Chevron Left
返回到 Health Across the Gender Spectrum

学生对 斯坦福大学 提供的 Health Across the Gender Spectrum 的评价和反馈

4.8
924 个评分
322 个审阅

课程概述

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

热门审阅

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

FS

Apr 27, 2019

I would like to know more about LGBTs and as I am leaving in an Islamic country , I hope to help these high risk groups to be more accepted by others and be more healthy, sexually and mentally.

筛选依据:

76 - Health Across the Gender Spectrum 的 100 个评论(共 319 个)

创建者 Blanca I M R

May 24, 2017

Very unique course, and a very important topic to talk about. I really loved it. I think every person should know the things that we learned here if we expect to have a better society. I love the way she explain everything in all her courses Ive taken but specialy in th

创建者 JANE E

Apr 07, 2017

I wish I had known this 20 years ago. Thank you.

创建者 Laurie B

Jun 09, 2017

I was worried at first that this was going to be a little too "cute" about what it means to be transgender. However, I think this course presented a good variety of experiences from the perspective of professionals, parents, and transgender people of all ages. I think it is a wonderful resource and appreciate that it was offered for free.

创建者 Luis F B A

Jul 20, 2017

Wonderful course, especially for those who work in the health sector; to understand, care and love better.

创建者 Michaela M

Jul 02, 2017

Very helpful for people who are not at all familiar with non-binary gender. However, for people with knowledge about gender spectrum, too basic.

创建者 Kristal G

Apr 18, 2017

Excellent course to learn and review health issues and general information across the gender spectrum. Also to have a better understanding of children as they are trying to understand t

创建者 Audra B

Sep 26, 2017

Great mix of academic, conceptual, theoretical, factual, and real human experiences about the gender spectrum!

创建者 Lamia

Jul 23, 2017

This course was a brilliant started pack to understanding the gender spectrum and also identifying the possibilities for myself as an individual to be gender neutral. The videos were so concise and clear and articulated the messages extremely well. The content was easy to understand. The glossary and recommended reading list is comprehensive and very useful. This course has left me with a lot of food for thought as an educator and psychologist working with children and adolescents. I'm beginning to reframe my ways of working within classrooms and rethinking ways of making schools gender neutral and safe spaces given the structural and contextual difficulties. The first person narratives shared by professors from Stanford as well as those depicted through the animated videos were so impactful and provided such insights into the realities of those who are not conforming to the binary idea of gender. Here's to exploring and inculcating the idea of gender along a spectrum personally and professionally! At a deeper level, this course has inspired me to be free and the kind of person I am and want to be, regardless of societal norms! Thank you! :)

创建者 Erick G

Apr 30, 2017

Because of a special circumstance I recently experience at my child school, the schools Head Master and the early childhood principal recommended this course to me. It was the perfect fit and had all the information I need to be part of the conversation regarding the gender spectrum. Also this is the first course I complete in this platform. It left me completely satisfied.

创建者 Barış B

Jul 19, 2017

Phenomenal! Very well designed and focuses on a vital issue. Thank you.

创建者 Phoenix K

Jul 18, 2017

This was a remarkably kind and compassionate course, and as a genderqueer parent of trans kids, with a trans spouse, I felt that this course is vital for our medical professionals to have as a basis for their understanding in how to best treat us.

创建者 Sofia K

May 17, 2017

Loved it. Informative starter for people who don't know anything about the issues, and a light refresher for those who do. It's good work!

创建者 Hannah N

Apr 25, 2017

Important, poignant, enlightening and moving! Cannot recommend this course enough.

创建者 Veronique L

Dec 23, 2017

Very informative, based on current research, most recommendable.

创建者 Francka K

May 19, 2017

Interesting

创建者 Lila H

Jun 12, 2017

Great introduction to the language and concepts of gender identity. Moving videos augment the learning experience.

创建者 Alain S

Apr 14, 2017

I hope this course won't "suffer" the bubble-effect in that only open minded people take it. The question is, how can we achieve that people who really need it actually take it!

创建者 María J C

Jan 30, 2018

Muy bueno claro, soy psiquiatra infantil y este curso me ayudo a explicar y abordar mas claramente las preguntas de los usuarios sobre el tema

创建者 Kristen C

Apr 15, 2017

This course should be required learning for everyone. Accepting people for who they are is the greatest gift we can give people.

创建者 truong m d

Sep 16, 2017

It is so helpful. I learned many things from this course

创建者 Noemi B

Apr 13, 2017

Simply lovely, and useful, and mind broadening <3 i loved it

创建者 Anandita K A

May 31, 2017

This is a very useful course!! I love this one <3 I didn't realize the course was over (T____T)

创建者 Arlen N T C

Dec 29, 2017

I was really ignorant about gender topics since a few months ago when I met a lot of new friends and one of them were transgender. I never really understood what that meant, but after meeting her I was concerned by this matter. I myself never identified with female or male cloths and attitudes, but I never thought so much about it because of my traditional family. It really opened a new world to me and since I met my friend I did research on this, and this course actually made me see so many new things and I feel conscious of the matter. I'm so thankful to be able to find this course online, or else there would be so much that I wouldn't know about. It made me think, about society, about families, about relationships and about myself. Thank you so much.

创建者 Yulia G

Apr 03, 2018

Easy to comprehend, very well-planned with fun video materials and short quizzes and most importantly, this course gives a precious understanding that is extremely important to our society, priceless knowledge that I as a parent and a teacher absolutely must possess.

创建者 Hannah C

May 08, 2017

Informative, insightful and thoughtful course that ideally all healthcare providers, educators etc. would take. Maya Adam was a professor of mine as an undergraduate and now, as a clinician, I'm so pleased to see she's continuing to do important and transformative work that's accessible to healthcare providers and others everywhere.