Chevron Left
返回到 基因组技术基础

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 基因组技术基础 的评价和反馈

4.6
3,977 个评分
626 条评论

课程概述

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

热门审阅

SS

May 27, 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK

Nov 20, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

筛选依据:

426 - 基因组技术基础 的 450 个评论(共 626 个)

创建者 PRIMA H P

Jul 8, 2022

O

创建者 Karam A

Jan 28, 2021

.

创建者 Tatiana Z

Jun 4, 2018

-

创建者 Meghana J

Feb 17, 2016

A

创建者 Bianca

Sep 25, 2021

Most of the videos are pretty basic, even for someone with a really weak biology background like me (took one intro Bio class in undergrad... 7 or 8 years ago). I was already familiar with the programming stuff and some of the statistics, too, though. I think it might be a nice video course to give to someone with a non-bio background who will be working on a project that's related to genomics, like a graphic designer or a web developer. It could probably help familiarize them with the terms and abbreviations they'll be hearing lobbed about on the regular.

I will say, though, that this course does not really prepare you for the second course in the specialization (the Galaxy course that is apparently being removed this month). I took both at the same time, and really struggled with that one, and am probably not going to bother finishing it, since it will no longer count towards the specialization, anyway. Not sure how well it fits among the other courses, but as a standalone is fine.

创建者 Michael J M

May 11, 2016

A good introduction to the topics and concepts in the field of genomic data science in general as well as the other courses in this specialisation.

I did this course close to the last (6th) being a professional in the Bioscience field for some time and so the first three 'weeks' I pretty much did in a couple of hours with close to full marks (not a boast but a statement: this course will give you the overview I accumulated in the real world; there is nothing esoteric or missing from this course).

The final assessment I found a little quirky compared to the other courses I'd done being a comprehension style 'read a research paper + answer questions' rather than a 'enter the number of X given conditions Y applied to dataset Z' as many of the other course use. Still, celebrate diversity and all that...also I can't think of a better assessment for this entry level / background course.

创建者 Drew O

Jul 27, 2021

V​ery great starting place for the specialization. Easy level of difficulty and does not jump straight in to the nitty and gritty. Easy for me because: 1) I have a MS in Biological Sciences and work in functional genomics. However, This course really added in the importance of "good statistics" in genomics. In addition, I am excited to not only learn more about bioinformatical methods, but also become more engaged in the data science behind it all.

A​ll in all, I think this is a great beginner course for all kinds of students or post-graduate individuals that want to keep on learning and maintain skill sets that are not only great for staying up-to-date, but also putting ourselves in better positions for the future.

创建者 Ana F

Nov 16, 2017

The first three weeks were too easy, then Jeff Leek introduced a bunch of Statistical Concepts at once. I think I would rather have spent more time taking an overview of the field and what the certificate has to offer in application to my job as a biologist/learning bioinformatics.

The project at the end reminded me of evaluating scientific papers in college. Very useful, but out of context I thought. I think I would like to have more of a refresher in certain concepts in advanced genetics prior to being quizzed on them through a project.

Overall, it was a good course, but someone without a background in biology will certainly struggle with it

创建者 Sanjay V

Oct 13, 2020

I am completely new to Genomics but with some technical background in statistics and computer tools etc. This is a good course to step into the world of Computational biology and get some understanding of tools involved. I had to do lot of side reading on sequencing technology and Gene science. If you dont have this background, this course is a exercise in button pushing. I wish the instructors emphasise this and suggest on-line refernces(beginner friendly) to get the necessary background. In the end, it was a positive experience for me to understand the Galaxy tools and what they are capable of.

创建者 Sabrina S

Nov 26, 2016

The entire course took me about 8 hours to complete. The videos are on average around 10 minutes long. The first two weeks of the course were very introductory and had they stayed that way I would have been disappointed (however they were focused on my specialization). Week 3 and 4 made it worth it for me and were very helpful (computing technology and statistics). I thought the course project could have been better. I didn't feel it was a strong overview of what I learned about the course. Either way, I'm glad I went through the entire thing.

创建者 Emilia M

Jul 24, 2021

The content in this course is very interesting and valuable. For someone with background in biology-related fields, most of this will be known already and can be seen as a refreshment. For people who aren't in biology fields, this content is great as an introduction to basic biological technologies. The only downside for me is that the content hasn't been updated in a long time. This can be an issue, because in science everything changes very rapidly as new things get discovered. The paper for the final project is from 20 (!!) years ago.

