Chevron Left
返回到 Excel Skills for Business: Essentials

学生对 麦考瑞大学 提供的 Excel Skills for Business: Essentials 的评价和反馈

4.9
39,896 个评分
10,703 条评论

课程概述

In this first course of the specialization Excel Skills for Business, you will learn the essentials of Microsoft Excel. Within six weeks, you will be able to expertly navigate the Excel user interface, perform basic calculations with formulas and functions, professionally format spreadsheets, and create visualizations of data through charts and graphs. Whether you are self-taught and want to fill in the gaps for better efficiency and productivity, or whether you have never used Excel before, this course will set you up with a solid foundation to become a confident user and develop more advanced skills in later courses. The best way to learn Excel is to use Excel. In this course, learners will solve a broad range of business problems as they apply the Excel skills and techniques they learn along the way. This course uses downloadable Excel workbooks and full data sets with applied examples and practical challenge exercises. This provides learners with countless opportunities to practice their Excel skills while discovering new and useful productivity features of Excel for a variety of business contexts. Spreadsheet software is one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces across the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. At a time when digital skills jobs are growing much faster than non-digital jobs, make sure to position yourself ahead of the rest by adding Excel skills to your employment portfolio....

热门审阅

DT
Feb 8, 2021

Really well done! You kept me interested and motivated, and that's not easy to do!\n\nI enjoyed the balance of instructional videos and hands-on exercises, and I'm excited to try the Intermediate now.

RB
Aug 28, 2019

The course was defiantly more than I expected. It not only strengthened what I did know about Excel but it showed me several options that I was not using or haven't found. I would highly recommend it.

筛选依据:

9826 - Excel Skills for Business: Essentials 的 9850 个评论(共 10,000 个)

创建者 Tejasvi H

Aug 3, 2018

-

创建者 marian c

Jul 10, 2018

E

创建者 Marcus B

May 17, 2018

w

创建者 Dominique S

Jan 21, 2020

Excel Skills for Business was a great class, but it was challenging. I wish there were more explanations of the basic formulas and functions. The class briefly went over very important information in Week 2 and partially in Week 4 with Conditional Formatting. After and before that, it went over a million other basic things that are important and necessary to know -- the essentials of Excel of course (such as printing, styles & themes, filtering & sorting, etc.) Then it came time for the final and I felt nobody was truly prepared.

What I needed more help with was everything in Week 2 -- Formulas, Functions, Absolute Cell References, Calculations Across Sheets, all the formulas and equations to GET the answers like for example how to figure out how to get the discount or tax. And Conditional Formatting.

I completed the course, and took it beyond serious and sadly, I feel like I didn't grasp the information enough to move on yet to the IntermediateI course. When I say I took it seriously, I took such extensive notes that it took me well over an hour to get through every single 3-minute video, even with the typed out transcript available that I copied and pasted into my notes first. I did every assignment. It's not like I rushed through the class.

It's really difficult to get answers in the forum, which is obviously disappointing for students. Matthew Kyng and Tim Keighley DO respond to students when they can and provide an email address for students to be able to email their spreadsheet to the teachers to evaluate their errors and then tell then help to get the answer on their own. They take regular nights and weekends off (as they should) so students sometimes end up getting discouraged because they don't get answers before the exam is finished. Students are supposed to be able to answer but students very rarely PROVIDE helpful feedback in the forums, they only are asking the same questions are you are so it's not a help.

创建者 Soheil H

May 2, 2020

This course was great and was what the title mentions: essentials. It mostly made no assumptions about any prior knowledge and addresses most discrepancies between the different versions of Microsoft Excel, well mostly. Here are some of the problems that if noted could either improve the course or help future students until they are improved by the Professors-

1) For the options that were in the File tab in the excel ribbon as opposed to the operating system's menu bar file tab, this course failed to address the location of the relevant content on the versions of excel that do not have the file tab.

2) Some of the workbook or exercise documents that where to be downloaded for practice and/ or to be worked on in tandem with the video instructions either had faulty/missing information or some unnecessarily deep menu settings (EG. locked and protected cells) that prevented completion. These were seemingly unintentional despite they were a lesson well learned.

3) lastly, some of the quiz questions offered an excel file to test for yourself and then answer about the inquired affect of a certain action. A few of them did not take into account that not all versions (EG. Mac vs Windows) of excel have the same functionality. as a result, the quizzes are reasonably not the best representation of efforts.

However, overall, as a beginner course it gives you the confidence to know that whatever knowledge you build over this it won't crumble down as it is a solid foundation. Whatever time you spend going around its shortcoming happens to be time experimenting and leaning about new features; perhaps even the most important time during the course it very much that.

Thank you Professor.

