Chevron Left
返回到 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史

学生对 弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,360 个评分
618 条评论

课程概述

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

热门审阅

MC
Nov 5, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

HH
Jan 24, 2021

Very interesting and fun course\n\nDr. Zelikow really captivates the attention of the students and brilliantly explains complex situations to the layman audience.\n\nLook forward to Part II !\n\n:)

筛选依据:

51 - 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的 75 个评论(共 610 个)

创建者 John S S I

Feb 3, 2016

Professor Zelikow is making the subject interesting and is presenting me, for the 1st time with insight into the causes of many wars and revolutions in not only the Americas, but also in Europe and how they were all largely tied to the same causes. It has also opened my eyes to what is going on in the World today and how similar some of the underlying causes are the same now as they were in centuries past.

创建者 Gloria W

Aug 5, 2020

thought invoking and very insightful! Really constructive to understanding the reasons and choices made by individuals rather than the traditional narrative. These ideas and patterns can be continually observed in present day, all culminating to the fact that history is interconnected and a ongoing narrative. Big words aside, this class really fueled my love for history! would strongly recommend!

创建者 william m

Aug 14, 2020

A fantastic introduction to the world contemporary. This was the first course I took with Coursera and I did not know what to expect. Professor Zelikow helps us revisit and put in perspective facts and historical episodes we think we know. The quality of the course went beyond my expectations. Highly recommended and delighted to see there is a second course covering the contemporary period.

创建者 Arjav P

May 6, 2020

What an amazing journey it was through modern world till 1910. I have really learned a lot from this course. History of various countries through various perspectives is really important plus point of this course. Prof. zelikov makes you think and goes deeper in every aspect of the history. I feel myself lucky to have this online course.

Thanks coursera and the team of University of Virginia.

创建者 Darcy R J

Dec 3, 2015

I actually took the pair of courses in backwards order and as I was finishing Part one (after part II) I was ready to go and do Part II again.

Really enjoyed these to courses very much. Enough detail but also broad enough to cover many things that were happening in the world.

Highly recommended as a course to get an overview on what was happening in the 2 plus centuries this course covers.

创建者 Weronika P

Oct 23, 2018

The course is really interesting with and provides a great, broad perspective on the events of 18th and 19th Century. It's not focused on the dates and single events, but rather looks at the processes their origins and consequences. The lectures are a pleasure to watch and are packed with facts and analysis. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to learn more about the modern history!

创建者 Isaac T

Oct 1, 2020

The lecturer focuses on the reasons and circumstances which drive historical events, rather than just lay out the events without reasoning. It is shown how art in its many forms demonstrates and mirrors the views of the common people, of the elite, and of whole ideologies. The course motivates initiative by showing how historically initiative was the reason for progress and success.

创建者 Dawn J

Jul 8, 2017

Fascinating and broad, I have studied this time period on two occasions at different educational establishments as part of other courses but I still found this course engaging. It gives a broad and fairly global view of events - and shows the interconnections, which I thought was very good. I hope to be able to find time to take the second part of this course in the near future.

创建者 Janet W

Apr 3, 2016

This course gave me an overall understanding of the globe of that period of time. This course helped me to understand why individual countries were in the situation they were. I am not into academic pursue but fully enjoyed the course. The professor was very clear about his ideas and pleasant to follow. Highly recommend for all people interested in modern history.

创建者 Sohini B

Feb 17, 2018

It is a great course. Professor Zeliklow smiles and converses with us the great events of world history. He explains to us in depth why did the things happened as they did. In this 7 weeks course, I have learned a lot about the world history from 1760 to 1910. Many gaps in my knowledge has been filled by the depth of the matter. Thank you for this great course.

创建者 Jordi P M

Apr 8, 2020

This has been a very interesting course. As a Catalan student, I'm happy to learn History from the American point of view, because I can get to know politicans and authors who are never mentioned in Spain. I have really enjoyed the videos in which the French Revolution is explained. The pictures and the diagrams make the organization of the ideas quite easier.

创建者 Vladimir R

Oct 10, 2015

Big thanks to prof. Zelikow and University of Virginia for making history so interesting, and this course a joy to watch. I feel like I got a new perspective of today's world and the processes that will shape our future.

