Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position 的评价和反馈

4.8
970 个评分
235 条评论

课程概述

This course is designed to provide a basic understanding of financial statements with an emphasis on the balance sheet. However, to understand accounting driven financial statements, it is important to recognize that accounting is less about counting and more about measuring. “What is it that is being measured?” Well, as the course unfolds, you will learn about the three measurement questions and how the balance sheet helps to answer the first two of these questions. By touring a real company and interviewing real business people, the course describes the basic content of financial statements in a simple yet relevant context. The goal of the course is to leave a lasting impression about what balance sheet consists of and what it reveals. The next course in the Fundamentals of Accounting Specialization completes the conversation by addressing the remaining measurement question. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Describe the purpose of a balance sheet. • Define the three components of a balance sheet. • Recognize and understand the meaning of several items typically presented on a balance sheet. • Explain the broader purpose of financial statements and the role of accounting in producing the financial statements. • Read and, to some extent, interpret real-world balance sheets. If you enjoy this business course and are interested in an MBA, consider applying to the iMBA, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price offered by the University of Illinois. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

热门审阅

CR
Dec 2, 2020

Having worked with accountants for 11 years but only taking a few accounting classes in college, this taught me many things that help me better understand what the accountants are talking about.

JC
May 21, 2020

Really great course and a useful one in terms of clearing the finance terms and how a company creates a balance sheet and how can we evaluate a company's position by looking at one's sheet.

筛选依据:

176 - Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position 的 200 个评论(共 234 个)

创建者 serdar a

Mar 31, 2021

excellent

创建者 Paloma S d J

May 18, 2019

Excellent

创建者 Daniel C

Nov 15, 2017

Excelent.

创建者 Zahra A

Jan 10, 2021

perfect

创建者 Ademosun O s

Mar 30, 2021

5stars

创建者 Bantita J

Mar 1, 2021

Great

创建者 KANISHKA K

Jul 6, 2020

Great

创建者 Yuqian G

Nov 20, 2016

great

创建者 Yahya A A

Aug 9, 2016

great

创建者 Mohammed F

Nov 28, 2020

Good

创建者 Olawoyin o

Nov 28, 2020

Good

创建者 Dikshitha K

Oct 26, 2020

good

创建者 Razanah

Oct 8, 2020

Good

创建者 Yamen D

Jun 22, 2020

goog

创建者 AARON T

Aug 17, 2019

good

创建者 podila v b

Nov 5, 2016

good

创建者 Israa H H A Z

Jul 20, 2020

I

创建者 Michael W

Jan 18, 2017

This course focuses entirely on how to read a balance sheet. You will learn the three principal parts of a balance sheet (assets, liabilities, and equity), how they relate to each other, and how they describe the underlying position of the company. This is illustrated by the professor talking to a number of small businesses in the Urbana-Champaign area.

If you have no experience with accounting or finance, this is probably a great place to start. It's a gentle introduction. However, while the focus on local businesses is interesting, a relatively large amount of time is spent learning about these businesses and their owners without necessarily teaching much about accounting or balance sheets in general.

创建者 Sanskar V

Oct 19, 2020

The course was very good for understanding basics of financial statements, especially the balance sheet. But the course content/syllabus is too small compared with the time provided for course completion. A person could easily complete this course within a week or two max but the time provided was more than a month. The video lectures were great and very practical as the instructor visits several businesses to help us get a practical understanding of the line items on the balance sheet.

创建者 Marco F

Aug 25, 2016

I think it's a good way to introduce the world of "accounting" but I think videos need to be more specific and I would have appreciated if there was some practical exercise and not only quiz! But all the informations are exposed clearly.

创建者 Sabrina P T

Nov 20, 2016

Thank you for the work and creative idea of presenting the information. I now feel as though I have an idea or overall gist of financial statements, however, I would like to get into the ratios and analysing part of these statements.

创建者 Baghwath G B

Nov 22, 2017

This course explains things in a simple language so that everybody can understand. The faculty is so good . Example videos are also so good and he asks the apt questions , so that the views can understand the concept. Kudos

创建者 Bhargav L S

May 7, 2020

A great course and very well explained with the use of practical exposure, i would recommend it for every finance aspirant out there to learn and it is also very easily, clearly explained by the professor.

创建者 John E S

Mar 25, 2018

Quite good course, but could have been more comprehensive in my opinion. Compared to other Coursera courses I have taken, it did not require so much work.

创建者 Regan R

Oct 15, 2017

Easy to follow, great case studies, thoroughly enjoyable. I do wish my final assignment was graded by a professor in addition to my peers.