Chevron Left
返回到 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

学生对 普林斯顿大学 提供的 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的评价和反馈

4.7
564 个评分
183 条评论

课程概述

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

热门审阅

VS
May 13, 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK
Jun 15, 2021

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

筛选依据:

176 - Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的 185 个评论(共 185 个)

创建者 George S

Sep 17, 2020

ok

创建者 GT K A

Jun 19, 2021

T​his review is really honest and based on my opinion and my personality trait.

T​his course is not suited for someone, like me, who hates math and did not do well with math.

S​ure, the programing is a true basic I understand the most and find with how it runs, but the reading material and assignment mostly have to do something with mathematic, which really hindered my interest, focus, and always made me feel burned out. Because at the time I am writing this review I am currently in week 3, I still can not do all the exercises in the reading material. It is hard for me. My knowledge of math is just a middle school, to be honest. It stops me from being productive and studying all the questions. And finally, I feel depressed. So, I decided to unenroll in this course.

A​gain, for someone who has a knowledge of math and likes it. I, sure, believe that you will be fine.

T​he only reason I find the first week easy is because it has less math than the second week.

U​unfortunately, I assume programing is out of my league. If only it involves less math, that would be lovely.

创建者 Ishu K

Aug 10, 2021

good

创建者 S. U

Oct 16, 2021

Challenging, but superficial. The lectures do a good job of giving big-picture overviews, but gloss over actual coding techniques and concepts. The weekly assignments are *miles* harder than what was discussed in the lectures. Often you will have no clue what the assignment is actually asking you to do. I completed the course by sheer determination, but I don't really know that I have learned anything that will stick, and it was a slow, painful process. I feel like adding more instruction video to really go over the concepts would help make this the best course on Coursera. As it is, this is a wasted opportunity.

创建者 Moataz f

Jul 12, 2021

I​ wanted to get a certificate

创建者 Farooq S

Dec 17, 2020

Not for me.

创建者 Isabell R

Sep 15, 2021

I really did try , I had trouble downloading the java. I try going to get help . then When finally get it right ,I try to do the HelloWorld assignment The path isnt there , So I deleted start all over again . download java and did assignment again , this time it take I am finally almost at the end on the command line . I close and go eat ,when I come back I got two assignment that are not mine in my folder wth and disable at the moment with my foot . working on computer for shop , and don't really have time to start all over so frustrating . I don't know what happen , I am mad and tired . i

创建者 Neil A

Nov 11, 2021

Initial "introcs" program doesn't install properly because the Java compiler doesn't work - and yes, I installed as Administrator. Also, "DrJava" cant compile even the initial HelloWorld,java application used to test the introcs installation. It's not recommended to install manually because of all the additional plug-ins that are required or I'd fix it myself. It's a good thing this is among their "free" courses because I am certainly not going to pay Coursera to troubleshoot and fix their stuff. Unenrolled. Would not enroll again.

创建者 JEAN-BAPTISTE M D

Nov 7, 2020

Your course is lacking the possibility to make contact with the teacher or helper, no e-mail, no telephone number. I am stuck on the learning process, I pass the 75% required on week 1 to go to the job assignment, the problem with the software IntelliJ, no possibility of help. Please cancel my subscription

创建者 Claudia

May 12, 2021

Where can I ask some questions regarding payments?

I can't find a way to communicate with that department