Chevron Left
返回到 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,583 个评分
396 条评论

课程概述

All goods and services are subject to scarcity at some level. Scarcity means that society must develop some allocation mechanism – rules to determine who gets what. Over recorded history, these allocation rules were usually command based – the king or the emperor would decide. In contemporary times, most countries have turned to market based allocation systems. In markets, prices act as rationing devices, encouraging or discouraging production and encouraging or discouraging consumption in such a way as to find an equilibrium allocation of resources. We will construct demand curves to capture consumer behavior and supply curves to capture producer behavior. The resulting equilibrium price “rations” the scarce commodity. Markets are frequent targets of government intervention. This intervention can be direct control of prices or it could be indirect price pressure through the imposition of taxes or subsidies. Both forms of intervention are impacted by elasticity of demand. After this course, you will be able to: • Describe consumer behavior as captured by the demand curve. • Describe producer behavior as captured by the supply curve. • Explain equilibrium in a market. • Explain the impact of taxes and price controls on market equilibrium. • Explain elasticity of demand. • Describe cost theory and how firms optimize given the constraints of their own costs and an exogenously given price. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

热门审阅

KS

Sep 12, 2019

This was awesome. I did not know Firm Level Economics when I joined this course. The explanations were simple and Prof DeBrock explained really difficult concepts in a very easy to understand manner.

FP

May 13, 2017

In the beginning I thought this was going to be a very basic course, but the way the professor explained the topics really make it interesting a practical, going beyond the classical economic theory.

筛选依据:

326 - Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的 350 个评论(共 389 个)

创建者 OSAMAH A Y A

May 20, 2020

good

创建者 Ngo M T

Mar 24, 2020

good

创建者 Phạm T M T

Dec 04, 2019

good

创建者 Vòng N L

Nov 01, 2019

Good

创建者 Cheihlun C Y

Feb 09, 2019

Good

创建者 sudindra

Jun 12, 2017

good

创建者 Nguyễn V Đ

Oct 14, 2019

ok

创建者 Fazil M A

May 10, 2019

g

创建者 Adler J

Dec 02, 2017

G

创建者 Subrat G

Feb 15, 2017

V

创建者 Kira

Feb 08, 2020

Content was informative and not too difficult, but I do have a lot of Algebra, Geometry, and Calculus background. I didn't like the peer reviews as much. They are fun to do, but waiting for grades from peers gets cumbersome and you usually have to beg for reviews. On top of that, you're too subject to the peer's understanding of the content. On one of the assignments one of the peers clearly had no clue about content, didn't read the professor's criteria for grading, and graded well in the wrong. Fortunately, the lowest scores are dropped. Otherwise, I would've raked the peer over the coals with support. I personally wish they'd drop the peer-reviewed assessments, but still plan on working towards an mba. Some level of calculus required might be good too or at least a middle school refresher of slopes.

创建者 Elizabeth L

Aug 07, 2017

Overall, I thought the course was really well done. I thought the lectures made the material very easy to digest, both in terms of presentation and amount of time allocated to each lecture. I found the additional readings very helpful (except for McAfee). However, I found some of the assignment and quiz questions confusing, in that they did not provide enough detail about what the question was really looking for in terms of a complete answer. Otherwise, I learned a lot and plan on taking the next course in the series.

创建者 Melvin P

Sep 27, 2017

A good introduction of microeconomics, but I feel that the content of this course leans towards the theoretical and it didn't have any depth on the various topics (this is coming from someone who studied engineering and took some courses on finance and accounting). I must applaud Prof. Larry DeBrock to be a great lecturer. His enthusiasm and use of real world examples (even if they lacked depth) captured my attention throughout the course.

创建者 Daniel K O

Jun 15, 2018

Larry does a great job explaining concepts and making them relatable to every day life. The occasional "field trips" give a real world perspective on how economics plays a hand everyday in the world around us. The only issue comes in the peer reviews where you can end up on the short end of the stick and not have anyone review your assignments for the week at all.

创建者 Andre A M

Oct 27, 2020

Doesn't cover Consumer Theory where you optimize using budget constraints, doesn't cover Producer Theory isoquants and isocosts, most concepts are intuitively and theoretically explained through generic graphs. Okay if you are required to take it for the iMBA only, but not a complete course per se as in "regular" microeconomics courses.

创建者 Felix B

May 03, 2018

Well organized, perfectly flexible class with a nice professor. As a total stranger to this topic I really learned a lot and wasn't overwhelmed. 5 stars if you communicate from beginning on that the readings are optional but that it is highly recommended to read at least parts of them. Had a bit of a time issue in the first week.

创建者 John S

Feb 28, 2019

Peer review took awhile for Module #4, alittle stressful as the deadline looms. Not a infrastructure issue, even emails to individuals were barely successful, need to improve on my part to do it earlier or how to influence peer reviews.

创建者 Bruno J L A S

Jun 21, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and definitely recommend it. The instructor was great. I am removing one star because I feel that it needs a little bit more of real problem solving and a small amount more of mathematical derivations.

创建者 John A

Sep 20, 2020

A background knowledge of microeconomics would most likely help many. The lectures were awesome but acing the quizzes might be difficult for anyone with little foreknowledge in microeconomics.

创建者 Patnana N K

Jul 11, 2020

Everything is fine but regarding my economics subject, where i got some lagg while understanding because somewhat the examples are varies from one country to another country.

创建者 Sanne S

Jan 04, 2018

Really liked this course. Only thing I'd wish to change would be to get an explanation of the answers to the assignments after they've been reviewed by the other peers.

创建者 Yash S M

Jul 28, 2020

Excellent for beginners. Four modules basically cover all the basics needed to understand economics specially at Firm level when its a short run scenario.

创建者 Gautam R

Feb 10, 2016

Please unlock case solutions in advance so we can assess our peers correctly

Otherwise great class with great references to other videos as well

创建者 Юрко П П

May 24, 2020

Great course. Learned more new information that I need. One problem, for some reason I finished the course, but certificate isn't given to me.

创建者 Eric M L E

Mar 08, 2019

Very interesting material and well-delivered and understandable / accessible. Not entirely sure of it's real-world applicability just yet.