Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Style 的评价和反馈

4.7
674 个评分
183 个审阅

课程概述

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

热门审阅

MS

Apr 19, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR

Dec 18, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

筛选依据:

126 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Style 的 150 个评论(共 177 个)

创建者 Pooja S

Sep 08, 2018

Salvatore Scibona is excellent and his teaching style is very engaging. I have enjoyed the craft of style and gained a lot of useable information out of it.

创建者 Shweta B

Aug 27, 2018

Had lot of fun learning and writing while doing this module.

创建者 Sean D

Sep 27, 2018

Another fantastic course. This one really helped to develop more succinct and polished storylines.

创建者 SD J

Oct 24, 2018

Salvatore Scibona is awesome!

His enthusiasm is infectious. I've learned a lot of new techniques. More importantly, I've started to think differently about prose.

创建者 Pramod A

Oct 29, 2018

I picked up very specific pointers, such as the importance of nouns and verbs, brevity, and not going inside the protagonist's mind but letting my words imply his feelings and thoughts. The instructor has an easy-going style that kept my interest throughout. The written assignments were essential to use what I learnt, and they were fun. The course has motivated me to enroll for others in this 4-course program on Creative Writing.

创建者 Denise F

Oct 31, 2018

These four Creative Writing courses have given me great new tools for writing. I approach each piece with a new confidence and creativity.

创建者 Holly M

Aug 29, 2018

Wonderful course- really liked the assignments.

创建者 Renee C W

Aug 30, 2018

Great instructive lectures and study materials, excellent assignments for honing your craft. Even as a seasoned fiction writer, I learned so much from this course!

创建者 Aprielle T

Aug 30, 2018

Learned a lot in the class! Loved it!

创建者 Shalini N

Jul 15, 2018

I have truly learn a lot from this course. Each week had something new to learn and apply.

创建者 Alejandro M G M

Jul 17, 2018

Beautiful course, I've been writing for years, and this experience has been of great help and polishing. You are creating great writers. Thank you for the opportunity and all the knowledge.

创建者 Didimo E G T

May 11, 2019

After successfully completing NaNoWrimo in 2017 I was exhilarated to reactivate my passion for writing but I realized I had a lot to learn about writing, that it was more than just writing a story. The ideas come to me very easily but I did not want to write my stories blindly (as NaNoWriMo promotes), I want to do it well. So, i set myself on a learning journey reading a lot of eBooks I bought on Amazon as well as subscribing to writing channels on YouTube. Yes, it was overwhelming, a lot to learn. Those in fact helped me in this course as I see peers that seem oblivious to those facts.

Then one day I found this specialization in Coursera and I was (still am) very excited. I have learned a lot on the exercises and have also read some great story excerpts (some peers are very good and write awesome stories, my hat off to them as I hope to reach their level someday!). I just wish the lecturer or an assistant (Staff) were active on the course forums, usually you also need some AUTHORITATIVE feedback from someone who is already there (where you want to be) rather than from those that are on the same boat as you.

Do I recommend this course, or the specialization? a resounding YES to the square!

创建者 Judy W W J

Mar 26, 2019

Great course.

创建者 Hui J H

May 29, 2019

Thank you!

创建者 Camille B

Jul 08, 2019

I enjoyed this lecturer's approach to writing. It was stimulating.

创建者 Ricardo P

Jul 14, 2019

In The Craft of Style, Salvatore Scibona tackles the different ways to stylize your writing so that it becomes clear and succinct as possible. He also teaches you how to get rid of extraneous words that may affect the flow of your writing. After completing the other courses in the Creative Writing program, this is a must for any beginning writer who wants to smarten up their prose and take their writing up a notch. Thank you for the course! I enjoyed it.

创建者 Ezekiel J M R

May 21, 2019

It was a great course and experience. I learned so much from the challenging workshops.

创建者 Dominique S

Jun 14, 2019

Incredible instructor. He was the most engaging instructor in the series specialization in my opinion. I loved the assignments. Loved the class. Really enjoyable and great for any writer.

创建者 Jane D

Aug 27, 2019

I enjoyed the course immensely, the lecturer is very skilled and to the point. I really understood the importance of staying clear in my narration and painting vivid pictures the readers could appreciate and relate to, as well as meet me in the middle of my storytelling.

创建者 christine e

Sep 15, 2019

Wonderful course to really help develop a writing style.

创建者 Monica N M

Oct 16, 2019

Easy to follow, content goes deep into what the mind of a great experienced writer looks like. Highly recommend for people of any writing level!

创建者 Kaitlyn B

Oct 19, 2019

I really enjoyed this class, especially Professor Scibona, as he reminds me of my favorite uncle. He also explained what he meant in true storyteller fashion.

创建者 Fredy A P Z

Oct 20, 2019

Excellent course. Thank you for allowing me to participate.

创建者 Soumya j t

Oct 23, 2019

Finally I have ended the specialisation, and now I am feeling as a humble writer, who could fulfill his inner desires, anguish and joy.

创建者 Christine W

Nov 13, 2018

I really enjoyed this class and got out of it exactly what I put into it. The only thing I disliked was the exercise where where the subject matter was specified and I had to write about that particular matter rather than creating my own. I get that the entire point of the exercise was to execute what the gist of the lesson was, but personally, I prefer to write about my own content rather than being restricted to A reacts to B and what is C.