Chevron Left
返回到 并行编程

学生对 洛桑联邦理工学院 提供的 并行编程 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,670 个评分
248 条评论

课程概述

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

热门审阅

AL

Apr 24, 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC

Aug 25, 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

筛选依据:

26 - 并行编程 的 50 个评论(共 236 个)

创建者 Santiago A

Jul 30, 2019

Unbelievable. This course is a must for those who are looking to work in depth with data parallel intensive applications like Spark and want to understand the mathematics underlying the parallel computing. Thank you very much Viktor and Aleksandar!

创建者 Артем К

Oct 15, 2017

Nice course. Very interesting subjects, but have some cons. One is significant usage of imperative programming, also assignment`s difficulty level like a roller-coaster. Some was so easy and some was hard. Anyway, five stars for galaxy! :-)

创建者 Evgeny P

Nov 13, 2016

Quality of course material is great, the way of presenting material is also great. For those who liked first course by Martin Odersky I highly recommend to do this one. I had a real pleasure watching lectures and doing assignments.

创建者 Stanislav T

Jun 26, 2018

The topic is well explained in the videos and the assignments are challenging and fun. I really enjoyed how they (the assignments) are usually put in a context, e.g. they are part of some project and you can see some outcome.

创建者 Roman

Jul 29, 2016

This is very interesting course that contains a lot of useful information related to parallel programming. Assignments are challenging enough and it is also interesting to tweak some code in assignments even after submitting.

创建者 Nicolas D

Sep 01, 2016

This course shows different techniques for parallel algorithm and is quite advanced. It succeeds to be deep yet understandable, challenging yet achievable. All in all it is very well taught with very interesting assignments.

创建者 William H

Aug 13, 2017

The 3rd part in the set of scala specialization courses falls into place. This course is an introduction to the challenges of big data sets and the parallel computing solutions available to tackle it.

An excellent course.

创建者 Török E

Jan 04, 2017

Presents Scala's parallel collections, and how they work under the hood. The prefix-sum algorithm is quite mind-blowing, and so are Conc-Trees. The algorithms are presented with plenty of detail, step by step, I enjoyed it!

创建者 Jong H S

Aug 19, 2017

This course is a gem. The instructors' knowledge is of the highest quality, the contents are of the highest quality and the programming assignments are of the highest quality. All in all, this course is of Rolex quality.

创建者 Ashvin L

Apr 24, 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

创建者 ravi c

Aug 25, 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

创建者 Viktor S O

Dec 19, 2016

excellent course, a good way to showcase how scala is well suited to patallel programming.

The course itself is very practical and the instructors are very knowledgeable

创建者 Eric L

Aug 14, 2016

A worthwhile course. I enjoyed the lectures a lot. Really good grounding on principles which can be applied in other languages/platforms in addition to Scala.

创建者 Wiktor D

Sep 23, 2016

Very good introduction to the topic. Examples and programming exercises were very good, although last assignment was visibly less polished than earlier ones.

创建者 Tony H

Oct 04, 2017

Very deep. I learned a lot of useful techniques.

But I know it will take me many years before I can say I have mastered subject touched in this course.

创建者 Aleksander S

Nov 18, 2017

I learned a lot about parallel processing algorithms, way more than I expected. Even after spending over 10 years programming parallel data processing.

创建者 Janis R

Jun 18, 2016

Week 2 assignment was very interesting, thanks. Week 4 assignment was extremely hard to debug. Could you perhaps add more unit tests to BarnesHutSite?

创建者 Ivelina G

Jul 05, 2016

A very good course, the theories are explained well in the lectures and the assignments cover the learned information without being too difficult

创建者 Bruno M

Dec 03, 2018

Very good introductory theoretical foundation for parallell algorithms, and background for

the Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark course.

创建者 张诺舟

Feb 21, 2017

very good course. It will be better if more reading material could be offered. The content in the lecture is a little bit hard to understand.

创建者 Michael D

May 10, 2018

I learned a lot about improving algorithms to run in a parallelized manner which is more efficient when having more than one cpu/computers

创建者 Rohan V

Nov 26, 2019

More emphasis on Parallel Data Structures is needed, course is relatively simple as compared to previous courses from same specialisation

创建者 Yin J X

Jul 11, 2017

Wish Mr. Odersky would've taught this course as well but it quickly lived up to my expectations. I really enjoyed doing the assignments.

创建者 Christoph K

Nov 27, 2018

Very interesting material, especially the prefix sum algorithms about, how to transform a sequential problem into a parallel problem.

创建者 Oleg O

Jul 02, 2017

Good course, though there is sometimes too much mathematics, what distracts from the purpose to learn parallel paradigm in Scala.