningful writing helps a lot on how to approach writing a story. Looking forward to the capstone course now.

创建者 Juanita J

Jan 26, 2018

well organized and challenging. I was able to create 4 pieces to developed into more detailed and longer pieces. I enjoyed the flow of the class and the feedback from my fellow classmates was extremely helpful.

创建者 Patricia G

Dec 5, 2018

Excellent course I appreciate the conversations with visiting writers. Prof. Scibona is an engaging teacher and clearly presents useful information. The list of words to avoid was worth the entire course.

创建者 Federico B S

May 30, 2018

This is the best course of the series. His exercises are challenging and really push you to grow as a writer. Also, the materials on the forum really help you get a better sense of what he wants. I loved it.

创建者 Sarah S

Apr 17, 2017

This course gave me courage to slice into my words fearlessly and cut the deadweight out. I feel like I am a better writer having completed the course and am feeling very confident about my writing future.

创建者 James D R

May 6, 2018

I have been absolutely delighted with the content provided in this course. The ideas suggested by the lecturer and his guests have been very beneficial to me.

The course has far exceeded my expectations.

创建者 Annette B

Mar 14, 2016

Priceless instruction - as with all related courses in this specialization. If you're auditing the course assignment completion isn't permitted, so essentially, course "completion" isn't a possibility.

创建者 Julie S

Aug 31, 2020

This was the best and most useful to me of the four Wesleyan courses I've taken so far, all of which have been excellent and useful. This one really showed me a tool that I'd never understood.

创建者 Nicole B

Oct 25, 2016

This has been a great opportunity for me to force the work and get something done. I haven't been that happy with some of what I've written, but I like the challenge of meeting a deadline.