Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to GIS Mapping

学生对 多伦多大学 提供的 Introduction to GIS Mapping 的评价和反馈

4.9
1,739 个评分
567 条评论

课程概述

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

热门审阅

AF

Apr 16, 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

KS

Aug 1, 2021

This course is all about the introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Don Boyes made this course very easy and so entertaining. Thank you so much.

筛选依据:

501 - Introduction to GIS Mapping 的 525 个评论(共 568 个)

创建者 Mohammad H

Nov 10, 2020

good

创建者 Nikhil R

Nov 8, 2020

best

创建者 Kinley P

Sep 21, 2020

good

创建者 Mona A A

Aug 6, 2020

good

创建者 Minimol K M

Jul 8, 2020

good

创建者 Luis A S R

Jun 27, 2020

good

创建者 Fabio E V

Jun 14, 2020

Nice

创建者 JOSEPH R

May 20, 2020

good

创建者 Neha

Apr 24, 2020

good

创建者 Marseld A

Feb 29, 2020

Best

创建者 AJAI A K

Oct 11, 2021

Od

创建者 Luis A S V

Jan 5, 2021

ok

创建者 Deleted A

Aug 7, 2020

OK

创建者 Himal B

Oct 12, 2020

I

创建者 Konstantinos L

Jun 8, 2021

I had taken GIS classes in my undergraduate studies, but I haven't had the theoritical background to interpret the procedures I was mechanically followed in order to finish my assignments. Now, with this course I can definitely understand the "WHY", behind every step I follow in order to complete my work.

Finally I have an overall view of projections (learning about geoid, ellipsoid) as well as matters concerning scale (ideal scale for digitization etc.) The tutor also is really understandable, methodic using humor in his lectures, exactly where he needs to make you "relax" before he goes on. I recommend it to those who want to learn the basic theoretical knowledge, before starting to get into the deep practical matters of GIS.

创建者 Yean D

Jun 10, 2020

Great Course. I've done few courses on Coursera. But till now, Don Boyes is the most friendly instructor. He explains everything from the very beginning so that anyone from any discipline can easily catch his lesson. Still I think it would be more helpful if he could provide some specific instruction shapefile, and serve the course like a guided project. I knew nothing about ArcGIS, so when he was showing volcanic map/elevation map and using some tools on that map, I was frustrated where to get these files, how to make it look like the same as the video.

创建者 Victor M E R

May 28, 2021

Muy completo el curso, me divertí y aprendí muchos sobre GIS, pero lo que no me gusto fue que al no tener ArcGis pro es muy limitada la experiencia, además es muy complicado tener el programa, pues es costoso y obtenerlo de otra manera es complicado , yo utilice Arcgis online o Arcgis viewer y la experiencia es muy diferente pues el curso no tiene secciones que ensenen a manejar esta plataforma online, la cual es bastante diferente a ArcMap O Arcgis pro.

创建者 Heleen B

Aug 25, 2020

This course has been very helpful for learning the basics on cartography and GIS. There's a lot of attention for some fundamental principles that need to be taken into consideration before starting with a map design (e.g. the consequences of the fact that the Earth is an ellipsoid, choosing a geographic coordinate system, methods of navigation, and so on). Many interesting examples of projects are provided, with a historical context alongisde!

创建者 Khoa M

Oct 30, 2021

Interesting course. I love that Don is a very passionate professor. Other than that, I feel the course should have involved more practice on ArcMap. There are also a lot of plagiarized works for the final assessment, which is frustrating, but okay, not really the course organizer's fault. Also, the ArcGIS is not provided for free anymore, which is kind of sad. Nonetheless, I still learned a lot and had a lot of fun with the final assessment.

创建者 Megan M

Sep 20, 2020

Course material was wonderful but the peer reviews I received were very unhelpful. I do not necessarily see the point in having these types of roadblocks to completing the course if those grading your content are not going to give constructive criticism to your work. I received a number of low marks on my map but not a single note as to what was deficient. How can a student improve if low marks or reviews are not explained?

创建者 Rishabb A

Jul 26, 2020

The course structure is good and thought out well. It is quite beginner-friendly and certainly helpful for people who are working to get their GIS certification. My suggestion would be to include more reading material and maybe show some additional map representations so that we can get a deeper understanding of how things work. Overall, it is a good course for beginners.

创建者 Greg K

Apr 27, 2020

Well-organized content, though quizzes could have been better integrated into the hands-on material. One limitation was that access to ArcGIS takes up to two weeks, so it's hard to get much hands-on experience in ArcMap until the software is available. However, concepts could be tied to online versions of ArcGIS, which appeared to be available sooner.

创建者 Brooke

Jun 24, 2022

Excellent foundational course that helps you to "speak" the language of GIS. Course could be improved by adding a video that helps students to navigate The "ArcGIS Online" software that's offered for a 21-day free trial since not everyone will have the desktop version shown in the video. I had a great time learning!

创建者 huimin l

Nov 16, 2021

​if I had old software, it would have been easier to navigate. In the lectures, he uses the older version. Maybe if he gave a rubric of where each item could be found on the new software.

I​ was able to find most items in the software though.

A​s far as teaching style, very good, and fun

创建者 MELISSA E R E

Apr 12, 2021

It was a very interesting course about maps. I know that its the introduction of mapping, and it was foccused on the geography and geology on maps, however I would have love to have more practice with arcmap. The proffesor was great, very clear and even funny! :)