Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

学生对 伦敦帝国学院 提供的 Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health 的评价和反馈

4.7
868 个评分
182 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health! This course will teach you the core building blocks of statistical analysis - types of variables, common distributions, hypothesis testing - but, more than that, it will enable you to take a data set you've never seen before, describe its keys features, get to know its strengths and quirks, run some vital basic analyses and then formulate and test hypotheses based on means and proportions. You'll then have a solid grounding to move on to more sophisticated analysis and take the other courses in the series. You'll learn the popular, flexible and completely free software R, used by statistics and machine learning practitioners everywhere. It's hands-on, so you'll first learn about how to phrase a testable hypothesis via examples of medical research as reported by the media. Then you'll work through a data set on fruit and vegetable eating habits: data that are realistically messy, because that's what public health data sets are like in reality. There will be mini-quizzes with feedback along the way to check your understanding. The course will sharpen your ability to think critically and not take things for granted: in this age of uncontrolled algorithms and fake news, these skills are more important than ever. Prerequisites Some formulae are given to aid understanding, but this is not one of those courses where you need a mathematics degree to follow it. You will need only basic numeracy (for example, we will not use calculus) and familiarity with graphical and tabular ways of presenting results. No knowledge of R or programming is assumed....

热门审阅

SK
Oct 11, 2019

This is the best course among all I've taken..\n\nThe instructor has presented the content precisely.\n\nI highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

LA
May 25, 2019

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

筛选依据:

51 - Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health 的 75 个评论(共 182 个)

创建者 David G Á

May 4, 2020

Very good for an initial introduction to the topic. I think it is not a good stand alone course, it is ment to introduce to the next courses in the specialization.

创建者 Hector P

Sep 6, 2020

This course is great. I like how it is structured and the feedback after activities. Combines theory and practices in an efficient way. Congratulations.

创建者 Cliff W

May 28, 2020

Fantastic. Just what I needed as a doctor wanting to learn more about statistics. R is an amazing alternative to other programs such as STATA and SPSS.

创建者 Mayur N

Apr 7, 2019

Wonderful explanation and introduction to R programing. With minimal additional self learning you can easily master all of the content of the course.

创建者 Lawrence O

Dec 20, 2020

this is an excellent course, but more examples are needed for clarity, in video formats. We want to see the instructor working out examples on board

创建者 Chandu P L

May 20, 2020

Loved the instructor. Everything was rightly pointed out. And lastly for me he looks like Thomas Shelby from British series Peaky Blinders. Haha.

创建者 MUWANGA R J S

Mar 14, 2020

Wonderful introduction to statistics or public health. Loved the lecturer. He was engaging, and able to make theoretical concepts more intuitive.

创建者 Shashwat T

Apr 25, 2020

It is a highly recommended course with a bit of background knowledge. Background knowledge is required as it is a part of the Master's course.

创建者 Samah A

Feb 7, 2020

A short and precise introduction. Found it pretty basic but would definitely recommend it to anyone just starting out with statistics 👍

创建者 Vũ M L

Dec 30, 2019

This is an excellent course, it helps me play a solid foundation about Biostatistics in particular and Public Health in General

创建者 Dr G K

Jul 12, 2020

Excellent course, good and short videos, good practice sections...Instructor delivers the content well in good flow and pace

创建者 Swetha J

Apr 12, 2020

Excellent content and methodology of teaching. Great mix of examples to understand the concepts and hands on analysis in R.

创建者 Dr. M

Apr 14, 2020

Worth taking this course. Concepts of sampling, distributions and hypothesis testing are taught very well by Professor.

创建者 Muhammad T U H

Nov 29, 2020

It was a very great learning experience. Thanks Alex!! I learned the p-value very comfortably, highly recommended

创建者 Rahul R

Oct 27, 2020

This course is one of the hidden gems in Coursera. I really liked the simple explanations of complex concepts.

创建者 Todd D

Oct 1, 2019

Excellent introduction to the topic. Well-paced and prepares the learner for future courses. Very well done.

创建者 Vu T N M

Dec 20, 2020

Well-structured and useful even for freshmen. The R programming information is really practical and doable.

创建者 Matias O

Oct 1, 2020

Es un gran curso para el profesional de salud que quiere introducirse en el conocimiento de estadística!

创建者 Dawn D

Apr 23, 2020

Clearly explained, well produced videos. Excellent starter or refresher for basic statistical thinking.

创建者 Laura M A M

Aug 21, 2020

Excellent course, I totally enjoyed the Professors' attitude, the exercises in R and even by hand :).

创建者 Asif K

Sep 14, 2020

This course is very good and it has enhance my knowledge how to use R and also about the coding

创建者 Katerina K

Jun 8, 2019

An absolutely fantastic course. Compared with my course back at Uni, this is 100 times clearer.

创建者 Md. I R

Oct 8, 2020

This course is very important to learn basics of statistics & data analysis in public health.

创建者 Tommy G

Jul 6, 2019

Excellent course if you want to start using R for public health projects! 100% recommended!

创建者 Kelly B

Apr 15, 2020

Fantastic introduction to R, really enjoyed practising with the given dataset. Thank you!