Chevron Left
返回到 互联网巨头:媒体平台的法律和经济

学生对 芝加哥大学 提供的 互联网巨头:媒体平台的法律和经济 的评价和反馈

4.8
874 个评分
193 条评论

课程概述

This seven-week course will explore the relationship between law and technology with a strong focus on the law of the United States with some comparisons to laws around the world, especially in Europe. Tech progress is an important source of economic growth and raises broader questions about the human condition, including how culture evolves and who controls that evolution. Technology also matters in countless other ways as it often establishes the framework in which governments interact with their citizens, both in allowing speech and blocking it and in establishing exactly what the boundaries are between private life and the government. And technology itself is powerfully shaped by the laws that apply in areas as diverse as copyright, antitrust, patents, privacy, speech law and the regulation of networks. The course will explore seven topics: 1. Microsoft: The Desktop vs. The Internet. We will start with a look at the technology path that led to the first personal computer in early 1975, the Altair 8800. That path starts with the vacuum tube, moves to transistors, then to integrated circuits and finally to the microprocessor. We will look at the early days of software on the personal computer and the competition between selling software and open-source approaches as well as the problem of software piracy. We will discus the public good nature of software. The 1981 launch of the IBM PC revolutionized the personal computer market and started the path to Microsoft's powerful position and eventual monopoly in that market with the selection of MS-DOS. We then turn to four antitrust cases against Microsoft: (1) the 1994 U.S. case relating to MS-DOS licensing practices; (2) the U.S. antitrust middleware case over Microsoft’s response to Netscape Navigator; (3) the European Union case regarding Windows Media Player; and (4) the EU browser case over Internet Explorer. These disputes arose at the point of maximal competition between the free-standing personal computer and the Internet world that would come after it and we may know enough now to assess how these cases influenced that competition. 2. Google Emerges (and the World Responds). Google has emerged as one of the dominant platforms of the Internet era and that has led to corresponding scrutiny by regulators throughout the world. Decisions that Google makes about its algorithm can be life altering. Individuals are finding it more difficult to put away past mistakes, as Google never forgets, and businesses can find that their sales plummet if Google moves them from the first page of search results to a later page. With great power comes scrutiny and we will look at how government regulators have evaluated how Google has exercised its power. Both the U.S. Federal Trade Commission and the European Union have undertaken substantial investigations of Google’s practices and we will look at both of those. 3. Smartphones. The Internet started on the desktop but the Internet is increasingly mobile and people are seemingly tethered to their smartphones and tablets. And we have seen an interesting shift in that market away from Nokia handsets and the Blackberry to Apple's iPhone and its iOS platform and to the Android platform. The legal infrastructure of smartphones and tablets is extraordinarily complex. We will start by looking at U.S. spectrum policy and the effort to free up 500 megahertz of spectrum. We will look at the activities of standard setting organizations, including the IEEE and the creation of the 802.11 standard and Wi-Fi (or, if you prefer, wifi), the creation of patent pools and the regulation of standard essential patents. We will look at the FTC action against Google/Motorola Mobility and Apple's lawsuit against Samsung over utility and design patents relating to the iPhone. Finally, we will take a brief look at the European Commission's investigation into the Android platform. 4. Nondiscrimination and Network Neutrality. Facebook has more than 1 billion users and measure that against a world population of roughly 7 billion and a total number of Internet users of roughly 2.5 billion. A course on law and technology simply has to grapple with the basic framework for regulating the Internet and a key idea there is the notion of network neutrality. Nondiscrimination obligations are frequent in regulated network industries, but at the same, discrimination can be an important tool of design for communication networks. We will start our look at the Internet by looking at the great first communications network of the United States, the post office and will look in particular at the Post Office Act of 1845. We will then move to modern times and will consider efforts by the U.S. Federal Communications Commission to produce sensible and sustainable nondiscrimination conditions for the Internet and will touch briefly on comparisons from around the world. 5. The Day the Music Died? In many ways, the Internet came first to music with the rise of peer-to-peer (p2p) music sharing through Napster and its successors. We start with a look into music platform history and the devices that brought recorded music into the home: the phonograph and the player piano. We turn to radio and the legal regime that puts music on the airwaves, the performing rights organizations like ASCAP and BMI. We look at the antitrust issues associated with the blanket license. We consider a failed music platform, digital audio tape, and the complicated legal regime associated with it, the Audio Home Recording Act of 1992. We will consider the copyright issues raised by the creation and distribution of music and the litigation over the p2p technologies such as Napster and Grokster. The music industry responded to p2p technology by adding digital rights management tools to CDs. As music distribution switched from physical media to digital distribution, we entered the world of Apple and the iPod and iTunes. We consider the DRM issues associated with Apple's music platform as seen by Steve Jobs. We conclude by looking at emerging subscription services like Spotify and the service that Apple is building based on its purchase of Beats. 6. Video: Listening and Watching. Images are some of the most powerful ways in which ideas and speech are communicated and video has long been regulated by the state. That starts as a communications law issue with government regulation of the radio spectrum, but also leads to the design of the television system with the assignment of channels and eventually the definition of digital television. And with the emergence first of cable TV and subsequently the VCR critical copyright roadblocks had to be overcome for new distribution technologies to emerge. We will consider the legal engineering that led to the DVD platform, which was an exercise in patent pools and trademark creation. We will sort through the creation of the digital TV platform and will also look at the copyright underpinnings for Netflix. And we will consider the question of technology neutrality in the content of the copyright fight over a new video distribution entrant, Aereo. Finally, we close the week with a brief look at the incentive spectrum auctions and the possible end of broadcast television. 7. The Mediated Book. Gutenberg revolutionized books with his printing press and for academics, books are sacred objects. But the printed book is on the run and with the rise of the ebook, we are entering a new era, the era of the mediated book. This is more than just a change in technology. We will look at the issues created by the rise of the ebook, issues about control over content and licensing and of the privacy of thought itself. We will also look at the legal skirmishes over this space, including the copyright fair use litigation over Google Books, the Apple e-book antitrust case. And we will look at the Amazon Kindle platform....

