Chevron Left
返回到 Particle Physics: an Introduction

学生对 日内瓦大学 提供的 Particle Physics: an Introduction 的评价和反馈

4.4
560 个评分
172 条评论

课程概述

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

热门审阅

MH

Aug 05, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

EP

Apr 23, 2017

Very interesting course. Quite difficult to pass week 6 due to a question on w boson quark transformation. Couldnt find answers in sylabus. Maybe just me. Overall excellant course.

筛选依据:

126 - Particle Physics: an Introduction 的 150 个评论(共 172 个)

创建者 SAIKIRAN V

Jun 13, 2020

The course is very nice and after listening to the lecture videos if we go through the material provided we can easily finish the quizzes and graded quizzes of each module successfully.

They planned it very nicely and in the end, I felt like it is rushing but the topic itself is advanced so it is fine. Overall it is a very nice and useful course for the beginners in particle physics.

创建者 Gareth L W

Jan 15, 2018

A whistle stop tour of particle physics at an undergraduate level. Electro-weak is covered in some depth and I would have liked the same depth on the Higgs mechanism. Not surprisingly due to U/Geneva's location near the LHC there is a strong emphasis on accelerators and particle detection.

Forum response to questions is poor.

创建者 Arabindo D

Feb 17, 2020

The course is nice, but I give 4 stars because I prefer blackboard lectures more than that of only slides. The course is much descriptive. If it becomes more just like giving lectures with deriving some equations it would be fun. Overall the course is really good with a few self-studies and knowledge of bit advance physics.

创建者 Shuaidi Z

Jul 19, 2019

This course is very effective at introducing concepts for students to dig into on there own. An especially good job is done at introducing important concepts such as vacuum polarization and CKM matrix. However, I do wish the course had been a bit more in depth on neutrinos and Higgs mechanism.

创建者 Daniel A B U

Sep 15, 2018

Está bueno el curso para los que no tienen mucha idea sobre partículas. Sin embargo, creo que puede ser mejor si se ponen más actividades que no sean de selección simple para así garantizar una mayor comprensión del tema que se trata en los distintos módulos

创建者 Thomas G

Jan 06, 2018

Très bon cours. Le niveau est haut si l'on ne connait pas du tout le sujet. Le cours évolue rapidement. Il est donc parfois nécessaire de prendre plus qu'une semaine (le temps de travail prévu par semaine) pour être capable de suivre le cours.

创建者 Maulik P

Jul 08, 2020

It was a really well tailored course for starting to learn particle phsyics. Although it was tough at times to understand the accents. Also, I would've liked it more if it was based on a blackboard method of teaching rather than ppt slides.

创建者 Fethi O Ö

Dec 11, 2017

Great course by coursera.It was nice try to understand subatomic World.Don't need to know good maths.Language was enough to understand the subjects.hanks fo University Geneva and Martin Pohl, Mercedes Paniccini,Anna Sfyrla.

创建者 Bob R

Jan 28, 2018

Excellent course in you are interested in learning, or improving your knowledge, about fundamental particles and forces and their interactions. You might want to brush up a bit on your math skill

创建者 rujuta

Jun 21, 2020

it was a great course ! a lot of information was studies and the professors were great!! do recommend it 100%. some more detailing could have been done.

创建者 Devak G

Mar 28, 2017

For me it was for eye opening into the world that is smaller than us and the principles that control that make the universe what it is.

创建者 Norberto G R M

May 23, 2017

Thank you very much for your effort to make this course.It was a difficult trip, but for the knowledge received, it was worth it.

创建者 Noëlie C

Mar 27, 2018

Parfois trop rapide. Les questions du quizz sont trop précises sur certains aspects qui n'ont été que survolés dans les vidéos.

创建者 Ajinkya G

Apr 25, 2017

Not really introductory to people with very little background or familiarity with the field, but the notes are very good.

创建者 Sophie F

Jul 17, 2020

Very good course, but a bit long and can be boring at times but you learn a lot of interesting things. Would recommend

创建者 Muhammad F

Mar 12, 2019

That's really a nice course. I have learn a lot about the particle physics. which helpful in MPhIL program.

创建者 Harshdeep S

Jan 20, 2020

A lot of room for improvement is there, but it was a pretty good and detailed course in particle physics.

创建者 saurav d

Apr 12, 2018

B

e

s

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

f

o

r

u

n

d

o

r

understanding

P

a

r

t

i

l

c

l

e

p

h

y

s

i

c

s

.

T

o

M

e

r

c

e

d

e

s

p

l

e

a

s

e

i

m

p

r

o

v

e

your

e

n

g

l

i

s

h

创建者 Gustavo P

Oct 08, 2017

This course is quite good, I liked it a lot and learnt a lot from it.

创建者 Anirudh S

Mar 06, 2019

The number of questions should be increased in every section!

创建者 MD S A

Aug 09, 2019

It would be great if there were numerical problems

创建者 Sai J R G

Jun 18, 2019

French accent of the tutors is a bit troubling

创建者 Мясников В А

Jun 09, 2020

french accent of mercedes is not that good

创建者 Richard K

Jul 07, 2018

Fast paced but informative.

创建者 Samantha S

Mar 23, 2018

i love the material