创建者 Anne B

Dec 8, 2020

this is a great course. it is very well organized. not overwhelming for the amount and complexity of information. i love the speed, course content is chunked and not overwhelming, there are plenty of practice exercises, and there is encouragement from instructors to take breaks and practice. i feel as thought i got what i needed and expected out of it. and i learned a lot of tricks and shortcuts, also what i wanted.

my only complaint is some of the quiz questions, particularly on the final comprehensive exam, are trick questions. i believe that on the practice quizzes, trick questions were given as a way to practice and work out skills that weren't directly taught in the videos. and i understand that you need to pay attention in excel because one error can create an entirely erroneous document. but students want to feel as though they are learning and succeeding, and that test questions are straight forward and clear. i spent hours retaking the final comprehensive test, when i really needed to move on to other courses and subject matter that are also important and time sensitive. i passed all of the practice quizzes, and on the final even slowed down and referred back to the videos. for ex., i received a 'wrong answer' and lesser score because i used a percentage sign on one question, even though it was the right answer. i think that trick questions are equable to "did you read the captions on the photograph," and don't really measure what an individual has comprehended.

创建者 SHAAHUL H I

Nov 5, 2021

This course is very useful to me .The course was defiantly more than i expected . It not only strengthened what i did know about excel but it showed me several option that i have not found . I would highly recommended it. very good teaching fundamentals. Everything was explained in a really structured manner . Final assessment was like cherry on the cakes as it helped in revisiting what was been thought over the weeks .As excellent course for any one wanting to learn excel. i promise you that you will learn something event a it's a basic operation like copy and paste. well explained and properly structured course. This course demonstrated a solid overview of the core necessary to use excel productively. I would recommended it anyone who starts excel for data management task . Amazingly the way of teaching step by step. it suits me very well . with this course you learn how to excel in your life . Understanding how it works and be quicker . focus too much on windows . it is a wonderful course. Everyone must want to learn excel and to improve your knowledge in the course . it

创建者 Kim M

Dec 1, 2020

This really was well done. The instructors were informational. I ran into a problem on the final exam after completing successfully all the other course requirements...quizzes, workbooks and readings. The final exam, unfortunately, appeared to not be compatible with my version of Excel (2007). I would suggest offering a version of the final exam that would be compatible. Otherwise, the course was educational and I received favorable grades throughout. I attempted to get help with technical support through Coursera but they were unable to advice me on the version of Excel being compatible with the final exam work book. Upon attempting to download it, the work book would not open and it was blank. The technical team was able to open it and did attempt to help. A note came up on my end, after several attempts, that the version was not compatible. Had I known this, I would have not signed up for a course.

创建者 Jean A

Dec 8, 2020

A good course, even for an old hand at using excel. I've been using it since it was just Excel-no numbers (i.e. the dawn of time or 1984). I learned a lot because a lot has happened since 1984.

I use a Mac and some of the shortcuts didn't work or items were in slightly different places than the course said they were. This could use some updating.

Finally, I would appreciate a more specific syllabus so I could easily find information. I am specifically looking for how to refer to another worksheet and how to incorporate an equation into that referral. I used the process that has been working for me for years (=Data!cell reference). There are 2 questions on the final assessment that deal with this and I am unable to locate the info (needless to say I got the questions wrong.) A review of the final would also be helpful.

Thank you,

Jean

创建者 Jami S

Mar 28, 2021

Over all I think the course was easy and user friendly. Easy to understand the instructor and assignments were straightforward. There were some quiz's that has questions on them that wasn't covered on the previous lectures and assignments. The course could have benefited from more assignments to practice what you have just learned versus them just telling you to repeat your assignment. That aspect seemed somewhat lacking and like a short cut or failing on the developers part. The part of the course that addresses printing they suggest you down load an online PDF/Virtual Printer as not to use up your own toner and paper. I tried that and it was very confusing and didn't seem to work over all. I've had on the job training for Excel but it was nice to the learn the broad basics.

创建者 Anastasia K

Apr 26, 2020

The explanation and the way the video's are made is terrific. It was easy to understand and fun to do. A very good way to learn. I am very happy to have finally been able to learn how to use Excel the proper way. There where so many things that I didn't know about.

But, it is not easy to do on a Mac. Because the course is mainly done for Windows computers and an older version. I had to spend a lot of time searching for the right combinations. The ones given are not active on the new systems that Apple gives. I would strongly recommend to redo this course anno 2020, and maybe make a separate version for Mac users. This version is way too old.

Thank you very much.

创建者 Jaqi F

Aug 18, 2020

I really appreciated the course and was amazed at some of the subject matter. I never knew that Excel did so much! The bit of feedback I have to give is that there were several unclear questions that I ran into on tests that were phrased in ways that were difficult for me to understand what was being asked. There were several "trick questions," due to slight turns of phrase that forced me to retake certain tests multiple times. I suspect it might be a language barrier due to the difference between Australian and American sentence structure. I still learned a lot, regardless of the language barrier, and I'm ready and excited to move on to the next course!