热门审阅

DC
Feb 4, 2017

It was really really cool, I learnt a lot, the readings were always interesting, the course was well-structured, super understandable and easy to follow. I would recommend it wholeheartedly!

MM
Nov 8, 2015

Excelent course and very up to date material.\n\nVery interesting topics and documents presented along with the material.\n\nGreat teacher with outstanding knowledge of the material

筛选依据:

26 - 互联网巨头:媒体平台的法律和经济 的 50 个评论(共 190 个)

创建者 Hilde K

Aug 26, 2016

The information is fascinating and the instructor is very interesting. It's a great course!! The only drawbacks are that there is so much reading to do (but you can succeed in the course and only do as much of the reading as you want to) and the 70 question final exam (but given that you can take it as many times as you want you can get any grade that you're willing to put in the time for). All in all I highly recommend this course.

创建者 AKASH M

Apr 27, 2020

The holistic view of the internet was presented in a way that was quite engrossing and substantiated by authentic facts and figures . It was a standout , also due to the meticulous information and great oratory skills that Mr. Randy possesses . I thoroughly enjoyed the story telling style which was employed by him sometimes to keep the tempo up.

All in all - I am glad that I enrolled for this course . It was totally worth the time .

创建者 Angela R

Dec 20, 2016

This class was great! I learned so much it was unreal- I highly suggest it to anyone who is interested in technology as a whole, not just those interested in the law. Professor Picker gives enough backgound information on the legal end that you won't be lost or confused at all. But there is so much history in the tech that we all use everyday packed into just 9 short weeks that you won't believe it. Well worth the time spent!

创建者 Ramiro G A

Jul 3, 2020

This is a unique course to learn about the evolution of different technologies that have become crucial in our current world. The lectures are straightforward and clear, and the provided material is interesting (specially, the extra-depth readings). I really enjoyed it, and I believe to have acquired valuable knowledge on IP Law, IT Law and Anti Trust Law, among others. Randy Picker is the perfect professor for this topic.

创建者 Maximiliano M

Jul 12, 2020

Excellent course! Prof. Picker's pedagogic skills are outstanding, he achieves what few educators can: to make simple overly complex legal narratives. Moreover, not only he's a top (Chicagoan) Law and Economics scholar but he's fun to watch/listen too (a rara avis). The course is a bit outdated but thorough, profuse in useful additional learning materials and still relevant 5 years after its debut. I highly recommend it.

创建者 Dan C

Apr 21, 2018

Good mix of video lectures and links to detailed readings for a deeper dive on the subject matter. A good overview by Professor Picker of how a variety of media platforms have been encouraged to develop as well as constrained through litigation as well as regulatory oversight. The lectures encouraged me to seek out additional developments in the three year period since the course was conducted in 2015.

创建者 Kelly J K

Nov 2, 2015

Professor Picker is obviously very informed on the topics discussed. His course offered an accessible narrative of the evolution of legal issues relevant to internet media and related technologies. The course was also useful for acquiring an historical perspective of media businesses, particularly in the United States. I am glad I took this course and will no doubt refer to it in the future.

创建者 Rick a D N V

Apr 2, 2019

An amazing course! Mr. Randy Picker is very familiar with all the subjects and makes it easier to learn. Besides, his funny, enjoyable way of teaching helps to retain contents. In terms of contents itself, the course is extremely relevant to understand our technological information society based on Internet and media platforms competing continuously for market shares. I do recommend it!

