Chevron Left
返回到 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史

学生对 弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,551 个评分
376 个审阅

课程概述

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

热门审阅

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

筛选依据:

126 - 现代世界,第一部分:1760 年到 1910 年的全球史 的 150 个评论(共 366 个)

创建者 Jorge P

Aug 11, 2017

Excellent, insightful presentation of the "why?" behind the "what?" from 1760 through the Great Acceleration. The conversational style keeps things interesting and give one a good foundational understanding of the most important developments around the world, and is peppered with great little facts.

创建者 Gabriel O M

Jan 08, 2017

This is a terrific course, amazing prevention,

but it does lack reading material that Virginia's full online course has,

it would be nice to have a deeper engamente with the subjects.

创建者 Aleksandr P

Sep 02, 2017

Awesome course an

创建者 Freddy S

Oct 25, 2015

I found the course to be well structured, and striking an appropriate balance between insight and detail.

Well done.

创建者 Alexander Z

Sep 27, 2015

Great lecturer!

创建者 Lazaros A

Jun 10, 2017

In the 10 years, I reckon I've spent about as much time doing courses as being asleep... I've done University degrees (graduate degree, 2 masters and a PhD), personal development courses, courses on sports and activities (sailing, long distance swimming, gliding) and, in the last few monts, I must have done about 11 MOOCs.

This course goes straight into my top 10 all time favorite courses list, and is definitely the one I enjoyed the most in 2017. The course helped me understand how societies and economies have evolved over the years, which is a prerequisite for appreciating the basis on which modern societies are built on. The course is delivering by a prominent academic who knows what he's talking about. There is a good flow from lecture to lecture and the presenter makes a solid effort to presents facts, rather than his own (or others') judgements.

All in all, I felt this is a great, eye-opening and thought provoking course, and I'd recommend everybody with an interest in politics, society and modern history to give it a shot.

创建者 Jacqueline

Oct 16, 2015

Very well done.

创建者 Nichole O

Mar 16, 2017

Very interactive and good for a variety of ages

创建者 Armand R

Nov 24, 2016

Prossor Zelikow does a fantastic job with world history!! He gives a wonderfully refreshing "Big picture" view during this period of time. Thankfully he constantly reminds us of the "why this happened" instead of the usually boring "and then this happened..."

Crystal clear presentation and wonderfully informative!

Highly recommended.

创建者 Michael M

May 28, 2017

I found this course to be extremely interesting and very well presented by Professor Zelikow. I was impressed with his deep knowledge of the subject and the way in which he could draw on wider lierary and artistic materials to further elaborate on the topics he discussed.

创建者 PORTE

Sep 24, 2015

As a fan of History, I highly recommand this MOOC, it is always good for you to see history from a different prospective.

创建者 Alexandre Z

Jun 08, 2016

Very good, concise, relevant and with an excellent presentation. Gives you the big picture on history and also offers an insight in the decision making that shaped world history. Also it offers a big picture, focusing not only on Western history, but on China, Africa, India, Japan, Latin America and the Muslim world.

Excellent!

创建者 Mary L R

Jan 14, 2016

good refresher, events of the period pulled together well, pleasant to listen to

创建者 Yushan S

Sep 24, 2015

A great course in a narrative view , and mainly focus on "Why this happen"~~PS:The professor is very charming~~

创建者 Luis L

Apr 10, 2018

Very good course. Amazing teacher and how relates everything so easy and pleasant, thanks

创建者 Sam H

Mar 04, 2016

Very well organised and presented. Inspired by the big picture nicely threaded together.

创建者 David M

Sep 22, 2015

Very analytical. Not just a recounting of facts, but a thorough review of trends and attitudes. Very enjoyable course.

创建者 mario a m f

May 14, 2018

The professor Zelikow is so clear in his ideas, and with examples all around the world. He gives the essentials of History: everything happens for something and the causes are interconnected. It was a wonderful experience. Thank you.

创建者 Kishu A

Sep 27, 2016

Great course. Great Professor.

创建者 Skylar F

Feb 03, 2017

Wow, what a fantastic class. I love how Philip doesn't just talk about a bunch of dates, but really brings in humor, paintings, poems or things from literature, and really does a great job of painting a global view. But it doesn't feel overwhelming considering the topic. Things are presented in an easy-to-understand way each class, and you can tell he really likes this topic, as I found myself more and more interested in all that he was presenting. That's the sign of a great teacher.

创建者 Bruno D S C

Nov 20, 2015

very good!!!

创建者 Ricky P

Jan 04, 2016

An absolutely great course.

创建者 Paranthaman

Nov 11, 2015

Clear explanation of global history.

创建者 Arjun S

Apr 20, 2018

Wonderful Course. It helped me develop a much better world view and understand issues by thinking about the "why".

创建者 Amr A W

Dec 28, 2015

It was amazing course.