Chevron Left
返回到 Health Across the Gender Spectrum

学生对 斯坦福大学 提供的 Health Across the Gender Spectrum 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,706 个评分
561 条评论

课程概述

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

热门审阅

PB

May 10, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

CM

May 17, 2020

I love how concise and easy to understand the videos were. They all get straight to the point and it was really a mind-blowing experience to learn about the differences and what we can do to support.

筛选依据:

76 - Health Across the Gender Spectrum 的 100 个评论(共 559 个)

创建者 Maria C M D C

Jan 5, 2021

It was awesome! The first time that i experienced something like that. I can wait to do more courses and learning more. After all, it's really important to learn about our children cause they are the future! Me as a 17yo, i'm learning this for my future education and in case i have kids, i might be a great example and give the best support and education!

Thank you!!

创建者 Hengki c

Oct 3, 2020

it is an amazing course that shows me how I should begin myself to develop and take more steps to go further to discover my personal goal as I m always think that I am transgender but I always feel ashamed to myself to express my identity.

I hope one day it could have link how to contact the prof to ask further questions regarding the course topic and experiences

创建者 Ljubica A

Apr 21, 2017

The course allowed me to thoroughly understand the topic of gender spectrum. I have learned how I, as and individual, could help transgender people and their surroundings to strengthen their understanding, acceptance and relationship. I would recommend this course for anyone who is interested to learn about the diversity which life has to offer to us.

创建者 Jay B

Aug 15, 2018

Exceptionally well formed introduction to how the gender spectrum influences and impacts a persons health and access to healthcare as well as overall public spaces. Refreshingly respectful language and actual interviews with people who are transgender rather than just listening to cisgender persons in the healthcare field without lived experiences.

创建者 Deleted A

Aug 20, 2017

This is a great course, but it feels more like watching a documentary about transgender than an actual learning course. Also it focuses mainly on transgender, so the title was a bit misleading. I thought that other genders would be discussed, but instead they were only mentioned once, briefly, in one video. But it was still a fun course to take.

创建者 Fabíola M

May 7, 2021

Devo parabenizar a sensibilidade e tamanho respeito mútuo ao decorrer do curso. Foi um grande aprendizado, me sinto verdadeiramente abraçada e sem sombra de dúvidas buscarei entender mais o lado das pessoas que ainda precisam lutar muito por um mundo onde o amor e menos preconceitos aconteçam. All the love and thank you so much to everyone 💖

创建者 Ester V

Jun 1, 2017

Great course. Lovely stories, lovely graphics, human and gentle narrative yet informative, thorough and up to date content. Great resource for families at the beginning of their journey with a gender diverse child, for others wanting to sGender them, for teachers, neighbours, media, politician, policy makers... And health professionals!

创建者 Laurie B

Jun 9, 2017

I was worried at first that this was going to be a little too "cute" about what it means to be transgender. However, I think this course presented a good variety of experiences from the perspective of professionals, parents, and transgender people of all ages. I think it is a wonderful resource and appreciate that it was offered for free.

创建者 Kalika S

Jul 17, 2020

The course helped me learn more and be aware, It includes great animated videos and stories one can connect with. Hearing the kids talk about their issues, problems and experiences and specially what helped them and made them happy and feel natural and good had a great influnce on me as a learner. it really helped me connect and learn.

创建者 Kristina B

Apr 14, 2017

Fantastic course! I think you could expand the title though not just to be about health because it really includes much more. Teachers and others may not have taken the course because ti specifically says health but it is so important for them to become familiar with this content as well to help build a more gender inclusive society.

创建者 Hannah C

May 8, 2017

Informative, insightful and thoughtful course that ideally all healthcare providers, educators etc. would take. Maya Adam was a professor of mine as an undergraduate and now, as a clinician, I'm so pleased to see she's continuing to do important and transformative work that's accessible to healthcare providers and others everywhere.

创建者 Kailin K

May 27, 2020

This was a great introductory course! The material is approachable and informative. I took this course as a health educator to see if there were other ways to support youth and was able to take away many pieces from this course. I would recommend for anyone who is looking for basic ways to understand and support transgender youth.

创建者 Simon M

Aug 26, 2017

I found this short course informative and easy to understand. It contains useful, practical help for people working with transgender individuals, honest and open testimony from transgender individuals and their parents.. and great examples for transgender people to show the respect and acceptance that everybody should receive.

创建者 Jessica W

Aug 30, 2020

What an amazing course! It humanized the topic by using the stories of children, their families, and transgender Individuals. It's one thing to learn about different gender identities and sexual orientations in a textbook, it's another to hear it directly from people themselves. Highly highly recommend for new perspectives!

创建者 Alyssa C

May 21, 2020

I would have loved if the course had an overview explaining that it is meant for individuals without much experience with the LGBTQIA+ community. For me, this course was a review of information that I had already learned, but I would definitely recommend this course for those who are new to learning about gender diversity.

创建者 Maria

Jul 16, 2020

¡It was a beautiful and enriching course to do! What I loved the most about it was that it makes you engage in your own gender identity and that way you can identify which things in your life have shaped this characteristic, and therefore understand better how it might work differently for transgender people. Thank you.

创建者 Pamela M L

May 3, 2020

I highly recommend this course to get a profound grasp and understanding of the gender spectrum and its challenges but also to gain awareness of our responsibility as part of the society, community, as a friend and relative when it comes to making this life a better one for everybody. Thank you for this beautiful work.

创建者 Linda J G

May 25, 2020

Exceptionally helpful, having recently learned that my biological grandson is a girl. The course opened my mind to an entirely new understanding of what it means to be human. It expands my horizons and makes me a better person, learning something about which I knew nothing. This is just the beginning. Thank you.

创建者 Rita F A

Dec 14, 2017

This course was very useful. When I saw this course, I knew I had to enroll because it touches pretty close to home on a lot of issues in my own life that are similar. This course gave me tools that I can use so to interact and educate others around me about equality and letting everyone just be who they are.

创建者 Jesús A A S

Sep 28, 2020

Este curso fue un maravilloso viaje por el amplio espectro de género. Me siento más preparado para incluir y buscar ser incluido en mi comunidad y en la sociedad. Tenemos que tomar acción y generar cambios poco a poco. Me siento agradecido y afortunado de haber tomado este curso y de haber aprendido tanto.

创建者 Carlos A Z

May 8, 2020

Es interesante toda la información que el curso presenta y la manera de exponerlo y presentarlo es sumamente atractiva y fácil de analizar.

Estoy muy contento con tener esta herramienta para el ambiente de la salud, ya que en la actualidad estos temas son importantes para un correcto trato a los pacientes.

创建者 Priyanka B

May 23, 2022

I am 28 years old and i feel weird that this topic in my country is still not dicussed openly which should be. I good for mental heath as well as physical health. I really feel great and thanks alot stanford for this course and I got to learn alot about the topic in detail. Thank you all once again.

创建者 Vicky R

Apr 11, 2017

This was a very interesting and mind-opening course. I have to admit that I did not give much thought to transgender, and I am very glad that this course was suggested by Maya Adam, MD in another course. I hope this information spreads around the world and we all become more inclusive and caring.

创建者 Faye M

Jan 26, 2018

Gave me a great depth of knowledge about what it's like to go through the process of identifying and transitioning to a gender other than the one assigned at birth. It was really nice to hear some real life experiences from the perspective of both parents and children too. Would really recommend