Chevron Left
返回到 Data Structures and Performance

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Data Structures and Performance 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,725 个评分
362 条评论

课程概述

How do Java programs deal with vast quantities of data? Many of the data structures and algorithms that work with introductory toy examples break when applications process real, large data sets. Efficiency is critical, but how do we achieve it, and how do we even measure it? This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science, and in particular, we recommend that you have taken the first course in this specialization (which also requires some previous experience with Java). In this course, you will use and analyze data structures that are used in industry-level applications, such as linked lists, trees, and hashtables. You will explain how these data structures make programs more efficient and flexible. You will apply asymptotic Big-O analysis to describe the performance of algorithms and evaluate which strategy to use for efficient data retrieval, addition of new data, deletion of elements, and/or memory usage. The program you will build throughout this course allows its user to manage, manipulate and reason about large sets of textual data. This is an intermediate Java course, and we will build on your prior knowledge. This course is designed around the same video series as in our first course in this specialization, including explanations of core content, learner videos, student and engineer testimonials, and support videos -- to better allow you to choose your own path through the course!...

热门审阅

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SS

Dec 19, 2015

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.

筛选依据:

26 - Data Structures and Performance 的 50 个评论(共 351 个)

创建者 Labib M R

Dec 04, 2015

The data structures are basic in this course. But I loved working on the project. I had first hand experience on how to use Java to code these structures and I think this will help me a lot in the future. The course is well designed and I would recommend it to anybody who wants to learn Basic Data Structures with Java well.

创建者 Satyam

Dec 27, 2015

Truly exceptional course for any beginner who wants to learn data structures from the basics. Everything is explained in detail. Loved learning things like asymptotic notations, calculating rate of growth of an algorithm. Also I liked the way the pseudo code is presented in the class made complex algorithms too easy.

创建者 Omar L

May 09, 2017

This is one of the most comprehensive and engaging computer science courses I ever took. The content is well explained and very useful. The idea of working on a real-world project and finishing it is what made this course really great. You will have more to show off than a grade after you finish this course!

创建者 Jason A

Feb 01, 2016

The work load in this course is more intense than the preceding course in the specialization, especially on week 3. Other than that, I think this was an excellent course. I'm definitely glad I took it, it taught me a lot of the things that I was looking to learn as an intermediately experienced programmer.

创建者 Basant S

Aug 21, 2018

Professors, mentors and staff are really nice and helpful, doing a great job. This course offers a great deal of knowledge and provides a really good quality of education.

It was a great course, I had a lot of fun and enjoyed a lot.

Thanks for the wonderful introduction to Algorithms and Data Structures.

创建者 Windesson

Dec 22, 2016

I usually do not review courses, but this is far better than my expensive college java classes. I can not express enough my gratitude for the great quality putted into this program by the instructors. Thank so much for presenting the course in easy, challenge but fun way. you guys are the best :)

创建者 sivid w

Feb 15, 2016

Presented in an easy to understand format, videos are short which helps keep focus, assignments are well prepared which keeps student on the learning material. This course really helped me understand things more clearly.

disclaimer: I have previously enrolled in Algorithms Part I (from Princeton).

创建者 Henry Y

Dec 20, 2015

The instructors were engaging and most charming in the videos.

Most suitable for programming learners taking the step from beginner to intermediate level. The material was divided into fun bite-sized videos, quizzes, and assignments; but still thorough with the details that were necessary.

创建者 ahmed h

Oct 29, 2015

This courser deserves 10 stars and not just 5. I hoped that the team have started the series from the very beginning as to replicate the course 8A. I am perfering their style than from the very short Duke's course.

Still Many topics to come from this extremely successful team

thanks

Ahmed

创建者 Sergio V M

Feb 07, 2016

Awesome! Excellent methodology and contents! It goes to the point. Assignments are cool and help to understand the concepts. Perhaps, I found it a little bit easy, but this is also good because I can adapt my tight schedule to follow the deadlines while also remain motivated. ;-)

创建者 Patrick M

May 20, 2016

Great course to introduce intermediate level data structures to the person learning Java. I have previously used these structures in other languages, but this was a good way to knock the rust off my Java skills and update myself on Java implementations. Instructors are great!

创建者 Vu H C

Jan 23, 2020

I audited this course and it was very good. I loved the complexity of the exercises and problems that the instructors give. Their lectures are not lengthy and very informative. The assignment is really nice and let me have a look at what a good Java program should be like

创建者 Tara P T

Jan 23, 2016

Very good Course. The assignments were fairly challenging and required 3-5 hours per assignment.

The instructors were really good. This was the first course on Coursera which I fully completed. I liked working with a large software project as part of the assignments.

创建者 Yafeng W

Dec 31, 2019

One of my favorite online courses so far! Both the video lectures and the programming assignments are very helpful, and they supplement each other nicely. I learned a great deal from this course and will definitely proceed to the next course of the specialization.

创建者 George N

Sep 05, 2016

Grate course, really interesting and useful especially Algorithms.

Assignments are organized very smart way it really motivates to go deeper.

Thanks University of California San Diego for creating this course on coursera.org and make it available for online study!

创建者 Joao A

Mar 12, 2016

Very good series for learning Java and OO Principles. The big application approach is very interesting as we can see the whole picture even when we know little yet. The interviews with software engineers are very enlightening.

创建者 Amar R

Feb 14, 2016

Really liked this course! It tested my patience and logic....I am glad that I am finally been able to complete this with "flying colors :)"....Will take some break before the advanced data structure though! until then ...

创建者 Roussel K

Jan 07, 2016

Great course!

I have learned so much from testing design using JUnit on Eclipse to Algorithm big O evaluation.

This course is really a delight especially due to the very cool project we built during the course.

Thank you!

创建者 Mark K

Jan 11, 2016

Excellent course, packed full of information - A MUST for anyone who is learning the Java programming language. Lots of effort has gone into this course and is very well structured clearly defining topics week by week.

创建者 Victor J M B

Jan 28, 2017

Really loved the course and how every aspect covered was related to a real word application.

It is an awesome start to learn the basics about data structures and algorithms in order to move to more advanced topics.

创建者 Natasa

Dec 06, 2018

Wonderful! So much great instruction, great learning, and fun assignments! :-) I am feeling more and more confident with my JAVA programming, which is exactly what I hoped for, and I am having lots of fun.

创建者 Yazan A

Feb 01, 2019

I really enjoyed this course thanks to the great teachers and the awesome project, it really was cool working with you all and I'm very excited to see you again in the next course of this specialization.

创建者 Devershi

Jan 16, 2016

After so many years, I actually understood the core concepts of data structures. Thanks all three instructors. The amount of effort they are putting to make the things easy for the students is awesome.

创建者 Dixon B

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

创建者 Suraj S

Dec 19, 2015

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.