创建者 Изотова М А

Aug 17, 2018

The course was really interesting! Enormous amount of new information that definitely meets the needs of the modern world. Also, this course is a good chance to improve English skills for those whose native language is not English. It was my first experience on Coursera, and now I am sure that will take other courses on this platform with great pleasure. Thanks, professor :)

创建者 Dinesh R

Jun 19, 2016

Professor Picker masterfully wraps law and economics into a gripping story. I have enrolled in several courses before, but this is the first course I went through from A to Z. And thoroughly enjoyed.

The material is engaging, the audio and video is brilliant, and the delivery is flawless. I would recommend this to anyone with any interest in the Internet economy.

创建者 Jorge P d S N

Sep 29, 2020

This course is really incredible and Professor Randy is one of the best doctors on the subject. I had the opportunity to learn about technology that is so important to our lives and about how the biggest media industries developed. I believe all the strategies used by the lawers and businessmans could will be aplicated for construted for other tecnologies.

创建者 Michel M

Feb 18, 2020

An exciting course full of new information. Really well structured. Quizes are based on repeating and recalling and sometimes make you look into specifically linked documents. This really helps remember all the new material way better. I am really glad I took this course, I might even come back to look through it again. It was an exciting journey.

创建者 Richard D

Apr 10, 2017

Great course covering a wide range of media platforms. Each week was a journey in one particular media field, from the initial entry of technology to the modern day legal issues raised by these businesses. Randy Picker is very easy to follow and enjoyable to listen to, and clearly has a deep knowledge and passion for the topics he discusses.

创建者 Arvin K R

Apr 13, 2019

This is an excellent and comprehensive course covering most issues relevant to so-called internet giants. The materials provided are thorough, and the quizzes are sufficiently challenging, One would finish this course with a more complete understanding of the law and economics of media platforms in a way that no other online course offers.

创建者 June T

Nov 2, 2015

As a law student interested in both technology and competition law this course was heaven sent. I couldn't wait for the next week to start on the next course. The course has been extremely insightful, simplified complex terms especially in economics and competition law. May God bless the team involved in preparing this course. Thank you

创建者 Anna K

Oct 28, 2015

Please proceed with the new courses in the fied of law on computer science and technologies! You input in the filed of preparing such courses is very much appreciated. Also it would be even more interesting if comperative analysis will be undeertaken (e.g. personal data or advertising regulation with use of Internet throught the world).

创建者 Pierrette M P M

Aug 14, 2015

Prof Randy Picker is an engaging instructor. Material has sufficient rigor and is well presented. At first I was worried as I don't have a legal background, but I feel it is presented at an understandable. If you spend any time on the Internet, you will learn incredible history from a legal and economics standpoint. Take this class!

创建者 Quan M T

Mar 13, 2019

This course is wonderful: A tech-related course lectured by a Law Professor. Professor Picker is a premier expert. I have law background but I am studying IT major in the U.S so I am looking for a chance in some law-IT field. Luckily this course gave me great knowledge! Thank you Professor Picker and UChicago!

创建者 Akash K

Oct 28, 2017

A great course that deals with issues of contemporary importance; a great blend of law and economics phenomena captured through issues of antitrust, copyrights and patents. Highly recommended for anyone remotely interested in emerging technologies and its impact on institutional engineering.

创建者 Kriti T

Oct 24, 2017

I enjoyed the course thoroughly. Prof. Picker's lectures were informative, analytical and practical. The additional readings he identified were great for more in-depth learning. Overall, the entire course proved useful for me, and I look forward to more (similar) programmes.

创建者 Mateus M R

Jul 4, 2017

I enjoyed this course way more than I expected. Randy Picker is an excellent teacher and a perfect guide to the questions that involve Antitrust, IP and Policy Making in Tech. Im leaving this course with the feeling that I actually learned valuable lessons for my practice.

创建者 Visvesh

Sep 5, 2016

Great course. Amazing amount of detail with which each topic is dealt. Advanced learners have an option to gain additional knowledge on the topics covered by using the extra-depth readings section. I have taken almost 10 MOOCs till date and none was as engaging as this.

创建者 Renata K

Feb 25, 2017

Greatest course I've seen until now. The professor is both engaging and funny, which makes watching the lessons enjoyable and enriching. Loved it so much I would really love if the UNiversity of Chicago would offer a specialization course in the subject via Coursera.

创建者 Sandra M

Oct 18, 2015

A very useful overview of the antitrust, copyright and economic issues raised by various internet and media platforms. The course is useful not only for law practitioners but for everyone who would like to have a grasp of the major players on the digital market.

创建者 sahil a

Mar 27, 2019

I have done 90% of the course till now and it has been an amazing experience. The quality content and its delivery has been outstanding. Complex issues are made into easily understandable language. It has really nudged me into the challenging world of tech law.