创建者 Natasa J

Aug 22, 2016

This course is great for people like me, who know almost nothing about the topic, lectures are good, points are clear, understandable and not too long. Only thing I actually didn't like is amount of lectures. The course is planned to be completed in 4 weeks and for me it was over in few days. I would like to add that I've listened the lectures from work and spent 1-2 hours a day on it. All in all, I'm glad that I've started from here and plan to continue with the rest of the specialization.

创建者 Gizem E

Apr 9, 2022

Thanks for all of the knowledge! It was a nice course covering both biological and computational aspects, well defined and visual easy to understand for 3 weeks. For the week four, I believe it was not so informative, I understand that it is a huge topic but besides that quiz for week four was not coherent with lessons. I have seen people complaying about it in forums too. I took too many tries for week four you should at least update week 4's quiz.

创建者 Jen M

Jul 10, 2017

Overall a good intro course. Molecular biology basics were covered so quickly and with terms and concepts pulled almost out of thin air, anyone without a pretty substantial background would probably be lost fairly quickly. And those of us with a genetics background fairly bored until we got to the later weeks. Still as a course designed to get everyone on the same page for the rest of the Specialization, I feel ready for the next course.

创建者 Deni

Nov 28, 2016

I appreciated how the instructors presented the content in a fluid and limpid manner, with relevant examples and auxillary knowledge that you couldn't find in a textbook. The assignments provided the opportunity to apply the learned content to analyse and parse statistical data from actual journals.

The new and up-to-date knowledge I gained by taking this course made me more confident to apply to graduate school.

Thank You

创建者 Nils W

Mar 30, 2020

The four modules of the course are well suited for an introduction. For graduates in biology the questions might be a bit too easy (especially considering you can take the test again after reviewing the lectures).

The last part with the genomics paper might be too hard because it includes some genetics concepts that have never been talked about in the lectures.

创建者 Brandon W

Jun 26, 2018

I think this is a great introductory course to genomic data analysis. however, the primer of molecular biology and techniques could be more detailed. It also helps to have some prior knowledge in this area to really understand the details and complexities. Looking forward to the other classes though. It was refreshing to jog my memory on many of these things!

创建者 Michael T

Feb 12, 2018

This was a great overview of the computing, statistics, and biology required to understand bioinformatics. The only negative was, that I found the final exam to be somewhat unrelated to the course.I am also hoping that there will be more references later on if we want or need to go deeper into these three areas, especially in the area of molecular biology.

创建者 Yuwei Z

Jan 9, 2022

Overall this course is good, beginners friendly. as a biology student as me, you can expect a very fundamental introduction of both computer science and statistics. not much of bioinformatics tools into so far. one suggestion for the teaching groups, would be better if employee more practical examples to explain any new value, concept or formula:)

创建者 Alan A

Jan 20, 2017

I'm fascinated by bioinformatics and genomics, which is why I took this course. I gave the course four stars instead of 5 because I think the flow of the lectures could have been better. When watching lectures, I often found myself jumping around in my notebook to write something down. Other than that, the course was an excellent introduction.

创建者 Veronica

May 24, 2018

The course was interesting if you want to start learning Genomics and Data Science. Some of the videos are very basic if you're a biologist but if you don't know any basic NGS and statistics, it is worth taking this course. Overall I enjoyed the course and it encouraged me to continue taking the other courses of this specialization.

创建者 Michael R

Jun 6, 2021

A good brief overview of the topic. Not sure that it fills a full four week course. More in-depth coverage of topics such as the process and tools for sequencing and some explanation of the raw data produced would have been appreciated, as would have references for additional resources on topics covered.

创建者 Kristine M

May 27, 2020

For the most part I really liked this course. The teacher for the first 3 weeks was great. Things really go off the rails with Week 4. The instructor assumed a much greater understanding of Statistics than an introductory/beginner level. I didn't think the lectures from Week 4 prepared me for the Quiz.

创建者 Neal S

Aug 27, 2020

Decent. There are some strange trivial errors in some of the questions. One that comes to mind is that RNA is not a "copy of DNA with U instead of T" - it's RNA! I think you also would do better not to sledgehammer Vivian Cheung twice....plenty of people made mistakes...spread your fire a bit.

创建者 Douglas C

Nov 17, 2019

It would have been much better if we could have found out why our quiz answers were wrong and what the correct answer is supposed to be.

Quizzes sometimes seemed unrelated to the material.

A "deeper learning" option, were we could read amterial that went beyond the video would have been great.