创建者 Kelly B

May 4, 2020

A good introduction to, and reinforcement of, some of the basics. I feel much more comfortable with Excel and ready to learn even more. I did find it a bit of a challenge though to follow along while using a Mac. I had to dig a little deeper to discover how to find and apply some of the commands. Also, while using the latest Windows platform, I discovered that there simply were key differences in how information was laid out in the ribbon. I spent quite a bit of time trying to find things as a result. Not the instructors fault, of course, but a bit frustrating at times.

创建者 Emilia T

May 17, 2021

The material, videos and explanations are really good, but for me it was difficult to answer some questions due to I don't clearly understand the question or my excel version is more advance that the one sown in this course; so it was difficult to have those question 100% correct. Probably revision of questions in the exam will help in the future or course update with more recent version.

Anyway it was fruitful for me since I learn quite a lot of Tipps and refreshed some parts that I don't use so often.

创建者 Christi D

Aug 7, 2020

Overall, I thought this training was strong and well-paced. My only commit would be that on some of the tests you asked questions that covered skills that had not been addressed yet. I am all for challenging folks to work through the system to find what they need. That is how this self-taught gal learned. But even I had some challenges finding what I needed, mostly because this was about learning terminology for me. So, when a term came up on a test we had not addressed yet, it proved difficult.

创建者 H R

May 3, 2020

It's a Good Experience for beginning Learners to learn reach and Dept of Excel Basics.It Helps to get knowledge about New Techniques for different functions and also easy hacks for Pie charts, line charts and other components .The Excel skills will reduce the unnecessary steps involved in data Processing.The Basic skills are very essential to save time and proceed further for better output.I wish to say Thank you to Coursera for giving me an opportunity to learn the skills.

创建者 Paras A

May 28, 2020

In the course there should be some assignments with guidance in which we make use of the formulas and actually produce worksheet that have practical application like for example making an attendance sheet and what formulas we have to apply in order to make one. Actually i was asked to make one but I could make it because I could make the excel recognize P as 1 in the worksheet. Although I know that if I try I can make it but this course should also have such activities.

创建者 Subhanjan R

May 25, 2020

A very well designed course that touches on subtle nuances of excel that one generally misses when one learns excel by hit and trial on the go. However, this course provides a comprehensive coverage of all the basic elements needed to make professional spreadsheets. A great tool to revise basics for the ones who have lost touch. Coupled with experimenting with the worksheet, this course goes a long way in making approaches stick in the minds of students.

创建者 Abhishek S

Oct 8, 2020

One of the best Excel Courses on the internet. Hats off to Macquarie University and the faculty of its Economics and Business School, namely Nicky and Prashaan(I hope the spellings are correct). I would personally want nothing more to be added to the course. It's perfect. I would make sure to do the rest of the courses that form the complete specialization. Once again, I am grateful to the complete team involved in the curation of the course. Thank you.

创建者 Nico

May 1, 2021

This course make me familiar with essential functions in Excel. Although I have known most of these basic skills before, but the biggest reward to this course to me is learning the terminology of Excel in English. Because my native language is Chinese, I had a big challenge to transfer the English terminology while using my Excel in Chinese. However, I think this is a good thing for me to challenge myself, and now I think I have a big progress!

创建者 Ong X H

Nov 13, 2021

The content of the course is great. I learnt a lot of the key techniques that I will need to better navigate through excel. However, it would be good if the instructor can provide mac version guide as well. some of the feature was slightly different for mac. Also, its kinda hard for mac users to see all the layout names also, it made it kinda hard for me to attempt the quiz. But still, it is a wonderful course for beginners. Recommended to all

创建者 Leslie H

Mar 10, 2018

The download files in some of the exercises did not match the videos. Some of the exercise/quiz questions were not covered in the videos. Also on some of the exam questions, the correct answer was marked as incorrect - not often, but in some cases. All this say that someone may want to review the videos and compare with all the exercises, quizzes and tests. The instructors were wonderful. I very much enjoyed the course.

创建者 Mark D A

Sep 1, 2020

The Course was some what challenging but Hands High to the developers for making it very understandable for each Students such as myself. This course have built my confidence and inspired me to now challenge myself more, it was truly an motivational step for me as I am someone who didn't went all the way through Secondary School. I found this Course to be very helpful for any one who have a love for Excel.

Thank you.

创建者 Themba M

Oct 1, 2020

I had a very hands on experience, practice makes permanent exposure which allowed me to try several tasks to ensure that the excel knowledge is instilled and applied correctly, and the teaching methods are extremely helpful and makes the course more interesting so that we can go the extra mile, this is one fascinating course I am wishing to apply the skills I earned in this course in the workplace successfully so

创建者 Sumon R

May 9, 2020

If you decided that you would continue this course so an advance congratulation from me. I think this is damn interesting course for learning excel basic even if you are a beginner ! All of the video tutorial are well structured and provide greatest information with example.You will learn through quiz.Quiz are always relevant with proper worksheet in all exam after a week.The mentor are really amazing.