Chevron Left
返回到 Particle Physics: an Introduction

学生对 日内瓦大学 提供的 Particle Physics: an Introduction 的评价和反馈

4.4
564 个评分
173 条评论

课程概述

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

热门审阅

MH

Aug 05, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

EP

Apr 23, 2017

Very interesting course. Quite difficult to pass week 6 due to a question on w boson quark transformation. Couldnt find answers in sylabus. Maybe just me. Overall excellant course.

筛选依据:

101 - Particle Physics: an Introduction 的 125 个评论(共 172 个)

创建者 Garry R

Apr 29, 2020

I really enjoyed this course

创建者 Md F H S

Apr 13, 2019

Excellent way of learning.

创建者 DURGA D A

Feb 13, 2020

Its very nice experience

创建者 Shankara N

Apr 10, 2019

Nice course was helpful

创建者 Ojeranti O I

Jul 29, 2020

stressful but helpful

创建者 Teng

Jun 07, 2017

Clear physics picture.

创建者 subhash k

Jun 19, 2017

Brilliant course....

创建者 Gaurav O

May 01, 2020

Fabulously curated!

创建者 Chris B

Mar 25, 2020

Really good course.

创建者 Cao S S

Sep 23, 2017

Excellent course!

创建者 Dr. S K J

May 12, 2020

Excellent course

创建者 hassan a

Dec 05, 2017

Very Good Course

创建者 Arko P S

Jun 28, 2020

Great Course

创建者 Manuel H R

Jul 30, 2020

Very good.

创建者 Sunday O C

Jul 05, 2020

Very Good

创建者 Soumil G S

Jun 20, 2020

Excellent

创建者 Vikram M

May 04, 2020

Thank You

创建者 ROHIT N

Apr 13, 2018

Best

创建者 Tanmay G

Jun 28, 2020

nil

创建者 Jean S

Mar 05, 2019

Excellent course, I recommend it. You will need to review the material offline and do some outside research occasionally to understand the material, but overall, it is quite comprehensive. The optional videos are sometimes more interesting than the course videos, so don't skip them!! Martin Pohl is really fantastic as the main presenter and interviewer. Mercedes Paniccia has a heavy accent and intonations which make it difficult for us north americans, but she is obviously quite competent at the research level. I just wish the presentations were more interactive than static. Overall I give it 4 stars for the material covered and quality.

创建者 Tyler C

Jul 19, 2017

Fascinating course covering the fundamentals of the standard model up to current research. The material is dense - I often had to look back at previous videos to remember terms and concepts. The key mathematics is provided and gone over, but was a little fast paced for me. Most derivations are left out except for a few optional videos which cover simple ones. You don't necessarily need to understand the details of the mathematics to pass the graded assignments which just ask a few questions covering the main concepts. Overall this course is challenging but incredibly instructive.

创建者 Jana A

Aug 12, 2020

Very interesting course, but not for beginners. The information provided in the videos presupposed some knowledge in this field, which I unfortunately did not have. To understand the topics, I had to look for other sources. I would also welcome a terminological glossary explaining frequently used terms. A big problem for me was the English pronunciation of one lecturer. Otherwise, I rate this course very well. A number of things that interested me were clarified and I think it could be a good basis for further study.

创建者 Samy M S

Sep 17, 2017

It is a very nice introductory course which is supported with laboratory session which is an awesome idea, but the mathematics used in this course is somehow higher level to me, so I recommend if there is any source to learn the mathematics behind this lectures. last but not least I would like to thank all the staff working on this course especially Dr. Martin, Dr. Mercedes, Dr. Anna for their attractive and elaborating way of lecturing

创建者 Somesh K

Jul 15, 2019

The course is very good in structure and content.I am now more familiar with physics and equations - how they describe the phenomena. The one thing about which I felt unease was that,I was not able to follow profs without subtitle and I also feel more explanation is required for some topics. But its all right they suggested many materials and videos from minute physics. The course is worth doing by aspiring scientists.

创建者 KEVIN G A

Jun 14, 2020

It was a very marvelous experience. It provided me a wide variety of knowledge regarding complex and diverse phenomena. It sparked me in thinking about the fundamental and ' cause,' role of particles in physics. Really it has most scopes of pathbreaking and changing the realm of physics in future. The classes and optional experiments were very beautiful and informative , they often made us to think more and more.