I recommend the course to people of all professional backgrounds and interests, even those who never liked history in their student days.

创建者 Iva L

Oct 3, 2015

The Professor is very eloquent, interesting and has a remarkable virtue of keeping you in the loop of everything he's explaining, it almost seems effortless to engage in the topic of the video. I find the course extremely valuable, I'm learning A LOT and am able to connect the dots like I have never been able in my current education.

Thanks Professor!

创建者 Robin E

Jan 17, 2021

The lecturer, Zelikow, is able to provide a sweeping view of the important historical changes in this period, providing ways of understanding what and why things happened. Often zeroing in for a while to look at certain events in details but always providing a guide through the many changes that occurred and making them understandable. Brilliant!

创建者 Dorothy A

Apr 5, 2018

History tends to repeat itself so the more historical knowledge gained, the better understanding of current conditions. This course was one of the best I've taken and in particular the Professor's explanation of not only the data but the "why". So much occurs before and around an event that it is sometimes easy to jump to incorrect conclusions.

创建者 Jose A P M

Sep 11, 2016

This course is very comprehensive. It giive us a realy Global perspective of the importante facts in History that changed the world in many aspects. I just loved it. The tests are not simple, so I advice people to take notes during the classes because it give us lots of information. In order to pass you have to pay attention even in the detail

创建者 jhony d c p

Aug 19, 2017

excelente curso para tener un conocimiento amplio sobre los hechos y procesos históricos entre 1760 y 1910. el tutor estudia casos puntuales los cuales permiten tener un acercamiento mucho mas enriquecedor a algunos países que fueron importantes para el proceso histórico e inicio de la modernidad en algunos territorios europeos y del mundo.

创建者 Samuel O

Jul 23, 2018

Considero que la explicación del Profesor Philip Zelikow es genial y aporta elementos muy claros y claves sobre la historia moderna. Hay que corregir los quizes porque realizan preguntas que no corresponden a la semana (a veces se pregunta sobre temas que no se han visto) pero es genial, recomendadísimo para los amantes de la historia.

创建者 Beka K

Jul 3, 2017

Very informative and hard-working course. I recommend this course to those, who love world history, aren’t idle and are ready watching approximately two hours video-lectures and doing quizzes per week, each consisting of 20 questions. But, in spite of this, ultimately, my hopes have come true and I have got great pleasure by doing it.

创建者 Armand R

Nov 24, 2016

Prossor Zelikow does a fantastic job with world history!! He gives a wonderfully refreshing "Big picture" view during this period of time. Thankfully he constantly reminds us of the "why this happened" instead of the usually boring "and then this happened..."

Crystal clear presentation and wonderfully informative!

Highly recommended.

创建者 Anne H

Mar 17, 2018

What a fabulous series of lectures! This course was well organized, smart, and wonderfully presented! The Professor has done an amazing job of weaving together many dynamic concepts and themes, presenting them in a cohesive and interesting way. Without a doubt, this has been my best teaching experience with Coursera. Thank you!

创建者 Alexandre Z

Jun 8, 2016

Very good, concise, relevant and with an excellent presentation. Gives you the big picture on history and also offers an insight in the decision making that shaped world history. Also it offers a big picture, focusing not only on Western history, but on China, Africa, India, Japan, Latin America and the Muslim world.

Excellent!

创建者 Gary C

Dec 22, 2015

I have learnt a great deal in this course. A vast amount of history is covered in a logical and thematic manner. The professor's style is relaxing and warm. He is also well organised and lucid and because of this my learning was enhanced. This is a great course for those, like me, who are new to the history of these events.

创建者 Charmaine L

Jan 5, 2019

Dr. Philip Zelikow was really thorough and amicable in the way he lectures. He's done an exceptional job in fusing the historical patterns of history with that of modern events, thus allowing us students to understand and relate to the importance of these historical events even better. Thank you, Dr. Zelikow!

创建者 Santiago M

Oct 16, 2015

Es un curso donde se puede aprender mucho, además el profesor Zelikow habla con una espontaneidad excelente que lo atrapa en el curso y quiere seguir viendo más temas. El contenido del curso es excelente y las herramientas con las que cuenta para dar a entender el contenido de forma online es aún mejor.